A2 analog voltage sensor limit

Help with any software/desktop related issues. e.g. companion9x, eePe, etc
Post Reply
User avatar
rcyoda
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 3:41 am
Country: Australia

A2 analog voltage sensor limit

Post by rcyoda » Mon Dec 03, 2018 11:17 am

I connected 12S battery pack to the A2 sensor of X4R receiver, of course via some resistor voltage divider, to get max 3.3V corresponding to 50.4V of the pack. Easy so far.

But seems there is a limit in the OpenTX, so it can only read voltage up to 19.9V on A2 sensor.

Am I right? If so, how to overcome this limitation?


User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9887
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: A2 analog voltage sensor limit

Post by Kilrah » Mon Dec 03, 2018 12:18 pm

We don't know what radio, what OpenTX version... but you should be able to adjust the Ratio setting appropriately.

User avatar
rcyoda
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 3:41 am
Country: Australia

Re: A2 analog voltage sensor limit

Post by rcyoda » Mon Dec 03, 2018 12:25 pm

Sorry. Horus X12S, OpenTX 2.2.2

Whatever I setup as a ratio, over 19.9V (after the ratio) it seems it switches to 1:1 mode, not doing proportional calculations.

User avatar
rcyoda
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 3:41 am
Country: Australia

Re: A2 analog voltage sensor limit

Post by rcyoda » Mon Dec 03, 2018 12:27 pm

I also checked with standard FBVS-01 with 5S voltage. I calibrated it so it shows proper voltage, but still you cannot get over 19.9V.

User avatar
rcyoda
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 3:41 am
Country: Australia

Re: A2 analog voltage sensor limit

Post by rcyoda » Mon Dec 03, 2018 1:27 pm

Similar effect is even visible in the Companion sim, for X9D:

Image
Image

Above is OK. But look what happens if I increase the source voltage, even by 0.1V:

Image
Image

The voltage of the sensor is not going above 19.0V (sorry, I may mismatched the limit - seems it is 19.0V, not 19.9V).

It goes down though:

Image
Image


User avatar
rcyoda
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 3:41 am
Country: Australia

Re: A2 analog voltage sensor limit

Post by rcyoda » Mon Dec 03, 2018 1:39 pm

Is this possible that limit is set for 19.0V in the software?

(sorry for multiple posting, had issues with images)

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9887
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: A2 analog voltage sensor limit

Post by Kilrah » Mon Dec 03, 2018 1:41 pm

Works fine for me.

Image

User avatar
rcyoda
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 3:41 am
Country: Australia

Re: A2 analog voltage sensor limit

Post by rcyoda » Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:22 am

Thanks Kilrah for checking it out.

I cannot replicate it any more as well. Must have been some brain black-out or it was simply too late... Next time will go to sleep instead of trying to debug the problem in the middle of the night.


Post Reply

Return to “Software”