Newbie question

Hardware help and support for the FrSky Taranis
PeterM

Newbie question

Post by PeterM »

Hi. Complete newby here. Just bought a used DeHavilland Beaver radio controlled model with about a six foot wingspan. It is an old E-Flite model. The seller was not selling his radio, but emailed me the bin file. I have a Taranis X9D plus. Not sure if his was a plus or not, but was definitely an X9D. I can no longer get a hold of him. Been doing a lot of reading and downloading this past couple of weeks and feel like my head is ready to explode. Bought a micro SD card reader and loaded the bin file to it. The radio see's the file but says "incompatible" when I try to load it into the radio. I read somewhere that you can't transfer bin files between different radios. This might be the problem. Does anyone know of any workarounds? I can rebuild the file from scratch but this would save me a lot of work.
Thanks, Peter.

MikeB
9x Developer

Re: Newbie question

Post by MikeB »

What is the size of the bin file, if 32K, it is an EEPROM file.
Do you have companion on your PC?

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
PeterM

Post by PeterM »

Hi Mike. Yes the bin file is 32K. I don't have companion yet but it is on my list of things to do.
Peter.
MikeB
9x Developer

Post by MikeB »

When you have companion installed, there is a good chance you will be able to read that .bin file into it, then be able to transfer model(s) to your Tx.
Let us know when you have companion installed.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
PeterM

Post by PeterM »

OK, companion is installed.

MikeB
9x Developer

Post by MikeB »

1. Start your Tx in bootloader mode.
2. Connect your Tx to your PC using the USB connection.
3. Run companion and read the EEPROM from your Tx.
4. Open the 32K, .bin file in companion, you should now have 2 windows open in companion with models listed in each.