Ersky9x Bug Reporting

erskyTx runs on many radios and upgrade boards
ersky9x was a port of er9x for use on the sky9x board.
35mhz
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 1:52 pm
Country: -

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by 35mhz » Tue May 12, 2020 1:16 pm

Mike,

Updated the bootloader to v3.1, all seems ok now and LED works ok.

Thanks


User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19294
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by jhsa » Thu May 21, 2020 10:26 pm

Mike, I think I found a problem. I had an earlier version of ErskyTX installed on my 9XT radio when I made this video today. But After installing r222_D7 (Latest??) the problem persists. Please check the video below.
I have just found out that the problem happens if the trainer radio is ON when I try to select a trainer profile, and the radio reboots. If the trainer radio is OFF, I can select the profile and the 9XT radio does not reboot. As you probably remember, my radios have a DIY receiver inside outputting SBUS for wireless trainer.
I just wanted to adapt my Son to a new plane today, but couldn't change the trainer profile from OFF to something else without the radio rebooting. Ended up just passing my radio to him just like we used to do it quite a few years ago :)
Here is the video.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=65Fcq9N0Oe8

Thanks for looking into it.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16912
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by MikeB » Thu May 21, 2020 11:22 pm

I'll have a look tomorrow. Note that R222 is released at www.er9x.com, test versions are now for R223.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19294
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by jhsa » Fri May 22, 2020 10:18 am

Thanks Mike.. I suppose that there is still no 223 test versions? At least I haven't seen any. :)
Is D7 the same as the released 223? I missed your post announcing the 222 release, sorry about that :(

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16912
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by MikeB » Sat May 23, 2020 6:19 pm

Where is the internal Rx SBUS signal connected?

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!


User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19294
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by jhsa » Sat May 23, 2020 8:35 pm

To the trainer input. Here is the project page.

https://openrcforums.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=9400

Thank You

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16912
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by MikeB » Mon May 25, 2020 11:00 pm

I've just posted a test version that may fix that bug.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19294
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by jhsa » Tue May 26, 2020 7:50 am

Thanks Mike, will test asap and let you know..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19294
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by jhsa » Tue May 26, 2020 9:43 pm

Mike, flashed the test version. No more rebooting, but....
I set the trainer as I always did, but it didn't work until I un-selected the SBUS invert box.
Before this box had to be selected for the SBUS trainer to work. So, it looks like you have changed something there?

Not a big problem. Just want to make sure there isn't another bug..

Thanks
João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19294
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by jhsa » Wed May 27, 2020 6:22 pm

Hi Mike, not sure you saw my report just above?

Thanks

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16912
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by MikeB » Wed May 27, 2020 10:00 pm

I was using two channels in a timer to capture the SBUS signal, one for rising edge and one for falling edge. When I added support for more transmitters, I had to just use a single channel for both edges, but missed changing the timer configuration for some transmitters. The need to toggel the invert SBUS option has occurred as a result of this change.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19294
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by jhsa » Wed May 27, 2020 10:19 pm

Thanks Mike.. Now I know it is not a problem and that we have to use it not inverted.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19294
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by jhsa » Tue Jun 02, 2020 7:31 pm

Mike, there is some kind of problem with the latest ErskyTX, at least with the 9XTradio. Some models need the SBUS signal of the trainer RX to be inverted, and some not inverted. So, something ,might still not be quite rightk, at least on the 9XT?
Also today I saw some odd behavior. I have learnt that my radio doesn't warn me of flight battery voltage whatsoever. I normally check the voltage regularly, but today I had the voltage drop under both lower cell voltage and FasV. No alarms at all. The values are read when I press a switch, therefore I haven't noticed this before. I suspect this problem was already present in the last version as last time I was surprised to have had lower battery voltage than I normally do. I like to take care of my batteries.. I have some 6 or 7 year old batteries still flying :)
Today, I rebooted the radio to check, but the problem was still there. After I rebooted the radio ( model secured of course), when powered ON, the radio started singing all sorts of nonsense like voltage at one thousand four hundred and something volts :o :) So, I guess that something is not quite right :)

Thanks in advance for looking into this. Please let me know if you need some specific testing.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16912
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by MikeB » Tue Jun 02, 2020 8:51 pm

If you are using FrSky hub telemetry, then rebooting the radio, with the Rx still operating, is likely to end up overflowing the telemetry buffer in the Rx and or Tx module resulting in corrupt telemetry data until the radio catches up and the buffers get flushed.

Is the FasV value and the low cell voltage value displaying correctly all the time when operating normally?

I can't see any reason for some models needing to invert the SBUS signal on the jack and others not. This may need specific testing.
Are you using the same trainer profile on all the models?
If you have two models that need opposite invert values, does the trainer input still work if you power cycle the radio on each model?

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19294
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by jhsa » Wed Jun 03, 2020 12:26 am

MikeB wrote:
Tue Jun 02, 2020 8:51 pm
If you are using FrSky hub telemetry, then rebooting the radio, with the Rx still operating, is likely to end up overflowing the telemetry buffer in the Rx and or Tx module resulting in corrupt telemetry data until the radio catches up and the buffers get flushed.
Ok, that is one out of the equation. But what if the buffers were flushed at power ON before any events were spoken?
Is the FasV value and the low cell voltage value displaying correctly all the time when operating normally?
I think so Mike. I did read telemetry several times before this happened. In fact that is the reason I found this out, as I never let the batteries discharge so much. Today was an amazing weather to fly and i have just forgotten about the batteries. Luckily I always check with the switch. It is a habit I have since Er9x started supporting telemetry a few moons ago :)
I also flew a glider with vario, and the radio was always beeping. I guess that means the telemetry was alwqys being read and displayed.. Just no alarms..
I will have a better look tomorrow and hook a variable PS up, and see what I find.
I can't see any reason for some models needing to invert the SBUS signal on the jack and others not. This may need specific testing.
Are you using the same trainer profile on all the models?
Yes I am, but I can confirm tomorrow.
If you have two models that need opposite invert values, does the trainer input still work if you power cycle the radio on each model?
If I understand well what you mean, I do think so, but I can test tomorrow and will let you know..

Thank you

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16912
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by MikeB » Wed Jun 03, 2020 8:15 am

jhsa wrote:
Wed Jun 03, 2020 12:26 am
MikeB wrote:
Tue Jun 02, 2020 8:51 pm
If you are using FrSky hub telemetry, then rebooting the radio, with the Rx still operating, is likely to end up overflowing the telemetry buffer in the Rx and or Tx module resulting in corrupt telemetry data until the radio catches up and the buffers get flushed.
Ok, that is one out of the equation. But what if the buffers were flushed at power ON before any events were spoken?
. . . .
Thank you

João
The buffers are in the Rx and the Tx module, I can't do anything about them.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!


Post Reply

Return to “erskyTx (was ersky9x)”