Frsky R9M

ersky9xr is the port of the er9x firmware to the 9XRPRO radio.
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16520
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Frsky R9M

Post by MikeB » Wed Nov 07, 2018 12:03 am

I think I now have all the information I need to implement the menus and control for the R9M flex firmware. I'll work on adding this over the next few days.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!


budavaril
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 9:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London

Re: Frsky R9M

Post by budavaril » Wed Nov 07, 2018 7:42 am

That's very good news. Thank you Mike.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16520
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Frsky R9M

Post by MikeB » Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:16 am

I've got something implemented, and at least the menu for selecting the operation seems to be working, although I think I'll need to do a few changes from something I've just read.
What radio are you using? I'll build a specific test version for you to try. I haven't flashed my module and Rx to flex (yet).

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

budavaril
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 9:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London

Re: Frsky R9M

Post by budavaril » Thu Nov 08, 2018 7:47 am

I have 3pcs 9XR Pro and I'm happy to testing. Thank you Mike.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16520
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Frsky R9M

Post by MikeB » Thu Nov 08, 2018 5:06 pm

Test version for 9XR-PRO posted.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!


budavaril
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 9:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London

Re: Frsky R9M

Post by budavaril » Thu Nov 08, 2018 5:21 pm

Thank you Mike. I just going to home after 9pm, but will flash that and try.

budavaril
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 9:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London

Re: Frsky R9M

Post by budavaril » Fri Nov 09, 2018 1:35 am

Hi Mike,
So I just did the quick check and looks working all function what we expected.
The main results:

1. Frequency synchronizing between TX and RX :
When select another frequency in the menu (example change from 915MHz to 868MHz) , than should "rebinding" the TX/RX, because that's how the receiver know which band (868 or 915MHz) should "watching" and connecting.
So if just change the frequency in the menu the connection will lost. (actually from extremely close distance like 5-10cm some times still can connecting, but that very unstable)

2. Menu->Frequency: ("Flex mode"):
Both 868MHz and 915MHz working . The third position "off" (which is I think normally for non-flex firmwares) adjust the flex firmware same as 915MHz.
If the receiver once binded on 915MHz the connection if selected "off" will still alive.
If binded on 868MHz connection will lost in both "915MHz" or "OFF" position.
If binded in "Off" position working same as binded on "915MHz".

3. Menu-> Country:
Each (4) power levels looks same on both frequencies (include the 4th: 1-1000mW auto variable) .
So if we using (and select) flex firmware the "Country: Ame/Jap/Eur" menu I think no longer necessary and could be inactive.

On the weekend I planning to do more tests, also if the weather let me may I will do some range tests too and compare the two different frequencies.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16520
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Frsky R9M

Post by MikeB » Fri Nov 09, 2018 10:01 am

Please remember that 915MHz is not legal in the UK.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

budavaril
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 9:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London

Re: Frsky R9M

Post by budavaril » Fri Nov 09, 2018 10:45 am

Yeah I know that. Anyway because in the U.K. that frequency used by another purposes, over of the legal/illegal reason our signal could be interfered and we can loose control of the model. So better buy a power meter and measuring the signal or just believe the power levels are exactly same..


User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18849
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Frsky R9M

Post by jhsa » Fri Nov 09, 2018 4:00 pm

The problem is that your radio which is not transmitting legally will be interfering with other LEGAL equipment around you.. :)
The power level doesn't matter as it is forbidden to transmit on that frequency, even if only a couple mW :)
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

lancaster
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 10:28 pm
Country: United Kingdom

Re: Frsky R9M

Post by lancaster » Mon Nov 12, 2018 11:44 pm

MikeB wrote:
Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:16 am
I've got something implemented, and at least the menu for selecting the operation seems to be working, although I think I'll need to do a few changes from something I've just read.
What radio are you using? I'll build a specific test version for you to try. I haven't flashed my module and Rx to flex (yet).

Mike
Thanks for working on the flex firmware
Looking forward to using it on the 9Xtreme
I'm using R222c at the moment with the R9M module
regards Hans

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16520
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Frsky R9M

Post by MikeB » Tue Nov 13, 2018 11:33 pm

I have posted r222 c9, which supports the R9M flex firmware on most radios.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18849
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Frsky R9M

Post by jhsa » Tue Nov 13, 2018 11:38 pm

Thanks Mike

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

lancaster
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 10:28 pm
Country: United Kingdom

Re: Frsky R9M

Post by lancaster » Wed Nov 14, 2018 11:42 am

MikeB wrote:
Tue Nov 13, 2018 11:33 pm
I have posted r222 c9, which supports the R9M flex firmware on most radios.

Mike
Mike, I really appreciate your hard work, you keep the hobby moving forward
Downloading R222 c9 to test now!
regards
Hans

bobburito
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 3:40 pm
Country: -

Re: Frsky R9M

Post by bobburito » Sun Dec 23, 2018 3:43 pm

is there any voltage issues? the r9 voltage is awfully close to a peak 3s lipo or is nobody have any problems with that

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16520
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Frsky R9M

Post by MikeB » Sun Dec 23, 2018 4:47 pm

From the SPec. on the FrSky site:
"Vin Voltage Range:4V-12.6V
External Power Supply: 4V~12V (2s Li-Battery is recommended )
(*3s Li-Battery is not recommended as external power supply, or it will damage)"
So OK on 3S LiPo if internal, but NOT if external.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

drnayeem
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2018 9:48 am
Country: -

Re: Frsky R9M

Post by drnayeem » Tue Dec 25, 2018 9:55 am

hello

A newbie here have been trying to get R9M work on my 9xr Pro
But the open TX version doesn't support flashing of the module or RX firm ware by the TX.
Is it possible to do that in ERSky9x?
Kindly enlighten

Regards
Doc

agarabaghi
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 8:42 pm
Country: -

Re: Frsky R9M

Post by agarabaghi » Sat Dec 29, 2018 2:32 am

is there a bin file to flash my 9xrpro to r222 i am currently on r221 and wanted to update to the newest version to test the r9m? Am i on the rigfht track?

budavaril
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 9:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London

Re: Frsky R9M

Post by budavaril » Sat Dec 29, 2018 9:48 am

Yes, r222d2 in test versions what you need.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18849
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Frsky R9M

Post by jhsa » Sat Dec 29, 2018 1:42 pm

My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

agarabaghi
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 8:42 pm
Country: -

Re: Frsky R9M

Post by agarabaghi » Sun Dec 30, 2018 3:36 am

man this was amazingly simple.

Upgrade my tx (which i havent done since 2016).

Bought the r9m with the r9 mm module...

hooked it up, binded, done.

Thank you all!

drnayeem
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2018 9:48 am
Country: -

Re: Frsky R9M

Post by drnayeem » Mon Jan 14, 2019 3:53 am

Hi
Really appreciate your hard work and efforts ... Kudo
I recently shifted to ersky9x rd for flex on r9m but now am not able to bind on to any receivers of DJT module have kept the protocol to ppm but doesn't
Could you please help me out
Regards
Dr Nayeem


Sent from my RMX1805 using Tapatalk


User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16520
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Frsky R9M

Post by MikeB » Mon Jan 14, 2019 11:18 pm

Works OK for me, I just tested a DJT module in my 9XR-PRO.
To confirm the bind process when using a DJT, you power the Tx on while pressing the bind button on the DJT and power the Rx on while pressing the bind button on the Rx. The Rx should then bind. You then need to power both Tx and Rx off then power both on normally, with the Tx protocol for the external module set to PPM.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

drnayeem
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2018 9:48 am
Country: -

Re: RE: Re: Frsky R9M

Post by drnayeem » Tue Jan 15, 2019 2:17 am

MikeB wrote:Works OK for me, I just tested a DJT module in my 9XR-PRO.
To confirm the bind process when using a DJT, you power the Tx on while pressing the bind button on the DJT and power the Rx on while pressing the bind button on the Rx. The Rx should then bind. You then need to power both Tx and Rx off then power both on normally, with the Tx protocol for the external module set to PPM.

Mike
Thanks for a prompt reply Mike
Did the same ....
But will try again

Thanks
Regards
Doc

Sent from my RMX1805 using Tapatalk


User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16520
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Frsky R9M

Post by MikeB » Tue Jan 15, 2019 9:38 am

The actual bind process is only between the DJT and the Rx, it does not depend on the radio firmware. I just tested with the external module set to OFF (when ersky9x doesn't send anything to the module), and the bind completed correctly. When I re-powered everything, then set the external module to PPM I had full control.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

spinorkit
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2017 12:21 am
Country: New Zealand

Re: Frsky R9M

Post by spinorkit » Mon Jan 21, 2019 9:35 am

Dumb question here.
I have a 9XR-Pro and am thinking of buying a RM9, but I can't find a description of how to update the RM9 module firmware (if needed, say to the flex version) without using a Taranis.
Does the r222d2 ersky9x version support flashing the RM9 via the 9XR-Pro SD card, or do I need to use another method such as an FTDI connection to a PC?
I currently have a FrUSB-3 upgrade cable, is a FrSky STK needed?

Many thanks,
Kit

budavaril
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2016 9:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: London

Re: RE: Re: Frsky R9M

Post by budavaril » Mon Jan 21, 2019 10:09 am

spinorkit wrote:Dumb question here.
I have a 9XR-Pro and am thinking of buying a RM9, but I can't find a description of how to update the RM9 module firmware (say to the flex version) without using a Taranis.
Does the r222d2 ersky9x version support flashing the RM9 via the 9XR-Pro SD card, or do I need to use another method such as an FTDI connection to a PC?

Many thanks,
Kit
I used my 9XR Pro to upgrade the firmware
But SHOULD using a voltage regulator when you connect your receiver to the radio bay. I used a simple 5V regulator for that.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16520
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Frsky R9M

Post by MikeB » Mon Jan 21, 2019 10:34 am

The 9XR-PRO is able to update modules and receivers/SPort devices, from the SD card, using the module bay.
Be aware, for receivers/SPort devices, the pins are in the wrong order and you need to use a cable that swaps power and ground.
In any case, it is necessary to get to the "Finding Device" stage before power is supplied to the unit you wish to flash. For receivers/SPort devices, this is most easily achieved by connecting just ground and signal to the unit from the radio and supplying power via a separate supply you can switch on at the required time.
For a module, an easy way of switching the power is to switch on the radio (in maintenance mode for ersky9x), then plug in a 3.5mm jack plug into the trainer socket and switch the power switch off. This will keep the radio powered, but not the module. When you get to the "Finding Device" stage, just switch the power on to power the module.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

spinorkit
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2017 12:21 am
Country: New Zealand

Re: Frsky R9M

Post by spinorkit » Mon Jan 21, 2019 10:49 am

That's great!
Many thanks for this very helpful description,

Kit

drnayeem
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2018 9:48 am
Country: -

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: Frsky R9M

Post by drnayeem » Fri Feb 08, 2019 3:12 am

budavaril wrote:
spinorkit wrote:Dumb question here.
I have a 9XR-Pro and am thinking of buying a RM9, but I can't find a description of how to update the RM9 module firmware (say to the flex version) without using a Taranis.
Does the r222d2 ersky9x version support flashing the RM9 via the 9XR-Pro SD card, or do I need to use another method such as an FTDI connection to a PC?

Many thanks,
Kit
I used my 9XR Pro to upgrade the firmware
But SHOULD using a voltage regulator when you connect your receiver to the radio bay. I used a simple 5V regulator for that.
That's great ,
But there is no option in the menu , ' Flash external device' as expected, all I get is copy and delete when I access files from the sd card ...
Help !

Regards

Sent from my RMX1805 using Tapatalk



Post Reply

Return to “ersky9xr”