T9X mod to use Flysky module, Frysky module and DSMX module

General mods that are considered worth doing; regardless of the end firmware you use.
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19018
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: T9X mod to use both Flysky module and Frysky module

Post by jhsa » Fri Mar 23, 2012 12:59 am

Mine looks a bit different confirming what I thought..
Here is a picture of mine
Attachments
My FrSky-1.JPG
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW


User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10271
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: T9X mod to use both Flysky module and Frysky module

Post by Kilrah » Sat Mar 24, 2012 7:37 am

Interesting, yeah I prefer mine :D

It must be very recent as it came bundled with a D8RII Plus.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19018
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: T9X mod to use both Flysky module and Frysky module

Post by jhsa » Sat Mar 24, 2012 9:47 am

on the frsky thread, sometime ago people were complaining about the connectors.. actually someone crashed his heli due to bad contact and he was very angry at everybody in that thread cos people were still defending frsky.. :? I think once more frsky listened to the people. that's good
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: T9X mod to use both Flysky module and Frysky module

Post by kaos » Sun Mar 25, 2012 12:00 am

Got my Frysky DJT module shipped out yesterday from HK. I will take a look the inside when I get it to see the newer ones are all the same - the better connector.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19018
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: T9X mod to use both Flysky module and Frysky module

Post by jhsa » Sun Mar 25, 2012 12:09 am

could you please take also a picture? Thanks
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW


User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: T9X mod to use both Flysky module and Frysky module

Post by kaos » Sun Mar 25, 2012 1:13 am

Surely will.
BUT, although got a tracking # from HK , it has not showed up in HongKong post office yet. :-S My experience with HK is once it is actually shipped by the Hongkong post office, then it will take about 9 days to reach me. :-S so we are looking at about 2 wks from today.

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10271
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: T9X mod to use both Flysky module and Frysky module

Post by Kilrah » Sun Mar 25, 2012 4:24 pm

Same, should be receiving a second DJT in a week or so from now.

BTW, the white connector I have looks a lot like what Futaba had in their modules back in the days.

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: T9X mod to use both Flysky module and Frysky module

Post by kaos » Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:03 pm

Can't believe this. missed another DX4e by 0.50. got a phone call 2 min before the end time. :-S
Is that you again, Jhsa! ;)

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19018
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: T9X mod to use both Flysky module and Frysky module

Post by jhsa » Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:05 pm

not this time.. I had a phone call too.. wasn't that you trying to distract me?? :mrgreen:
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19018
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: T9X mod to use both Flysky module and Frysky module

Post by jhsa » Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:06 pm

but I think know what you need.. wait, trying to find it.. will edit this post with the link

Here, try this.. I won the items except once.. you got a couple of free tries

http://www.snipeswipe.com/
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10271
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: T9X mod to use both Flysky module and Frysky module

Post by Kilrah » Mon Mar 26, 2012 7:31 am

This looks cool! Here's a new bookmark...

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19018
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: T9X mod to use both Flysky module and Frysky module

Post by jhsa » Mon Mar 26, 2012 9:10 am

I could post one or 2 more links, but never used them. and this worked.. ok, my free tries are gone, so, maybe now Kaos can get his DX4e :mrgreen: :mrgreen: ;)
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: T9X mod to use both Flysky module and Frysky module

Post by kaos » Mon Mar 26, 2012 7:07 pm

NO. now kilrah will always get ahead of me. :) He's already got it bookmarked. :-S

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19018
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: T9X mod to use both Flysky module and Frysky module

Post by jhsa » Mon Mar 26, 2012 9:53 pm

well you can't both win on the same one, that's for sure.. ha ha
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: T9X mod to use both Flysky module and Frysky module

Post by kaos » Tue Mar 27, 2012 6:11 am

OK, let's see if someone can answer/confirm this for me:

Say i have 2 er9x Tx (Txa, Txb) with modular RF modules. more than one Flysky, one DSMX, one Frysky. and multiple Rx for each brand of RF module.

if I set up one plane /heli in Txa with say Flysky module/rx and backed up with eepe to PC, the same model set up in Txa,if I switch to a Frysky module (also switch the rx to a bond Frysky rx on the plane/ heli). Do I need to redo the set up? No need to retrim it or adjust any thing? Am I able to fly just like it was set up with Flysky RFM /Rx and fly right off the bat?

same plane/model, if I download the setup to Txb, using a different Flysky RFM/rx (or Frysky RFM and bonded Rx). Will alll the set up (like subtrim, offset ... numbers) still applies and I don't need to do any readjustment??

this is kind of important to me, because heli set up is quite delicate, a little off will throw the head off level and tail won't hold.
If this is true, it will save me a lot of headache trying to remember which heli/plane is set up with which RF module/Rx (i will have more than one Flysky RFM besides Frysky, DSMX RFM-to be made).

If switching RF module/rx won't change anything for a model set up, I can backup , download any model to eepe and later put in either tx and using any RF module with a bond Rx. That will be a lot easier for me.

My guess is it should be like that. But I am not sure.

User avatar
GrootWitbaas
Posts: 358
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:57 pm
Country: -
Location: Germany

Re: T9X mod to use both Flysky module and Frysky module

Post by GrootWitbaas » Tue Mar 27, 2012 6:52 am

The only thing you have to watch out for is radio setup like trim and endpoints. Changing RF modules types may require some small adjustments, but in theory it should all work.

What I do know is when I changed firmware from stock to er9x I had to do complete setup from scratch for the Heli, but after this I was able to use different RX (same brand, stock 6ch and 8ch) and needed no adjustments.
The best way to make sure is to check.

Once both radio's are calibrated then copying a model from one to the other should work fine with no need for adjustment, but again check this before a flight.
General trouble maker and wannabee Dev

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: T9X mod to use both Flysky module and Frysky module

Post by kaos » Wed Mar 28, 2012 1:09 am

GrootWitbaas wrote:The only thing you have to watch out for is radio setup like trim and endpoints. Changing RF modules types may require some small adjustments, but in theory it should all work.
That is exactly my concern. the trim and endpoints. (only took me 100 sentences to say that. :oops: ) For a heli, that means I have to remove the whole head and redo the set up again. that is something I don't want to do. :?

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10271
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: T9X mod to use both Flysky module and Frysky module

Post by Kilrah » Wed Mar 28, 2012 7:22 pm

As long as you switch between modules that all use PPM you shouldn't see any differences. Normally what appears on the PPM in of the TX module will be found on the servo outputs of the RX unaltered.
DSM would lead to differences indeed, as the data format is different and there is some scaling to do.

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: T9X mod to use both Flysky module and Frysky module

Post by kaos » Wed Mar 28, 2012 9:48 pm

Alright. I will change module/Rx only between Frysky's and Flysky's any way. The DSM module is only for the little guys like Sbach or mcpx. (which I don't even have yet) :)
Now I can rest in piece starting my mod of my er9X/T9x to modular RF module. :)

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: T9X mod to use both Flysky module and Frysky module

Post by kaos » Sat Mar 31, 2012 6:18 am

Secured a DX4e from ebay, finally, for 39.99 shipping included. :) No more bidding this time. NO snipeswipe!

Now I really got my hands full. The more I think about it, the more it gets complicated (to me). Want the tx be able to swap among flysky, frysky, DSMX modules, and be able to run 16ch with 2RF module at the same time on one er9x and wireless trainer/simulator. wow. May be I am getting over my head now. :)

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19018
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: T9X mod to use both Flysky module and Frysky module

Post by jhsa » Sat Mar 31, 2012 9:46 am

S**t, didn't see that one. Too much beer I guess :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
cre8tiveleo
Posts: 1434
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:13 pm
Country: -
Location: Ontario,(GTA North)
Contact:

T9X mod to use both Flysky module and Frysky module

Post by cre8tiveleo » Sat Mar 31, 2012 12:19 pm

Beer.. sigh...

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: T9X mod to use both Flysky module and Frysky module

Post by kaos » Sat Mar 31, 2012 6:48 pm

Leo:
keep feeding jhsa with that 'Molson' ? beer. so I can get the stuff I need.
:mrgreen:

User avatar
cre8tiveleo
Posts: 1434
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:13 pm
Country: -
Location: Ontario,(GTA North)
Contact:

Re: T9X mod to use both Flysky module and Frysky module

Post by cre8tiveleo » Sat Mar 31, 2012 7:47 pm

I can distract him with a picture of my quad... almost ready to maiden...

Image

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19018
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: T9X mod to use both Flysky module and Frysky module

Post by jhsa » Sat Mar 31, 2012 8:50 pm

Looking very nice.. can't wait to see it fly.. I'm rebuilding mine with a stronger frame.. I hope ;)

And yeah, keep that beer coming :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Attachments
010320121667.jpg
010320121666.jpg
010320121662.jpg
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: T9X mod to use both Flysky module and Frysky module

Post by kaos » Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:31 am

Leo:
you got a deep sea crab there. Let's see it light up underwater! :mrgreen:

Jhsa: Where did you get that body? or you made it yourself? that looks nice! Certainly looks like from the Skynet. :o

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19018
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: T9X mod to use both Flysky module and Frysky module

Post by jhsa » Sun Apr 01, 2012 1:44 am

it's made out of foam.. the frame was too weak though and the craft is a little heavy with the retracts and all that.. it started doing some funny stuff in flight and then suddenly just stopped flying and I've cut the throttle.. I think the frame started to unglue.. but I'm building another one.. hopefully all the foam parts will fit the new one. so far so good..
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: T9X mod to use both Flysky module and Frysky module

Post by kaos » Tue Apr 03, 2012 8:12 pm

Looks like Frysky has changed the connector to the better ones like Kilrah has. I just got minie from HK. Here it is, same as Kilrah's.

I forgot to ask. what are those two wires and resistor doing in your Frysky module, Kilrah?
Attachments
120403-2.jpg

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10271
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: T9X mod to use both Flysky module and Frysky module

Post by Kilrah » Tue Apr 03, 2012 8:26 pm

Cool :)
Still waiting for my second set...

The cut trace, resistor and wires are my Frsky mod without level converter: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=430

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: T9X mod to use both Flysky module and Frysky module

Post by kaos » Fri Apr 06, 2012 1:06 am

hehe, received my DX4E Tx and 78M05 voltage regulator at the same time. Have 4K7 resistor on hand from my led projects. the only thing I need now seems to be the Diode 1n4001 .

Kilrah: from your pic, I see from the dx4e module the white , red, black wire goes from 1,5,6 pin to the bind button board 2,5 7 pin (counting from top of pic in that column) and the diode is soldered on the back side from 2 to 1 pin. the 4K7 goes between 2 and 5 pin. correct? the 78M50 is placed in the 3 points below the 7 pin to the right. What was in those 3 spots? anything else I see in the pic is not on the original bind pcb board that I need to get?


Post Reply

Return to “Electronic Mods”