Customizing 9XR-Pro signal outputs

tgy9x is a fork of er9x, and is the default firmware that is released by hobbyking on the Turnigy 9XR transmitter.
aeroanpl

Customizing 9XR-Pro signal outputs

Post by aeroanpl »

I'm an undergrad aerospace engineering student working in a lab on campus, and my job is to allow control of a ground robot with a 9XRPro controller.
I have almost no experience with RC (and not much electrical eng. either), so I'm unfamiliar with the correct terms; please bear with me and feel free to correct me.
I've looked online for answers and can't seem to find anything conclusive.
The robot receives 7 channels of DC signal, each receiving 0-5V, and the communication will be done through an FrSky XJT transmitter and an FrSky X8R receiver.

My first and more current question -
How do I customize the signal output from the controller resulting from each button press/ pot turn/ switch flick? I want, say, the left stick to output 2.5V at middle rest position, 5V at top, 0V at bottom, or to set one of the pots to output 0-5V on its full range. Is this a legitimate question? Meaning, will this setting decide the voltage sent from the receiver to the robot as well, or is that a false assumption I made?
Also, I need to be able to set which of these signals is sent through which channel to be output from the receiver.

My second question is more technical:
I understand the signal output from the X8R receiver is a PWM square wave, and the robot needs to receive DC. Will they communicate nicely, or do I need some kind of converter? If so, what am I looking for?

Any and all help will be greatly appreciated.

MikeB
9x Developer

Re: Customizing 9XR-Pro signal outputs

Post by MikeB »