Lost my model match when installing 2.2.1

robertc
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2018 7:09 am
Country: -

Lost my model match when installing 2.2.1

Post by robertc » Thu Jun 14, 2018 7:41 am

Hi, after nearly 8 hours of trial and error loading 2.2.1 into my new qx7 that I just fitted with a multimode model irangex I have finally got the radio turning on again and after another 8 loading attempts I finally have the multimode option showing on the tx and am able to bind one of my DSMX rx with it.
However just when I thought I had a win, I discovered I had lost my model match for D8R receivers. The model match option no longer appears when I select that option for the radio. I worked perfectly with 2.2.0 that the radio came with.

Any clues.

cheers
Bob

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9661
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Lost my model match when installing 2.2.1

Post by Kilrah » Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:25 am

D8 receivers never supported model match.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18124
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Lost my model match when installing 2.2.1

Post by jhsa » Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:30 am

With the Multimodule you do have the receiver number, which is pretty much the same as model match, and this also applies to the D8 receivers...

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9661
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Lost my model match when installing 2.2.1

Post by Kilrah » Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:31 am

AFAIK it doesn't apply either since the receiver doesn't support it in the first place.

The number was probably shown in his older version but didn't do anything, and is now correctly hidden.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18124
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Lost my model match when installing 2.2.1

Post by jhsa » Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:37 am

The receiver number does work with D receivers as well, hence the OP said that he had it working on previous versions, so I do not understand why OpenTX hides the option?
Will try make a video of it working later, but I use Ersky9x..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW


User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9661
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Lost my model match when installing 2.2.1

Post by Kilrah » Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:45 am

As far as we know D8 receivers don't support it, and I also can't see anything in the multiprorocol doc stating it has implemented a trick to make it work anyway...
Aka we go by what whe've been able to find.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18124
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Lost my model match when installing 2.2.1

Post by jhsa » Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:52 am

Ok, will def make a video and post it here :)
I am finding all this quite strange.


João

My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18124
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Lost my model match when installing 2.2.1

Post by jhsa » Thu Jun 14, 2018 10:10 am

Kilrah wrote:
Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:45 am
As far as we know D8 receivers don't support it, and I also can't see anything in the multiprorocol doc stating it has implemented a trick to make it work anyway...
Aka we go by what whe've been able to find.
I am surprised that you guys as DEVs didn't really try to see if it works, because if you did, you would find out that it works, and really well.. :) Or is there any other reason behind the removal of this option? ;) :mrgreen:
I think that if that is the case, users would like to know the real reason you removed the option, right?? ;)
They will suddenly find that their models are not protected against "selecting the wrong model" anymore.. :o :shock:
and as they thought they were protected, they might go and fly with the wrong model as the receiver will respond.. :(
I believe that for safety you should put the receiver number option back on.. :)

Anyway, here is proof that this works, and it has been there and working since a long time now.. This is in ersky9x, not OpenTX.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=97IQjMI1COA&t=


João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15794
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Lost my model match when installing 2.2.1

Post by MikeB » Thu Jun 14, 2018 11:02 am

"Receiver Number" is supported in the Multi-Protocol by modifying the unique ID for RF protocols that don't support the feature directly.
I just ran Companion 2.2.1 and "Receiver Number" is present when setting the external protocol to "Multi", both in Companion and in the Taranis+ radio simulation.

Mike
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

robertc
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2018 7:09 am
Country: -

Re: Lost my model match when installing 2.2.1

Post by robertc » Thu Jun 14, 2018 11:46 pm

It worked when I first got the radio. When selecting d8 the option came up to give it a model match number and it worked.
I did all my planes with it. That was with 2.2.0
I didn't try them all but I bound the first plane then the second and I couldn't move the controls on the first plane while in the second memory slot so I took it they would all work the same.
Not sure why it would not work as they transfer info when linking each time. I assume the model match is nothing more than reading the unique ID of the rx and refusing to transmit if it doesn't match the one in that memory slot or there was an extra unused byte that could be transferred to the rx when binding and they use that.

Now when I go to use the internal tx the option is missing unless I go to D16
Are you saying that function is no longer in 2.2.1? Very disappointing if that is the case.
I thought it might have been once again the result of the flaky software transfer system that seems to be in what I have.
I have tried different usb leads and ports but they all work properly for other uses.

Just in case it is not clear I only have the multimode module to make use of some perfectly good Spektrum rx's I had sitting around doing nothing, the internal module is still used for my frsky rx's as before.

I'm not looking forward to having to buy yet another new TX. I like my opentx functions but I am not sure I want to risk another load of money on a replacement from the same source if this can't be solved.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18124
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Lost my model match when installing 2.2.1

Post by jhsa » Fri Jun 15, 2018 12:22 am

I use the multi module to fly all my frsky stuff. I use mainly D8 receivers and i like them more than the X stuff.. They seem to be somehow more reliable..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

robertc
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2018 7:09 am
Country: -

Re: Lost my model match when installing 2.2.1

Post by robertc » Fri Jun 15, 2018 4:08 am

I just tried using model match with the external multimode set for frsky using two D series rx's. The one bound with model 6 won't operate with model 7 and vice versa.
So I wasn't imagining things before.
I would just like it to work again with the internal module as I did not want to carry the external module around all the time. Seems I might have to just rely on the external module.
Obviously there is some information going around that the D series do not work with model match. Had I heard that I would have changed to Spektrum as I find model match an important safety feature now I am not as alert as I once was.
All my frsky rx's are D series.
Seems I am not the only one to find that it works, if only by accident in my case!
Was it the case that frsky knew it worked and that is why the factory version of 2.2.0 that my radio came with had the model match option for D series rx's ???
cheers
Bob

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9661
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Lost my model match when installing 2.2.1

Post by Kilrah » Fri Jun 15, 2018 6:16 am

I think you got confused.

Model match never existed with D series using FrSky's own equipment, so it never worked with the internal module and never will.

The Multimodule apparently implements a trick to make it work anyway so you can do so with it, and that's probably where it worked before the upgrade.

robertc
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2018 7:09 am
Country: -

Re: Lost my model match when installing 2.2.1

Post by robertc » Fri Jun 15, 2018 7:33 am

Kilrah, if you go back and read my posts, there was no mulitmode module in or set when I first started using the radio.
I may get confused these days, but I am not that confused!

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9661
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Lost my model match when installing 2.2.1

Post by Kilrah » Fri Jun 15, 2018 7:42 am

Well, OpenTX 2.2.0 definitely doesn't show model match fields for internal module in D8 mode, so...

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18124
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Lost my model match when installing 2.2.1

Post by jhsa » Fri Jun 15, 2018 8:22 am

Well, I also thought you were talking about the multi module..
Let's clear something here.
With the original Frsky modules, and as Kilrah said, model match never worked with D8 receivers.
With the multi module it akways did because of what Mike explained above.
So, if you were using the internal module, it is impossible that you had model match with the D8 receivers. Perhaps the option was there, but it wouldn't work.

Now, I use Ersky9x on my radios and I can't check if the OpenTX team removed the receiver number option from the multi module menu or not. If that is the case I think they should put it back..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9661
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Lost my model match when installing 2.2.1

Post by Kilrah » Fri Jun 15, 2018 8:59 am

No as Mike said it's actually there and works.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18124
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Lost my model match when installing 2.2.1

Post by jhsa » Fri Jun 15, 2018 10:43 am

Ok, I think there was a bit of confusion here :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

robertc
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2018 7:09 am
Country: -

Re: Lost my model match when installing 2.2.1

Post by robertc » Fri Jun 15, 2018 10:58 pm

OK, if I knew the model match was subject to some confusion I would have had a video taken at the field last weekend when demonstrating the model match function on 3 models I was flying. :>)
Whatever software others have, the version that came from the factory with my radio was labelled 2.2.0 and the D series option had the model match engaged and it worked.
I hope I get another version from the opentx crew one day that returns that option.

Meanwhile further investigation leads to the conclusion that my other problems are related to a dodgy usb port on the radio. Thankfully all other functions seem to work OK.

Thankfully the model match feature is engaged on the external module for my D series rx's so I will run all my models with it.
cheers
Bob

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18124
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Lost my model match when installing 2.2.1

Post by jhsa » Fri Jun 15, 2018 11:09 pm

Bob, as stated above several times, it is impossible you had model match on D8 receivers using an original frsky RF module.. that simply never existed. Only the multi module can do that. I use frsky D8 gear for over 8 years now and i would have known if their original gear would do model match. it just can't, and never did.. Unless Frsky sent you some equipment that was never produced or released :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9661
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Lost my model match when installing 2.2.1

Post by Kilrah » Sat Jun 16, 2018 5:58 am

Well it's not impossible frsky implemented the same trick as the multimodule into recent XJT firmware without telling anyone... would kinda be surprising if they did, not telling anyone would be just the ordinary procedure though...

Guess someone has to test.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18124
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Lost my model match when installing 2.2.1

Post by jhsa » Sat Jun 16, 2018 10:24 am

Well, it would be wonderful if they implemented that. One more towards safety :)
But then, I think you guys should test it yourselves before removing the option from the menu, isn't that the logical thing to do? :) ;)
I know that my logic is 99% of the times the opposite of the Developer's logic, but it does make sense to me :mrgreen:

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15794
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Lost my model match when installing 2.2.1

Post by MikeB » Sat Jun 16, 2018 10:45 am

I ran a quick test using a X-Lite internal XJT module in D8 mode. Bind to a D8R-XP with Rx number 0 ad the Rx continued to respond when I changed the Rx Number, so D8 mode doesn't support Rx number.

Mike
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9661
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Lost my model match when installing 2.2.1

Post by Kilrah » Sat Jun 16, 2018 1:48 pm

jhsa wrote:
Sat Jun 16, 2018 10:24 am
But then, I think you guys should test it yourselves before removing the option from the menu, isn't that the logical thing to do? :) ;)
We didn't remove anything, it was never there. If receiver number is in some FrSky version for internal in D8 they would have added it themselves without notifying.

Unfortunately I don't have an X9D+ with me to test their FW nor a D8 receiver to try, but my feeling is still that OP is confused about what he's doing.

robertc
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2018 7:09 am
Country: -

Re: Lost my model match when installing 2.2.1

Post by robertc » Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:55 am

The is another possibility apart from having what appears to be a specially installed software when the radio arrived. Given the dodgy usb port perhaps the the install was corrupted allowing the access to the model match feature for the D series.
I am not confused and I have a witness.

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9661
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Lost my model match when installing 2.2.1

Post by Kilrah » Tue Jun 19, 2018 5:54 am

No the "corruption" is not possible.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18124
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Lost my model match when installing 2.2.1

Post by jhsa » Tue Jun 19, 2018 7:46 am

Robert, the only way you might have had model match on D8 receivers was if you used the MultiModule. Frsky as far as we all know, never had that. I use Frsky for 8+ years, I think I would have known if there was a cool feature like this one.
I remember that one of the reasons that I though it wasn't worth it to move to the X equipment was exactly that model match didn't work with my D receivers. So I though I wasn't gaining anything with the change.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9661
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Lost my model match when installing 2.2.1

Post by Kilrah » Tue Jun 19, 2018 8:19 am

Again someone needs to actually load frsky's firmware to check.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18124
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Lost my model match when installing 2.2.1

Post by jhsa » Tue Jun 19, 2018 9:31 am

You? I don't have any original X stuff :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9661
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Lost my model match when installing 2.2.1

Post by Kilrah » Tue Jun 19, 2018 9:32 am

As I said I don't have an X9D nor D equipment at hand. I'm on a work trip until the end of the week and the only radio I have with me is the X-Lite.

Post Reply

Return to “openTx for FrSky radios”