TX battery low

ersky9xr is the port of the er9x firmware to the 9XRPRO radio.
Post Reply
Suncoaster
Posts: 289
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 10:18 am
Country: Australia
Location: Cooloola Cove, Australia

TX battery low

Post by Suncoaster » Tue Mar 10, 2020 2:58 pm

I have just been asked to solve a low battery alarm on a 9xrPro. The Tx has a 3 cell LiPo battery and the voltage is showing 12.1V on the display and the low voltage alarm is set at 11.1V, but the low voltage warning is going continuously. How do I fix this. :?:


User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10562
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: TX battery low

Post by Kilrah » Tue Mar 10, 2020 3:14 pm

It's probably a voltage alarm for the model battery, not the radio's one?

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16912
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: TX battery low

Post by MikeB » Tue Mar 10, 2020 3:50 pm

If running erskyTx, then check the "Capacity Alarm" in the "Alarms" menu. The 9XR-PRO has a Tx battery current measuring device fitted, and can therefore check how much energy has been taken from the battery. If the "Capacity Alarm" is not zero, then the "low battery" alarm will sound if the mAh consumed exceeds this setting.
The amount consumed is shown on the "Battery" menu. With this displayed, pressing MENU long sets it back to zero.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Suncoaster
Posts: 289
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 10:18 am
Country: Australia
Location: Cooloola Cove, Australia

Re: TX battery low

Post by Suncoaster » Wed Mar 11, 2020 2:23 pm

Thanks Mike, that was the problem, I had forgotten about the "Battery" menu. I have reminded him to reset this when he recharges the Tx battery. :-)

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16912
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: TX battery low

Post by MikeB » Wed Mar 11, 2020 4:37 pm

I need to automate that! I already have code that detects it is likely the battery has been charged, and asks on power up if it has been charged. If it has, the the elapsed time timer is reset. I need to reset the current consumed at the same time.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!


Suncoaster
Posts: 289
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 10:18 am
Country: Australia
Location: Cooloola Cove, Australia

Re: TX battery low

Post by Suncoaster » Thu Mar 12, 2020 2:23 pm

Thanks Mike that would be great, just one less thing to not have to remember. :-)


Post Reply

Return to “ersky9xr”