FRSKY R9M compatibility?

er9x is the best known firmware. It has a superb range of features and is well supported by the community. Well worth trying out.
Post Reply
Ukalelefpv
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 12:06 am
Country: -

FRSKY R9M compatibility?

Post by Ukalelefpv » Mon Apr 09, 2018 12:09 am

I currently have a TGY 9x that has the module mod and I will be adding ER9X to it once I get a USBASP programmer. I am also going to do the telemetry mod so I can get telemetry from my multiprotocol module following oscar liang's post but only worrying about cutting traces on pin 5 as it instructs on github. I am curious to see if this firmware. ER9x frsky, also will be compatible with the R9M using telemetry for RSSI. If anyone knows please let me know!

Mahalo!

Ukalele FPV

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15726
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: FRSKY R9M compatibility?

Post by MikeB » Mon Apr 09, 2018 11:07 am

Does your 9X have a '64 or a '128 processor?
The R9M needs some additional options (like power setting), that are not currently in er9x (but are in ersky9x for other radios), but I can add them for the '128, but the '64 code just doesn't have any spare space.

Mike
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Ukalelefpv
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 12:06 am
Country: -

Re: FRSKY R9M compatibility?

Post by Ukalelefpv » Mon Apr 09, 2018 8:40 pm

I just opened up my 9x and see that it has the '128 processor. That would be awesome but it doesn't have to be top priority as I do not have the funds quite yet to get my r9m I was really just curious to see if it would be a viable option for me. Mahalo Mike!

Ukalele FPV

volumax
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 12:21 pm
Country: -

Re: FRSKY R9M compatibility?

Post by volumax » Thu Jul 12, 2018 3:15 am

Hey Ukalelefpv did you get the r9m module and did you get to flash it with your t9x radio? How do I know if I have the 64 or 128 processor?

Mikeheli45
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2018 4:48 pm
Country: -

Re: FRSKY R9M compatibility?

Post by Mikeheli45 » Wed Aug 08, 2018 4:51 pm

That would be great if any one has any info on this ..so far I can not get bind process to work r9m module light stays red when in bind mode and nothing happens..Angelo would be appreciated.
Thanks Mike :?:


User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15726
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: FRSKY R9M compatibility?

Post by MikeB » Thu Aug 09, 2018 10:40 am

I've just posted a new test version (822g). This includes support for the R9M in '128 and 2561 radios.
I tested I could bind on my '2561.

Mike
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18039
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: FRSKY R9M compatibility?

Post by jhsa » Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:15 am

Mike, did you do anything regarding that problem of the radio not staying in the bootloader on the m2561 if the FTDI adapter is built permanently inside the radio?
Currently, if i update my radio to a version with bootloader, I lose the ability to share models and voice files between PC and radio's SD Card.
People in the same situation have 2 options at the moment.
1 - Do not update Er9x anymore..
2 - Update the firmware, but then downgrade to an older version without bootloader every time they want to download/upload a model from/to the radio, which is a pain :)

Thanks

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

minno
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2018 8:48 pm
Country: -

Re: FRSKY R9M compatibility?

Post by minno » Sat Sep 15, 2018 11:43 am

Hello Mike, All,

we know that telemetry mod for DJT and XJT works, but what about R9M..? does R9M tx module send telemetry to pin5 of radio as well ? I mean same way like djt and xjt mod work ? I am thinking about upgrade to R9M but I do not want to loose the telemetry function..
I have last er9x from september 2018 and I have trunigy 9XR (no pro) with 128 processor.
Thank you

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9625
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: FRSKY R9M compatibility?

Post by Kilrah » Sat Sep 15, 2018 12:09 pm

R9M works just the same as an XJT.

minno
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2018 8:48 pm
Country: -

Re: FRSKY R9M compatibility?

Post by minno » Sat Sep 15, 2018 12:44 pm

Kilrah wrote:
Sat Sep 15, 2018 12:09 pm
R9M works just the same as an XJT.
so telemetry mod works the same for r9m like for xjt, correct ?

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9625
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: FRSKY R9M compatibility?

Post by Kilrah » Sat Sep 15, 2018 4:47 pm

Yes.

minno
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2018 8:48 pm
Country: -

Re: FRSKY R9M compatibility?

Post by minno » Sat Sep 15, 2018 7:26 pm

great, thank u, I have next question.. does R9M support telemetry when I use just 8ch for PXX instead of 16ch ? does er9x support this combination ? thank you indeed

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9625
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: FRSKY R9M compatibility?

Post by Kilrah » Sat Sep 15, 2018 8:02 pm

You should look at the R9M manual to see what's supported, it's pretty complex based on the selected region and power levels.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15726
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: FRSKY R9M compatibility?

Post by MikeB » Sat Sep 15, 2018 9:02 pm

The most recent test versions of er9x support the R9M, as long as you have a '128 or'2561 processor (which you do).

Mike
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

bugrit
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2018 9:41 am
Country: -

Re: FRSKY R9M compatibility?

Post by bugrit » Tue Sep 25, 2018 9:43 am

Hi, I have a Turnigy 9X with a 64' chip. I just wanted to confirm does that mean there's no way that I can make the Frsky R9M work with the radio?

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15726
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: FRSKY R9M compatibility?

Post by MikeB » Tue Sep 25, 2018 11:52 am

For the EU version:
Use the XJT(PXX) protocol and the R9M will operate in 25mW, 8 channel mode with telemetry.
Use the PPM protocol and set the switches on the R9M to select 200mW or 500mW output. You don't get telemetry with either of those.
The only configuration you don't get is 25mW, 16 channel with telemetry.

For the international version, XJT will give 10mW with telemetry. Use PPM and the switches for other powers, you won't get telemetry.

I'll see if I can add anything, but the '64 has very little flash space left (around 400 bytes).

Mike
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Post Reply

Return to “er9x”