X-lite Pro will not bind...Yes i am a rookie

Hardware help and support for the FrSky Taranis
Post Reply
FPVTrey
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 4:08 am
Country: -

X-lite Pro will not bind...Yes i am a rookie

Post by FPVTrey » Tue Aug 27, 2019 4:21 am

Hello,

Short story before the long story, I have not been able to bind my x Lite pro to my tiny hawk freestyle. Following the directions of these steps. ( https://github.com/betaflight/betafligh ... PI%20RX.md ) I believe my X lite internal antenna is not working?!? Rookie Guess..

Long Story, I am new to the FPV drone scene and have been learning a lot unfortunately from this situation. I first purchased a Tiny whoop Nano with my X-lite and had a terrible time getting it bound. one time it worked but the nano would never arm. Tried several steps to troubleshoot, as far as learning how to upgrade FW via OpenTX. So after trying builds from Frsky site and Opentx Companion i sent the Nano back. I now have a Tiny Hawk Freestyle. I have down the bind process via button and the CLI command bind_rx_spi. With builds most current builds from Frsky site, OpenTX and Open TX nightlies. Nothing has given me a successful bind. From D8 to D16 to ACCST D16 modes.

I am only left with the rookie thought that my internal antenna does not work on my Xlite. I have ordered a IrangeX thingy for multi proto to try.

BUT!! how can i test to know if my internal antenna is working or not? Can anyone help me get my first FPV flight going please!


User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10298
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: X-lite Pro will not bind...Yes i am a rookie

Post by Kilrah » Tue Aug 27, 2019 8:10 am

SPI RXs in D16 mode are notoriously finicky, someone posted a series of CLI commands that supposedly work with the Pro. Don't have a link at hand though. Also I believe the latest betaflight beta has fixes for it.

FPVTrey
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 4:08 am
Country: -

Re: X-lite Pro will not bind...Yes i am a rookie

Post by FPVTrey » Tue Aug 27, 2019 4:12 pm

When you say latest betaflight beta. What does that mean? I upgraded the firmware of the FC through betaflight already and I'll have to search for thoes commands.

Is it a rookie move to assume the internal antenna is bad? Can I do something to test the internal antenna is working?

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10298
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: X-lite Pro will not bind...Yes i am a rookie

Post by Kilrah » Tue Aug 27, 2019 4:37 pm

Test with an actual FrSky receiver and not a third party thing that is attempting to be compatible without necessarily getting everything right.

FPVTrey
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2019 4:08 am
Country: -

Re: X-lite Pro will not bind...Yes i am a rookie

Post by FPVTrey » Mon Sep 02, 2019 1:24 am

Solved. So the two are binding but not sending a confirmation to trigger the blinking Bind LED. Had to use commands in CLI of betaflight to confirm and save the bind settings.


heijoe
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 5:00 pm
Country: -

Re: X-lite Pro will not bind...Yes i am a rookie

Post by heijoe » Tue Dec 03, 2019 5:05 pm

Hi FPVtrey
I am a rookie too.
I have the same problem, could you make a guide for dummies. I have beta flight but i can't figur out how.
Could you make a step by step ?
Regards Heinrich


Post Reply

Return to “FrSky Taranis radio”