Eepe on MAC

How to use eePe
User avatar
GrootWitbaas
Posts: 358
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:57 pm
Country: -
Location: Germany

Eepe on MAC

Post by GrootWitbaas »

Update
New version is build and passed to erazz for uploading.


This is now a installer, and will install eepe in Applications folder. Avrdude will also be installed.

If you feel at any time the eepe build is old compared to Windowzzz feel free to PM or email me


I have created a installer and it is available from Here v339

New 339 build was passed to erazz for upload to google code page.

remember to add the avrdude location in eepe ( usr/local/bin/avrdude ) it should be there already, but just in case it is not



The below instructions is outdated .... I will update ASAP

This instructions was taken from the Gruvin9x page

Mac Users

Note: this only works with X-Code 3 or earlier because qmake builds a X-Code 2 project file.
I am still looking into a solution for this, but I am no developer so it might take a wile


Mac users can install the Qt Developer stuff from here: qt-mac-cocoa-opensource-4.6.2.dmg

Then svn checkout eepe from the eepe project site.

Code: Select all

svn checkout http://eepe.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/ eepe
Under Windows and Linux, you build the eepe application like so ..

Code: Select all

cd eepe/src
qmake
make
But on the the Mac, when you run qmake, which would 'normally' create a Makefile for the build process, a Makefile is not created. Instead, and arguably even better, qmake creates an entire Xcode project structure in a directory named eepe.xcodeproj/. To build the program, open the project in Xcode, click Build and Run and you'll be all set!

Next you need AVR Dude on your mac if not already there. to test just type in a terminal avrdude and see.

if you don't have it, I'll suggest OSX-AVR (Google)


you have to add the avr location in eepe (burn / configure)
add this for avrdude location

Code: Select all

/usr/local/bin/avrdude
Enjoy eepe on mac.


Groot
General trouble maker and wannabee Dev

User avatar
GrootWitbaas
Posts: 358
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:57 pm
Country: -
Location: Germany

Re: Eepe on MAC

Post by GrootWitbaas »

Reserved

Groot
General trouble maker and wannabee Dev
User avatar
wheelspinner20
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Michigan, U.S.

Re: Eepe on MAC

Post by wheelspinner20 »

Nicely done sir, Thanks
no more quippy little latin phrases.! Its old
User avatar
erazz
9x Developer
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:25 pm
Country: -
Location: NJ-USA
Contact:

Re: Eepe on MAC

Post by erazz »

Well done!
Z

BEWARE - WE ARE IN THE AIR!!!
What goes up... Should be controlled by a 9X!
User avatar
GrootWitbaas
Posts: 358
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:57 pm
Country: -
Location: Germany

Re: Eepe on MAC

Post by GrootWitbaas »

It was only copy paste for now .... will update it some time soon(ish) :roll:
General trouble maker and wannabee Dev

User avatar
erazz
9x Developer
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:25 pm
Country: -
Location: NJ-USA
Contact:

RE: Eepe on MAC

Post by erazz »

As you can see, it's already stuck to the top.

Sent from my thingamagik. http://www.eraviv.com
Z

BEWARE - WE ARE IN THE AIR!!!
What goes up... Should be controlled by a 9X!
bertrand35
9x Developer
Posts: 2764
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 11:11 pm
Country: -

Re: Eepe on MAC

Post by bertrand35 »

Hi Groot,
Would it be possible you give a try at compiling companion9x using XCode? I don't own a MAC...
I don't use QMake, but CMake. It also has a generator for XCode.
It should be something like:

Code: Select all

cd xbuild
cmake -G XCode ../src
Thanks!
Bertrand
User avatar
GrootWitbaas
Posts: 358
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:57 pm
Country: -
Location: Germany

Re: Eepe on MAC

Post by GrootWitbaas »

Hi Bertrand,

I gave it a quick go, but ran into a problem with XercesC. I am not that good with programing, but will give it go today again. the problem it the install instructions for XercesC is clear as mud to me :)
That combined with my lack of command-line skillz makes it a nice challenge.
The alternative is if you could include a xcode build in the trunk.

Ok just got the xcode project build...opening xcode now to see if it works :)

So 1st attempt failed completely.

Time to RTFM ....following the guide on here will probably work better :)

Yes this worked for me, but it is not ideal. The nice thing is it was possible (with some small changes) to get it working.
General trouble maker and wannabee Dev
bertrand35
9x Developer
Posts: 2764
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 11:11 pm
Country: -

Re: Eepe on MAC

Post by bertrand35 »

Quote of post directly above removed by MOD

Yes Bryan made it work with MacPort but I am almost sure that the xcode way you use is better. You seemed to successfully pass the 1st problems (Xerces and xsdcxx), if you had the xcode project generated, am I right? Why do you say that 1st attempt failed completely? May I have a look to the errors?
Thanks!
Bertrand.
User avatar
GrootWitbaas
Posts: 358
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:57 pm
Country: -
Location: Germany

Re: Eepe on MAC

Post by GrootWitbaas »

It failed maybe because of how I did it, there were many errors, I will try to export the error log (not sure yet how to do this)

Creating the Xcode went fine after I made some changes in the cmake settings files. I can tell you the changes and how to get both errors I had fixed, but It may differ from user to user, and I am not that good in reading code. Basically I had to add the Mac PATH for Xerces and xsdcxx. I do not know where it gets placed on a Linux box, this info could have helped me.

I'm at work but will have a look tonight.

PS can I use in some way cmake instead of Qmake for eepe also ? this will solve the problem of having to fall back to xcode3 just to get QT to play nice with xcode. (if I run Qmake, then open the project in xcode3, save it and open in xcode4 I can use it, so the problem is qmake builds a xcode2 project file)

Learning as I go allong :?
General trouble maker and wannabee Dev
bertrand35
9x Developer
Posts: 2764
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 11:11 pm
Country: -

Re: Eepe on MAC

Post by bertrand35 »

Quote of post directly above removed by MOD

I remember that Erazz was a little bit reticent about going to CMake instead of QMake. But yes, it's really easy to go this way. Have a quick look to the CMakeLists.txt of companion9x, you will see, I think you only need to remove the link to the files that are not part of eePe!

Also please send me the changes you made, especially if it is only paths problems, I will review and add them!

Bertrand.
User avatar
GrootWitbaas
Posts: 358
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:57 pm
Country: -
Location: Germany

Re: Eepe on MAC

Post by GrootWitbaas »

Ok today from a fresh checkout, the build succeeded.
I used

Code: Select all

sudo port list XSDCXX*
to get XSDCXX in the right place, and only had to add in findXsd.cmake the following, pointing to my location of Xsd

Code: Select all

FIND_PATH( XSD_INCLUDE_DIR xsd/cxx/parser/elements.hxx
  [color=#0000FF]"/Volumes/Data/xsd-3.3.0-i686-macosx/libxsd"[/color]
  "C:/Programs/xsd-3.3.0/libxsd"
  "C:/Program Files/CodeSynthesis XSD 3.2/include"
  "C:/mingw/xsd-3.3.0-i686-windows/libxsd"
  $ENV{XSDDIR}/include
  $ENV{CODESYNTH}/include
  /usr/local/include /usr/include  
)

IF( WIN32 )
  SET( XSDCXX_FILENAME1 xsd-cxx.exe )
ELSE( )
  SET( XSDCXX_FILENAME1 xsdcxx )
  SET( XSDCXX_FILENAME2 xsd )
ENDIF( )

FIND_PROGRAM( XSDCXX_EXECUTABLE
  NAMES
    ${XSDCXX_FILENAME1} ${XSDCXX_FILENAME2}
  PATHS
   [color=#0000FF] "/Volumes/Data/xsd-3.3.0-i686-macosx/bin"[/color]
    "C:/Programs/xsd-3.3.0/bin"
    "C:/mingw/xsd-3.3.0-i686-windows/bin"  
    "C:/Program Files/CodeSynthesis XSD 3.2/bin"
    $ENV{XSDDIR}/bin
    /usr/local/bin
    /usr/bin
)
Most probably this can be avoided if I place Xsd binaries in "/usr/local/"

I still don't know how to get the warrings exported to a text file, but I have 61 warnings from xcode

Here a a list of all warnings, but not with detail. If you need detail on this please send me a pm, I'll work in the mean while to see about exporting the complete build log.

Code: Select all

LLVM GCC 4.2 Warning
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
'ModelEdit::g_eeGeneral' will be initialized after
'bool ModelEdit::redrawCurve'
When initialized here
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
'MixerDialog::ui' will be initialized after
'MixData* MixerDialog::md'
When initialized here
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
'ExpoDialog::ui' will be initialized after
'ExpoData* ExpoDialog::ed'
When initialized here
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect
In file included from /Volumes/Data/grootwitbaas/companion9xcode/trunk/src/eeprominterface.cpp
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect in /Volumes/Data/grootwitbaas/companion9xcode/trunk/src/eeprominterface.h
In file included from /Volumes/Data/grootwitbaas/companion9xcode/trunk/src/modeledit.cpp
In file included from /Volumes/Data/grootwitbaas/companion9xcode/trunk/src/modeledit.h
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect in /Volumes/Data/grootwitbaas/companion9xcode/trunk/src/eeprominterface.h
In file included from /Volumes/Data/grootwitbaas/companion9xcode/trunk/src/mixerdialog.cpp
In file included from /Volumes/Data/grootwitbaas/companion9xcode/trunk/src/mixerdialog.h
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect in /Volumes/Data/grootwitbaas/companion9xcode/trunk/src/eeprominterface.h
In file included from /Volumes/Data/grootwitbaas/companion9xcode/trunk/src/expodialog.cpp
In file included from /Volumes/Data/grootwitbaas/companion9xcode/trunk/src/expodialog.h
Right-hand operand of comma has no effect in /Volumes/Data/grootwitbaas/companion9xcode/trunk/src/eeprominterface.h
Comparison between signed and unsigned integer expressions
Comparison between signed and unsigned integer expressions
Comparison between signed and unsigned integer expressions
Comparison between signed and unsigned integer expressions
Comparison between signed and unsigned integer expressions
Comparison between signed and unsigned integer expressions
Comparison between signed and unsigned integer expressions
Comparison between signed and unsigned integer expressions
Comparison between signed and unsigned integer expressions
Comparison between signed and unsigned integer expressions
Comparison between signed and unsigned integer expressions
Comparison between signed and unsigned integer expressions
Comparison between signed and unsigned integer expressions
In file included from /Volumes/Data/grootwitbaas/companion9xcode/trunk/src/gruvin9xv4import.cpp
Comparison between signed and unsigned integer expressions in /Volumes/Data/grootwitbaas/companion9xcode/trunk/gruvin9x/gtime.cpp
Unused variable '*'
Unused variable 'n'
In file included from /Volumes/Data/grootwitbaas/companion9xcode/trunk/src/gruvin9xv4import.cpp
Unused variable 'n' in /Volumes/Data/grootwitbaas/companion9xcode/trunk/gruvin9x/rtc.cpp
Apple Mach-O Linker (ld) Warning
Directory not found for option '-L/opt/local/lib/Debug'
Semantic Issue
file://localhost/Volumes/Data/grootwitbaas/companion9xcode/trunk/src/modeledit.cpp: warning: Semantic Issue: Field 'g_eeGeneral' will be initialized after field 'redrawCurve'
grootwitbaas
PS I tried running the app on the Other (better?) Half's Mac, but it failed complaining about the Library

Code: Select all

Dyld Error Message:
  Library not loaded: /opt/local/lib/libQtGui.4.dylib
  Referenced from: /Volumes/VOLUME/companion9x.app/Contents/MacOS/companion9x
  Reason: image not found

Binary Images:
       0x10d97d000 -        0x10de92fff +companion9x (??? - ???) <177A8B64-FCFF-325E-BA2D-4C407442C251> /Volumes/VOLUME/companion9x.app/Contents/MacOS/companion9x
    0x7fff6d57d000 -     0x7fff6d5b1ac7  dyld (195.5 - ???) <4A6E2B28-C7A2-3528-ADB7-4076B9836041> /usr/lib/dyld
Groot
General trouble maker and wannabee Dev
bertrand35
9x Developer
Posts: 2764
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 11:11 pm
Country: -

Re: Eepe on MAC

Post by bertrand35 »

Wow, so you succeeded!
Now it's needed to include these Qt dynamic libs in the installation package for MAC.
But I don't know how to do that at the minute!
Bertrand.
bertrand35
9x Developer
Posts: 2764
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 11:11 pm
Country: -

Re: Eepe on MAC

Post by bertrand35 »

Here, http://code.google.com/p/sigil/wiki/BuildingFromSource they say:
The default build procedure will build "prg.app"; if you want to package that into a DMG file, invoke the makedmg build target.
Did you try to build this makedmg target?

Bertrand.
User avatar
erazz
9x Developer
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:25 pm
Country: -
Location: NJ-USA
Contact:

Re: Eepe on MAC

Post by erazz »

Uploded to the code page.

Here's the link:
http://eepe.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/eepe.dmg
Z

BEWARE - WE ARE IN THE AIR!!!
What goes up... Should be controlled by a 9X!
User avatar
GrootWitbaas
Posts: 358
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:57 pm
Country: -
Location: Germany

Re: Eepe on MAC

Post by GrootWitbaas »

Post #1 updated with new link
General trouble maker and wannabee Dev
User avatar
scroft13
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2012 11:58 pm
Country: -

Re: Eepe on MAC

Post by scroft13 »

Hey guys I'm having a little bit of an issue with the latest build. When I try and run eepe after the latest re-installing via the installer, it get the following message:

"You can't open the application eepe.app because it is not supported on this type of Mac."

What are the system requirements for eepe? I am on 10.6.8, and would love to be on 10.7, but as I have the 2 GHz Intel Core Duo I am unable to upgrade to the Mighty Lion.
I have 2 gigs ram, and have installed the avr crosspack as well as the qt-cocoa components package.

Any help would be appreciated as I really hate logging into Windows unless an absolute emergency. Thanks in advance.
User avatar
GrootWitbaas
Posts: 358
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:57 pm
Country: -
Location: Germany

Re: Eepe on MAC

Post by GrootWitbaas »

Ok I will recompile tonight, hope you can wait until then. sorry it was my mistake. for now you can get a older version here

I think I compiled only for Lion :oops: I will check again. In theory you don't need Qt or cross-pack any more, all is include in the new installer.

Groot
General trouble maker and wannabee Dev
ekill
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 8:54 pm
Country: -
Location: Sacramento, CA

Re: Eepe on MAC

Post by ekill »

Sorry for the newbie question...I just downloaded the mac version of epee and the qt4 library (not sure if qt4 libary is needed for what I'm doing). Is there any other files to obtain or drivers for the usbasp programmer for use on the Mac? I am not interested in compiling but just loading the already compiled er9x fw (at this point). I am going to be using the usbasp board from HobbyKing. I guess my question is, will this mirror the windows procedure less installing a driver?


Thanks….Earl
User avatar
GrootWitbaas
Posts: 358
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:57 pm
Country: -
Location: Germany

Re: Eepe on MAC

Post by GrootWitbaas »

more or less yes. from my tests no driver is needed, but this you can only see once the programer is connected. A link to the one you have can help, if I have one of them I can tell you.
You should not need the Qt installed any more (should work without).
The last build I did make a error in that it seems to run only on 64bit. I did not have time to rebuild for 32bit, so if you run 32bit it may not work.

/me makes note to make time to make 32bit eepe (no pun intended :D )
General trouble maker and wannabee Dev
ekill
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 8:54 pm
Country: -
Location: Sacramento, CA

Re: Eepe on MAC

Post by ekill »

Thanks for the reply. I don't have the programmer yet (on the way from HK) but here is the link:

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/stor ... duct=21321

My OSX is 10.7.2

Thanks for all the help!

Earl K.
User avatar
GrootWitbaas
Posts: 358
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:57 pm
Country: -
Location: Germany

Eepe on MAC

Post by GrootWitbaas »

Yea that looks like a standard usbasp, no drivers needed. What model mac you have? (about this mac). I'm guessing all should work. You can try running eepe (should work, and give you time to play with it)
I may have time tonight to build a new eepe and get it to erazz for uploading.


---
I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=48.930811,9.478338
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
General trouble maker and wannabee Dev
ekill
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 8:54 pm
Country: -
Location: Sacramento, CA

Re: Eepe on MAC

Post by ekill »

I am playing around with epee (mac) and it seems to work fine. Hopefully my programmer will be here this week. Attached is my iMac info. BTW I also have a Macbook running 10.5.8 but I'm hoping I will be able to use the iMac.

Earl
Attachments
About-Mac.jpg
About-Mac.jpg (25.42 KiB) Viewed 47984 times
User avatar
GrootWitbaas
Posts: 358
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:57 pm
Country: -
Location: Germany

Re: Eepe on MAC

Post by GrootWitbaas »

Yea if eepe is running all should be fine. Have fun and do post back if all works or if you need help/advice :)

PS I have compiled a new version, this should work also on 32bit system. Link is in 1st post
General trouble maker and wannabee Dev
ekill
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 8:54 pm
Country: -
Location: Sacramento, CA

Re: Eepe on MAC

Post by ekill »

Wil post results. Thanks for the assistance!

Earl
williamparker
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 12:50 pm
Country: -

Re: Eepe on MAC

Post by williamparker »

Get the warning that latest version r330 is available but when I download from google it is still r328 dated 10 Feb 2012. This is the Mac version dmg. Can someone please update? Thank you very much for the good work.
User avatar
erazz
9x Developer
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:25 pm
Country: -
Location: NJ-USA
Contact:

Re: Eepe on MAC

Post by erazz »

Automatic build is not yet working on MAC the version check is based on the other versions. Hence the problem.

We are working on an autobuild but Steve has not made things easy for us.
Z

BEWARE - WE ARE IN THE AIR!!!
What goes up... Should be controlled by a 9X!
User avatar
GrootWitbaas
Posts: 358
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:57 pm
Country: -
Location: Germany

Re: Eepe on MAC

Post by GrootWitbaas »

The curent mac build in the 1st post was done from r330, it is linked in the 1st post. ("New test build....")

Erazz may you can upload it? It was tested to work on both 32 and 64bit (the previous build of r328 failed to run on 32bit)

can you also please add the icon file into scr folder (needs to be inside src for mac build) I have uploaded it here
General trouble maker and wannabee Dev
User avatar
erazz
9x Developer
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:25 pm
Country: -
Location: NJ-USA
Contact:

Re: Eepe on MAC

Post by erazz »

Done!
Z

BEWARE - WE ARE IN THE AIR!!!
What goes up... Should be controlled by a 9X!
User avatar
Redbrickman
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 9:43 pm
Country: -

Re: Eepe on MAC

Post by Redbrickman »

GW and Erazz,

Many thanks for the new Mac version, it's made installation a breeze.

As a newbie that has not used EEPE much yet I can confirm it is now working on my imac - great...no need to fight with my old win7 laptop any more!

I've included the Mac specs in case they are useful.

Now for some serious reading. Someone kindly posted a file for my latest model the Fun Cub.

I have loaded it but need to read the EEPE guides as I can't find the flap switch in the simulator :oops:

More late nights coming up :)

Thanks again for your hard work.

UPDATE

A few problems but may be me and my ignorance of the program.

It bombed out unexpectedly a couple of times and also produced the Mac tone that you hear when a dialogue box needs attention, same sound when a program bounce on the dock for your attention.
Attachments
ID.jpg
ID.jpg (28.36 KiB) Viewed 47885 times
Maintain thine airspeed.
Lest the ground arise and smite thee!

Post Reply

Return to “eePe”