FrSky Variometer

er9x is the best known firmware. It has a superb range of features and is well supported by the community. Well worth trying out.
derFrickler

FrSky Variometer

Post by derFrickler »

First of all,

This is very great work you are doing here, i modded my TH9x and flashed er9x, did the FrSky mod and some other stuff and this Transmitter really rocks now! I like the Idea of open-source and i am a programmer myself (unfortunately more Java, my C-Knowledge is very limited)

I use the FrSky sensor hub with the Vario and GPS Sensor. Showing the values in er9x works very good.
a really gread Ad-On would be an acoustic Variometer based on the values read from the FrSky Vario sensor.
With the Speaker mod this should be possible in general, it is just some code that is missing. An option to assing one of the switches to turn the Variometer on/off would be the cherry on the cake.

There are some other avr/arduino Variometer projects, maybe some code could be taken from them.

As said, i would really like to help here, but my C-Knowledge is limited, i did some very small AVR programs and Arduino things, but....

Greets from Germany

Johannes

Btw. this is my modded TH9x: http://translate.google.com/translate?u ... pair=de|en

Rob Thomson
Site Admin

Re: FrSky Variometer

Post by Rob Thomson »

If you use this product:

http://www.wingedshadow.com/thermalscout.html

You can already achieve what you want.

The Winged Shadow system uses the A1/A2 channels which means you can easily set alarms for sink & lift. I use the system of 3 gliders - and love it!

As added bonuses, you can turn the system on & off from the tx using a spare channel, and the system if VERY SMALL!

Work in progress is to make the alarms trigger audio alerts. Currently these are simple tones outputted by the frsky module. Hopefully within 3-4 weeks these will be hooked into the speaker mod.