er9xProv822j and Aileron Switch inop it stays greay out

er9x is the best known firmware. It has a superb range of features and is well supported by the community. Well worth trying out.
Post Reply
hackerjoe
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2017 1:58 am
Country: United States

er9xProv822j and Aileron Switch inop it stays greay out

Post by hackerjoe » Mon Oct 08, 2018 3:27 am

Hi Mike,
I flashed my 9X to the newest version of er9xProv822j w/ m128
After flashing the radio the Aileron switch doesn't work it stays greyed out.
I went into the hardware menu and it says None for the first 4 switches so I'm guessing its disabled am I wrong?
I did not wire the Aileron as a 3 way switch yet.
Any suggestions ?
It worked prior using Version: V1.748-Mike
Date: 30:11:2016
Time: 13:41:21
SVN: er9x-r820

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15805
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9xProv822j and Aileron Switch inop it stays greay out

Post by MikeB » Mon Oct 08, 2018 7:47 am

Does the THR switch work or not?
If you have done the telemetry mod, check in the hardware menu that "FrSky Mod Done" is ticked.

Mike
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

hackerjoe
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2017 1:58 am
Country: United States

Re: er9xProv822j and Aileron Switch inop it stays greay out

Post by hackerjoe » Mon Oct 08, 2018 1:26 pm

Yes the throttle switch works and the mod is ticked

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15805
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9xProv822j and Aileron Switch inop it stays greay out

Post by MikeB » Mon Oct 08, 2018 4:25 pm

I no longer have a '128 radio, but 822j is fine on my '2561 radio.
Please check in the "DiagSwtch" menu to confirm the AIL switch is not working there. If not, then I suspect a hardware problem.

Mike
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

hackerjoe
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2017 1:58 am
Country: United States

Re: er9xProv822j and Aileron Switch inop it stays greay out

Post by hackerjoe » Mon Oct 08, 2018 8:53 pm

Ok will do but how do I wipe out everything and reflash previous file? I tried but the radio is still holding on to some of the 822 settings?


hackerjoe
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2017 1:58 am
Country: United States

Re: er9xProv822j and Aileron Switch inop it stays greay out

Post by hackerjoe » Tue Oct 09, 2018 12:39 pm

Hi Mike,

I looked in DiaSwtch and the Aileron switch didn't change it stood highlighted.
I looked in the radio and didn't notice anything out of place.
This started after I flashed the newest 822j firmware, coincidence maybe.
I’m guessing it has something to do with the way my radio is wired.
I checked the telemetry mod and everything looks good still.
FYI, I don’t have a programmer installed but I do have the radio wired up to hook up a programmer to it.
Ok so where do I start looking?

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18129
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: er9xProv822j and Aileron Switch inop it stays greay out

Post by jhsa » Tue Oct 09, 2018 12:44 pm

You can start by posting a good resolution picture of your radio's motherboard..
As Mike said, if your THR switch is working, you might have some hardware problem.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

hackerjoe
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2017 1:58 am
Country: United States

Re: er9xProv822j and Aileron Switch inop it stays greay out

Post by hackerjoe » Tue Oct 09, 2018 12:55 pm

jhsa wrote:
Tue Oct 09, 2018 12:44 pm
You can start by posting a good resolution picture of your radio's motherboard..
As Mike said, if your THR switch is working, you might have some hardware problem.

João
Gotcha,
It all worked before the new flash :(

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18129
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: er9xProv822j and Aileron Switch inop it stays greay out

Post by jhsa » Tue Oct 09, 2018 1:13 pm

Ok, but it could be a coincidence and we need to check it.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

hackerjoe
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2017 1:58 am
Country: United States

Re: er9xProv822j and Aileron Switch inop it stays greay out

Post by hackerjoe » Tue Oct 09, 2018 3:27 pm

I will work on getting a photo later tonight, I'm at work at the moment.
I will try the plain FW without the Mod in it and see if the switch still gives me an issue.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18129
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: er9xProv822j and Aileron Switch inop it stays greay out

Post by jhsa » Tue Oct 09, 2018 3:34 pm

What you mean? Are you going to undo the mod? Once the telemetry mod was done (change both switches to the other processor pins), you must use the firmware that supports it.. If you flash a firmware that does not support it, the switches won't work.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

hackerjoe
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2017 1:58 am
Country: United States

Re: er9xProv822j and Aileron Switch inop it stays greay out

Post by hackerjoe » Wed Oct 10, 2018 12:28 am

IMG_20181009_184040.jpg
I think I found it after an hour of removing hot glue very carefully.
I pretty sure one of the telemetry mod wires came loose.
I circled it in red in the attached photo.
Its possible the addition of the sound card caused it but not 100%.
I had to replace that 200 ohm resistor as well that is a task in itself.
I had to fix the RST connection as well I think I pulled that off checking the wiring.
I tested it twice with everything hanging and the aileron switch works correctly now.
I need to shorten some of the arduiovoice wires and hot glue it back in place.
Thanks for all the help Mike and João

Sorry for the crappy photo my phone isn't the best camera lol

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18129
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: er9xProv822j and Aileron Switch inop it stays greay out

Post by jhsa » Wed Oct 10, 2018 8:48 am

See, as we thought, it was just a coincidence :) and it was an hardware problem..
Well done. ;) :D

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

hackerjoe
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2017 1:58 am
Country: United States

Re: er9xProv822j and Aileron Switch inop it stays greay out

Post by hackerjoe » Thu Oct 11, 2018 11:50 am

João,

In the process of fixing the aileron switch issue, I added 2 more wires on EXT1& Ext2 on the ArduVoice module.
Now I have 2 more three-way switches lol.
Not sure what I'm going to use them for yet but I have them lol.
Thank you,
Joe

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18129
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: er9xProv822j and Aileron Switch inop it stays greay out

Post by jhsa » Thu Oct 11, 2018 12:00 pm

Nice.. :) I used them for two pushbuttons on the back of my radio :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Post Reply

Return to “er9x”