"Smart" Throttle Cut?

openTx has introduced a range of new features, ideas and bling. It is fast becoming the firmware of choice for many users. openTx will run on ALL current hardware platforms, including the gruvin9x and sky9x boards. Work has already started to support the new FrSky X9D radio!
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18013
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: "Smart" Throttle Cut?

Post by jhsa » Wed Jul 11, 2018 10:06 am

Great.. :) Well done :)
And I do apologize if I sounded a bit rude above. Not intended, but I was getting a bit desperate as I didn't know this particular "functionality" in Companion :( and though you just didn't know how it worked. Hence I was desperately trying to explain it with pictures and all that..
I had an older version of companion installed that worked as it should, in my opinion. I would never thought the devs would change how the logical switches worked..
So, all is good when it ends good. Again, please accept my apologies :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

thebriars0
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 9:25 pm
Country: United Kingdom

Re: "Smart" Throttle Cut?

Post by thebriars0 » Thu Jul 12, 2018 10:48 am

If you look at the "How To" section of my OpenTX documents in this section of the forum, you will find there is a smart throttle cut/arming routine which is very simple, but almost foolproof. Not only does it require the throttle to be at zero, but the switch has to be activated at between 3 and 5 seconds delay before it will operate to prevent an accidental cut/arm by moving the switch unintentionally. The routine also provides a bleep every second to make the timing easier.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18013
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: "Smart" Throttle Cut?

Post by jhsa » Thu Jul 12, 2018 12:23 pm

On my models I have programmed a "Motor active" warning if i turn the throttle switch ON but do not move it from the bottom for 20 seconds.
Sometimes I turn the motor ON, start taxi to the runway, and then on the way just start chatting to a friend and forget the throttle is still ON, so if i touch the throttle by mistake, the model will jump, I have seen it happen.
So, after about 20 seconds my radio will remind me that I forgot about it.. :)
It is incredible what we can do with the open source firmware..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
mapes12
Posts: 116
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 6:44 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Gnosall UK
Contact:

Re: "Smart" Throttle Cut?

Post by mapes12 » Thu Jul 12, 2018 9:30 pm

thebriars0 wrote:
Thu Jul 12, 2018 10:48 am
If you look at the "How To" section of my OpenTX documents in this section of the forum, you will find there is a smart throttle cut/arming routine which is very simple, but almost foolproof. Not only does it require the throttle to be at zero, but the switch has to be activated at between 3 and 5 seconds delay before it will operate to prevent an accidental cut/arm by moving the switch unintentionally. The routine also provides a bleep every second to make the timing easier.
Link?

thebriars0
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 9:25 pm
Country: United Kingdom

Re: "Smart" Throttle Cut?

Post by thebriars0 » Fri Jul 13, 2018 6:08 pm

Its the topic below this one at the moment in the same section.

OpenTX 2.2 documentation. http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewtopic ... 45&t=10905

Post Reply

Return to “openTx”