which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Cant get your radio to work? General Hardware issues?
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16608
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by MikeB » Sun Oct 15, 2017 10:40 am

I've had a lot on recently, but I should be able to get you a special test version that can try to locate where your radio is failing.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!


User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16608
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by MikeB » Sun Oct 15, 2017 10:59 am

OK, on the ersky9x test versions thread (first post", I've put a file "x9dp_romHrc1.zip". Please download this, extract the .bin and flash this to your radio.
Power on, and watch the top left corner of the display. I put a character there showing how far through we get. If a watchdog reset occurs, which is what I think is happening, a lot of the startup is skipped (splash screen etc.), so it may be what happens on power up is important.
To help the testing, try moving the throttle away from fully down, and move a switch. These should cause the relevant warnings to be displayed.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

happyrc1
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 1:54 am
Country: -

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by happyrc1 » Sun Oct 15, 2017 3:37 pm

i flashed firmware .

I saw corner display P , after go to SWITH WArrning , screen blink same file ersky9x ago. :oops:

moved all Stick , switch ....

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16608
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by MikeB » Sun Oct 15, 2017 5:07 pm

The next two things that would be done, before displaying a Q are to initialise the trainer capture, then the real time clock. What is the state of the RTC battery (and did you remove that when replacing the processor)?

Try, at least, removing the RTC battery (which should be around 3 volts.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

happyrc1
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 1:54 am
Country: -

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by happyrc1 » Mon Oct 16, 2017 3:42 am

measure batterry is 3v

i have not yet replace a Stm32f205. can not buy a new chip now .But i can buy a STM32F207VET6 or STM32F407VET6 now , so i can replace stm32f205 by stm32f207 OR 407 ?

video tested ";https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NU9-T0oMaq8


User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16608
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by MikeB » Mon Oct 16, 2017 8:38 am

I've just had a look at the code that initialises the RTC and it has something in it that waits for the 32kHz oscillator to start. This should have a timeout in it.
It seems that the 32kHz oscillator isn't starting. The 32kHz crystal is Y1 and connects to pins 8 and 9 of the processor. Worth checking these pins are connecting to the crystal OK.

In the meantime, I'll have a look into improving the RTC code.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16608
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by MikeB » Mon Oct 16, 2017 10:57 am

I've just posted another, specific test version for you. This runs a timeout on setting up the RTC.
If this runs, please go to the "BOOT REASON" menu and report the numbers at the bottom of the screen.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

happyrc1
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 1:54 am
Country: -

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by happyrc1 » Tue Oct 17, 2017 10:21 am

hi Mike
i orderd a new crystal and it will come in next week.
i will report result here

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19019
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by jhsa » Tue Oct 17, 2017 11:00 am

Please read Mike's last post..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16608
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by MikeB » Tue Oct 17, 2017 11:42 am

Did the special test version run OK? I need to know if the change I put in solves the potential problem in general because if the 32kHz crystal fails whilw using the Tx, and then there is, for some reason, a watchdog reboot, the Tx won't come back working and we need, for safety, to be sure it does.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

happyrc1
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 1:54 am
Country: -

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by happyrc1 » Sat Oct 21, 2017 12:30 am

It worked , it worked :lol: :lol:

Thank you so much MIKE , you are right . Crystal is cause for all problems
crystal come soon to day. i replaced it and it can run both file ersky and opentx taranis .

now my taranis worked back .

blackpearl
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2019 11:32 am
Country: -

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by blackpearl » Fri Oct 25, 2019 4:57 pm

Hi Guys, I want to jump to the party.
I have similar issues to happy.
I stuck in boatloader and radio will not turn on.
Tried all usual methods and now sucpecting some hardware failure.
Also tried DFUse but giving me this error.
Attachments
IMG_20191025_140954.jpg
IMG_20191025_113155.jpg

blackpearl
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2019 11:32 am
Country: -

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by blackpearl » Fri Oct 25, 2019 5:00 pm

Also tried x9dp_romHrc2.zip rom which you prepared for happy and will give me results as on the photo.
Later I will have only screen with arrows on the side and "heart beat"
Attachments
IMG_20191025_174825.jpg

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16608
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by MikeB » Fri Oct 25, 2019 5:48 pm

The report you are getting from DFUse shows the data 256K into the flash memory doesn't seem to have flashed.
As a test, I've just put erskyTx r220 on the test versions thread. This fits in 256K, so please try flashing this with DFUse.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

blackpearl
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2019 11:32 am
Country: -

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by blackpearl » Fri Oct 25, 2019 9:46 pm

Hi Mike, thanks for firmware.
Not super familiar with Dfuse but is it working only with .dfu files? I downloaded erskyTx r220 but it's .bin
How to proceed?
Should I convert .bin to .dfu?
Thanks

blackpearl
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2019 11:32 am
Country: -

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by blackpearl » Fri Oct 25, 2019 10:37 pm

Ok, I flashed firmware which you posted.
Dfuse go smooth with no error.
Result is this screen as on the photo and "heart beat" every like 2 sec screen go bit darker and litte sound come from speaker. Heartbeat come to mind.
Also when turning off from button it not happening immediately but after like 10-15sec
Is this good or bad?
Attachments
IMG_20191025_233158.jpg

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16608
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by MikeB » Sat Oct 26, 2019 8:55 am

Sounds like a watchdog restart (every 2 seconds).
Please try holding the two horizontal trims inwards to see if it works in the bootloader. Also, try with the trims apart to see if it works in "maintenance mode".

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

blackpearl
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2019 11:32 am
Country: -

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by blackpearl » Sat Oct 26, 2019 10:04 am

horizontal trims inwards works and give me bootloader,
but trims outwards have no effect.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16608
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by MikeB » Sat Oct 26, 2019 11:40 am

Try having the bootloader running, then plug in the USB. Do you then see two hard drives appear on your PC?
One of these is the SD card, see if you can access that.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

blackpearl
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2019 11:32 am
Country: -

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by blackpearl » Sat Oct 26, 2019 2:26 pm

Yes, if I connect to PC with bootloader on I can see both Radio Drives.
I can access SD card.
Companion TX see my radio and I can access models.
I can write new firmware and bootloaders from companion and straight from SD cards but outcome is always same. Radio not turning on.
Very strange

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16608
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by MikeB » Sat Oct 26, 2019 3:21 pm

Please use companion or eepskye to read the flash memory to a file. Then put the file in a .zip file and post it here for me to look at.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

blackpearl
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2019 11:32 am
Country: -

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by blackpearl » Sat Oct 26, 2019 3:32 pm

I just checked,
I can write firmware from radio and eeprom but I can't read models any more.
But to be fair it is still with test firmware which you send me so maybe thats why or maybe I skrew something along the way.
Anyway I am attaching files.

Thanks for helping me Mike.
Attachments
flash from radio.rar
(173.15 KiB) Downloaded 4 times

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10271
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by Kilrah » Sat Oct 26, 2019 5:19 pm

He posted on RCGroups that he always had flashing errors even with ST DFU tool, it seems some area of the flash is faulty.

blackpearl
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2019 11:32 am
Country: -

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by blackpearl » Sat Oct 26, 2019 5:33 pm

Yes, coming from rcgroups. I have flashing errors with STDfu as seen on attachment from my first post here. But last .bin from mike flashed without errors.
I want to narrow area where is the problem before I start actually touch hardware with solder iron.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16608
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by MikeB » Sat Oct 26, 2019 10:26 pm

Looking at the flash memory dump, the third quarter of the flash is "blank" (256K to 384K), which is consistent with your DFUse error.
The .bin file I posted fitted in the first 256K so that is why it flashed OK.
My conclusion is the processor flash memory is faulty. Even if you can get it working, I would not trust it.
Either you need a new main board, or you need to change the processor.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

blackpearl
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2019 11:32 am
Country: -

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by blackpearl » Sat Oct 26, 2019 11:24 pm

Thanks Mike for your help.
At least now I know for 100% that processor is the issue.
Aslo thanks Kilrah for your help on RCgroups as well.

definitedisorder
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2019 5:30 am
Country: -

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by definitedisorder » Sun Nov 10, 2019 5:35 am

Hi. I have done the same as you guys... I need a new micro processor. I am not sure where i can buy the correct one. Can you tell me where i can buy it? Found this one, but it is not the exact same.
SEK 39.00 | 1pcs X STM32F205VET6 STM32F STM32F205 LQFP100 NEW Free Shipping
https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/FneQREJe

Joakim Johansson Sweden Image

Skickat från min VTR-L29 via Tapatalk


User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16608
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by MikeB » Sun Nov 10, 2019 10:22 am

A STM32F205VET6 (as in your link) is the same as in your picture, so is correct.
When replacing the processor, remove all power, including the RTC battery.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

definitedisorder
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2019 5:30 am
Country: -

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by definitedisorder » Sun Nov 10, 2019 12:15 pm

Thanks. Is it anything else i should know. Will i need som special firmware or something?

Skickat från min VTR-L29 via Tapatalk


User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16608
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: which STM32 processor in Taranis plus

Post by MikeB » Sun Nov 10, 2019 1:05 pm

When you have changed the processor, you will need to use zadig to flash it the first time.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!


Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”