What else can I upgrade in my radio?

Where to find parts? Refactoring your entire transmitter, new cases? Sticks etc..
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18890
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: What else can I upgrade in my radio?

Post by jhsa » Tue Jan 15, 2019 3:07 am

Mike, it is I2C or COM3.. I use it for bluetooth, so I cannot use I2C on my radio.. :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW


Rad
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: -

Re: What else can I upgrade in my radio?

Post by Rad » Tue Jan 15, 2019 9:50 am

Oh, thats interesting I can connect it to the 9xtreme instead of soldering to the main processor... I have to open my radio and to check what is free, Im not sure if I will be able to install it in one of those ports. I have an internal module with telemetry, not sure where I connected it, I just followed some of the tutorials here.

The encoder will take me very long time to arrive, but when I open the radio for installing the bluetooth module and the metal stand offs I will take some photos, so you can tell me if I have the ports free or not.

EDIT: I found an old photo. The radio should be like this right now.
5.jpg

Rad
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: -

Re: What else can I upgrade in my radio?

Post by Rad » Tue Jan 15, 2019 11:50 am

Jesus, I just took a look again to this image:
9-Haptic.jpg


And then to my photo and I realized I have the telemetry wire connected straight to the pin 14! This is using the multiprotocol module.
I have not tested telemetry yet (so far I have no module telemetry capable) but I guess I did something wrong, right?

EDIT: Pfew, it seems to be fine, as discussed here:
https://openrcforums.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=10428

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18890
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: What else can I upgrade in my radio?

Post by jhsa » Tue Jan 15, 2019 1:41 pm

Yeah, I think the multiprotocol module outputs 3.3V logic. at least mine do. I could be wrong about the others though :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Rad
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: -

Re: What else can I upgrade in my radio?

Post by Rad » Tue Jan 15, 2019 3:18 pm

Ok cool. So again, for making everything clear for me (Im really afraid of destroying the 9xtreme)
If I want to have telemetry in the external module (that I will do some day) It has to be connected to COM1, and that is the Frsky labeled plug, that came with the black and white wires.

For the bluetooth I have on the way, according to your diagram, I have to connect it in the pins 1, 2, 3 and 4

The thing is, how or where do I connect the encoder? Do I have to split the pins 2 or 4? Do I have to install some arduino thing in between?


User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16547
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: What else can I upgrade in my radio?

Post by MikeB » Tue Jan 15, 2019 3:53 pm

If you want to use pins 1-4 for a bluetooth module, then you can't use I2C for the encoder, and will have to connect the encoder to the processor pins (via resistors) on the original board.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18890
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: What else can I upgrade in my radio?

Post by jhsa » Tue Jan 15, 2019 4:43 pm

Mike, isn't there a way of making the BT work with i2C? perhaps a translator from serial to i2C using arduino? Then it should be possible to connect multiple devices,or, as you said, the encoder would have to connect to an arduino anyway, so could you make it possible to also connect the BT module to its RX and TX pins? Then the arduino could relay both the BT and encoder data through i2C to the 9XT??

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16547
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: What else can I upgrade in my radio?

Post by MikeB » Tue Jan 15, 2019 6:35 pm

Possible, I think I mentioned it as such quite a long time ago, but I haven't had time to progress it. It needs a protocol defined, carried over I2C to handle accessing the BT module as ersky9x would need to be able to request the baudrate to the BT module is changed.
This then means the the BT task needs to be modified to allow baudrate changes to be sent over I2C, and something configured to access the I2C to send and receive BT data as well as encoder data.
Then the code for an Arduino needs writing to handle the BT operation as well as the encoder.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18890
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: What else can I upgrade in my radio?

Post by jhsa » Tue Jan 15, 2019 9:23 pm

Thank you for the explanation and for confirming that it is possible :)

João

Sent from my BLN-L21 using Tapatalk

My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16547
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: What else can I upgrade in my radio?

Post by MikeB » Sun Jan 27, 2019 10:40 pm

I have some code running on an Arduino that could be able to provide some expansion possibilities.
Rather than use I2C, I'm using asynchronous serial. This has the advantage it will work with different radios. The Taranis has a serial port in the battery bay, AR9X and SKY boards have a serial port for bluetooth, the 9Xtreme has a serial/I2C port.
The main problem is the MEGA328 on the Arduino only has a single, hardware serial port. My new code provides a software serial port as well. By controlling a timer from the start of the start bit, and looping the timer output back to the SPI clock input, I'm able to use the (slave) SPI receive function to receive the actual data, so avoiding tricky software timing.
By defining the operation between the radio and the Arduino to operate half-duplex (only send or receive at any one time), I avoid any other timing conflicts.
If the Arduino is run at 5V, then an emitter follower on an output pin is able to supply switched power to a bluetooth module (e.g HC-05/HC-06). The Arduino is also able to provide the control signal to the BT module as well. Serial data and the enable signal will need some resistors to shift the 5V logic level down to 3.3V for the BT module.
The radio will control power, the enable signal and the baudrate as well as sending data to the BT module.
Data sent back to the radio will start with rotary encoder switch and position, and then send data from the BT module.
By using a software serial port to the radio, the Arduino is able to handle normal or inverted serial (the Taranis sends inverted serial).

I have no timescale, yet, for completion of this project. I haven't even looked at what changes will be needed on the radio.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18890
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: What else can I upgrade in my radio?

Post by jhsa » Mon Jan 28, 2019 1:31 am

Mike, if you are having problems with the m328, why not using those arduino compatible boards that come with STM chips? I think they use the same chip (or similar) as the multiprotocol module. They are faster, have more pins, and might have the other bits and pieces that you need. They are just a little bigger than the arduino nano. I have a couple. If you want I can send one your way.
This was the same type of module used on the X compatible receiver project..
Please PM me if you are interested.
Ahh, And I believe they already work on 3.3V :) Win win win.. :)

Cool project by the way. It would allow for tons of hardware possibilities.. :) Thank you.

João




My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16547
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: What else can I upgrade in my radio?

Post by MikeB » Tue Jan 29, 2019 11:03 am

I have the software serial fully working and tested on the '328, so there should be no problem to using a Pro Mini for this.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18890
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: What else can I upgrade in my radio?

Post by jhsa » Tue Jan 29, 2019 11:07 am

Great :)
Thanks

João

Edit: Did you think about the possibility of controlling a couple of the arduino pins to activate external equipment from the radio software? As it is winter, a hand heater just came to my mind. There were times I wished I had one, even if my radio was inside the hand warmer bag type of thing :)



My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Rad
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: -

Re: What else can I upgrade in my radio?

Post by Rad » Sat Feb 16, 2019 9:05 am

IMG_20190216_100256.jpg
Hi Joao, I got the bluetooth module. Seems to be a bit different, I think there is no track to cut around the EN pin. Is that correct?

Rad
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: -

Re: What else can I upgrade in my radio?

Post by Rad » Sat Feb 16, 2019 9:05 am

IMG_20190216_100314.jpg
The rest seems to be OK.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18890
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: What else can I upgrade in my radio?

Post by jhsa » Sat Feb 16, 2019 10:30 am

Hi, I am on my phone at the moment, so I can't see the pictures really.
Please let me get to my PC a bit later..

João

Sent from my BLN-L21 using Tapatalk

My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Rad
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: -

Re: What else can I upgrade in my radio?

Post by Rad » Sat Feb 16, 2019 11:37 am

No probs, when you can :)

I have a small update. I think I am almost there. I just need to know what to do with the pin 34.
IMG_20190216_123547.jpg

Rad
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: -

Re: What else can I upgrade in my radio?

Post by Rad » Sat Feb 16, 2019 12:00 pm

Ok, i connected it. Not sure how to connect it to the pc now...
IMG_20190216_125547.jpg

Rad
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: -

Re: What else can I upgrade in my radio?

Post by Rad » Sat Feb 16, 2019 12:02 pm

IMG_20190216_125803.jpg

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18890
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: What else can I upgrade in my radio?

Post by jhsa » Sat Feb 16, 2019 12:12 pm

Not so fast :) ;) I see the BT role as unknown. can you change it to master or slave?
Also, make sure that the EN pin really connects to pin 34. You might need to test it with a multimeter, or follow the tracks if you can..
I not sure But I think the track from pin 34 is on the back side of the board, and connects to the switch?? That part I can't see..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Rad
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: -

Re: What else can I upgrade in my radio?

Post by Rad » Sat Feb 16, 2019 12:41 pm

Hi, nope, I cannot change to master or slave, it stays on unknown, also when I click in configure, it does nothing.

Regarding the pin 34, I see nothing in the tutorials... Do i have to put a wire from pin 34 to EN?

Rad
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: -

Re: What else can I upgrade in my radio?

Post by Rad » Sat Feb 16, 2019 12:43 pm

Little offtopic here, I just installed standoffs in the radio. Now it is safe to open it infinite times! :)
IMG_20190216_124927.jpg

Rad
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: -

Re: What else can I upgrade in my radio?

Post by Rad » Sat Feb 16, 2019 1:17 pm

Ok, now the pin 34 is connected to the EN, and it to PA5. And now? (Black wire)
IMG_20190216_141543.jpg

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18890
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: What else can I upgrade in my radio?

Post by jhsa » Sat Feb 16, 2019 1:22 pm

make sure that EN pin does not connect anywhere else. Look for tracks going to it with a magnifying glass..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Rad
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: -

Re: What else can I upgrade in my radio?

Post by Rad » Sat Feb 16, 2019 1:47 pm

Well, it works!
I did not cut any track at the back. Not sure if needed or if the board comes without it, but now it seems it works and I can change things.

How do i connect it to the computer?
IMG_20190216_144227.jpg
EDIT: This definitelly seems to work. With the radio I found the mobile phone and viceversa!
Again, I did not cut any track in the back... Not sure how important it is...
EDIT 2: I took a closer look at the bluetooth module, and one part of the EN definitelly connects to the VCC pin
Due to I removed the switch, it seems the EN is not connected to the VCC anymore. With the small switch in place it would be another story.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18890
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: What else can I upgrade in my radio?

Post by jhsa » Sat Feb 16, 2019 4:18 pm

Rad wrote:
Sat Feb 16, 2019 1:47 pm
Well, it works!
I did not cut any track at the back. Not sure if needed or if the board comes without it, but now it seems it works and I can change things.

How do i connect it to the computer?
You will need to have bluetooth on the computer as well obviously :) Do you? ;)


Again, I did not cut any track in the back... Not sure how important it is...
EDIT 2: I took a closer look at the bluetooth module, and one part of the EN definitelly connects to the VCC pin
Due to I removed the switch, it seems the EN is not connected to the VCC anymore. With the small switch in place it would be another story.
Please check that again. I believe that is the little track I was saying that should be cut on one of my posts. You certainly do not want VCC on pin 34 and on the radio through that EN connection..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Rad
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: -

Re: What else can I upgrade in my radio?

Post by Rad » Sat Feb 16, 2019 4:35 pm

Hi, yup, computer has bluetooth, and I managed to connect the radio to the computer :) It works and rocks!

Regarding the EN, please take a look to the following attached file:
Sin título.png
EN connects to VCC following the track I painted in red. There is nothing around the EN pin. (in yellow) or I see nothing.

The thing is, where the EN pad is, at the other side of the module, was one side of the legs of the micro switch.... I connected the pin 34, where the other leg of the switch was, and that bridged to EN. The clue I think was to remove the switch.

Anyway, the module works, I managed to connect it to the computer and phone, and also the rest of the functions in the radio seem to be fine. What could happen if I short EN and VCC?

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18890
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: What else can I upgrade in my radio?

Post by jhsa » Sat Feb 16, 2019 4:43 pm

Isn't there a track between EN and VCC under that red line?
If there is, I would cut it anyway.

Nice that is working though, :)
You know that now you can configure your models live while setting them up at the computer using eepskye, right?? ;)

You will need to program a simple model on your radio so the throws will match what you do on eepskye. Will try to find it.
When you're finished, just save your model to the radio.
I wonder if eepskye could also do that? Sending models to the radio via bluetooth..
Mike?? :) ;)

João


My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Rad
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: -

Re: What else can I upgrade in my radio?

Post by Rad » Tue Mar 05, 2019 4:48 pm

Well, I just received the first of the 7 orders I did in aliexpress for the haptic. The motors have arrived.

When I ordered them I did not pay attention to the size, so I am a bit surprised and maybe dissapointed. Do you think this motors are big enough to make the radio vibrate? They look way too small.

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Best-Pr ... 4c4dACmckS
photo_2019-03-05_17-43-57.jpg
What do you think about the size?

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18890
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: What else can I upgrade in my radio?

Post by jhsa » Tue Mar 05, 2019 4:57 pm

They look like they are about the same size as mine. But mine are inside this black square thingy that actually helps glueing them to the radio enclosure. :)Image

Sent from my BLN-L21 using Tapatalk


My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW


Post Reply

Return to “Hardware Mods”