Orange Module running MULTI protocol

Choosing an RF Module? What modules work? What is compatible with the 9x?
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16623
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Orange Module running MULTI protocol

Post by MikeB » Sun Sep 10, 2017 12:19 am

I just knew that question was coming :mrgreen:
Not much to describe really. You use the "Update Multi" option.
Connections from the module bay are:
Top pin (Tx from radio) to Rx on Pro Mini.
Third pin (power) to RAW on Pro Mini.
Fourth pin (Gnd) to GND on Pro Mini.
Bottom pin (Rx on radio) to Tx on Pro Mini.

The only 'problem' is the radio doesn't automatically reset the Pro Mini at the start of flashing (although your power switch may work instead). If the power is not switched, you need to press the reset button on the Pro Mini, just before you press MENU LONG to start the flashing. I found it worked best if I pressed MENU and held it in, then pressed and released the reset button, then released the MENU button.

But, you will need the timeout fix I have just added but not yet posted.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!


User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19043
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Orange Module running MULTI protocol

Post by jhsa » Sun Sep 10, 2017 12:25 am

Thanks, that sounds easy..
What about my radios that have the modules switched by detecting a signal? will I have to press the reset button, or will it work without?

Thank you

João

EDIT: what about flashing over BT??
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16623
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Orange Module running MULTI protocol

Post by MikeB » Sun Sep 10, 2017 3:28 pm

As I said "(although your power switch may work instead)" ;)

I assume you mean could you use the COM port on your PC that connects to the BT module as the programming port from the Arduino IDE.
Maintenance mode doesn't the BT module running.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
ShowMaster
Posts: 4327
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:44 am
Country: -
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

Re: Orange Module running MULTI protocol

Post by ShowMaster » Sun Sep 10, 2017 3:55 pm

I'm reading and watching the progress.
I have the pro mini loaded with the bootloader, but have a new one (3.3 & 5v) I can try it for the experience.
I've never used the ftdi as it arrived after I used my uno pro board in its place.

Doing it all with my pro does make it simpler. Seems easy enough!

Flash modes in the maintenance menu?
I do need one more clarification please.
When will I want to use the
"update Xmega" mode?
I thought it was to flash the bootloader, but mixed that all up in the beginning and avoided it I think by using the uno to flash the pro mini.

Basically, what are the two choices for, and when to use them?


Update Xmega
Update Multi




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16623
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Orange Module running MULTI protocol

Post by MikeB » Sun Sep 10, 2017 6:04 pm

You only need "Update Xmega" when you don't have the bootloader on the module, and are trying to flash the application using the PDI programming interface.
I did that first, but now it is not really needed, unless you don't have a Pro Mini to be able to flash the bootloader.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!


User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19043
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Orange Module running MULTI protocol

Post by jhsa » Sun Sep 10, 2017 7:33 pm

remove it??? :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
ShowMaster
Posts: 4327
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:44 am
Country: -
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

Re: Orange Module running MULTI protocol

Post by ShowMaster » Sun Sep 10, 2017 8:28 pm

Good answers from you both.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

User avatar
ShowMaster
Posts: 4327
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:44 am
Country: -
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

Re: Orange Module running MULTI protocol

Post by ShowMaster » Sun Sep 10, 2017 8:46 pm

Where I got confused in the beginning, was thinking I had to use both the pro mini and the update Xmega not realizing that the process had been improved to use only the pro mini.
Once that was cleared up it was easy.
Maybe put the update in a sub Maint menu in case it is needed rather that fully remove it?
That is unless it really won't be needed?
It's looking like not needing a ftdi programmer but using a inexpensive pro mini is really streamlining the process.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

User avatar
ShowMaster
Posts: 4327
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:44 am
Country: -
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

Re: Orange Module running MULTI protocol

Post by ShowMaster » Tue Sep 12, 2017 3:08 am

I've got an interesting situation to post. When I met with my friend last week at the field, I test flew with him a already test flown multi conversation module installed in his pro (fw221). We used my umx Pitts and his bound and it flew great.
I sent his pro home with him still setup on the same model mix and multi module. Today he tried to bind it to his new umx Pitts and reported it wouldn't?
After some time on the phone, I discovered he apparently selected a new model mix to try and also changed some of the settings in the original mix.
Enough that the module led wasn't lighting up.
After walking him thru a new setup to match mine that I used, it came up that he was still thinking he had to push the module buttons at power up, so did!
I'm thinking that was something I missed warning him not to.
In and case he pushed them again and then the he said module led came on.

Still the umx Pitts wouldn't bind?
I know the buttons still do something but what and when I don't think we fully explored.

We have a meet up this week to try our umx planes as well as pro's with his and my multi conversion to sort this out.

I'm assuming it's either a pro menu issue or a module issue due to a button push?

I'm just posting what I know to get some ideas on what can go wrong so I can undo or prevent it from happening if I flash another flyers module.
Certainly cover to not push the module butting now!
Again, this tx and module was used to bind to and fly my plane as proof it was working.








Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19043
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Orange Module running MULTI protocol

Post by jhsa » Tue Sep 12, 2017 5:04 am

Why don't you download your model onto eepskye and send it to him? Like that you would eliminate (or not) his programming as the problem..

João

Sent from my thor using Tapatalk

My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
ShowMaster
Posts: 4327
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:44 am
Country: -
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

Re: Orange Module running MULTI protocol

Post by ShowMaster » Tue Sep 12, 2017 7:37 am

Good idea. I'm not sure he can deal with loading it?
At this point I'm planning on meeting him at the RC field in 2 days to see what's going on. He's bringing his pro, module, and umx Pitts. I'm bringing my computer loaded up with eepe and eepskye, my pro and a module I know is working.
I'll give him some lessons on saving and loading eepe files.

The answer I hope Mike can provide, is was he able to mess up the modules fw by powering on the pro with the bind button pushed. That and pushing any of the buttons when powered?
I'm thinking that was going on a few times.
If it can effect the fw, that will have to be made clear to the end user.

I'm sure nothing's permanently damaged.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16623
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Orange Module running MULTI protocol

Post by MikeB » Tue Sep 12, 2017 9:08 am

Pressing the BIND button at power on forces the module to stay in the bootloader, that is all it does now. Clearly while in the bootloader, the module won't bind or control a model. The firmware should be OK.

Check he is using the EXTERNAL module settings.
Check if the module firmware data is displayed on the PROTOCOL menu.
Check the "Proto" is set to MULTI (not DSM), the "Protocol" is set to DSM, and then, for binding, set the "Type" to AUTO.
When binding the firmware relies on receiving the bind result back in the radio to set the Type and channel count. This won't happen if the module firmware data isn't present as it uses the same data path.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
ShowMaster
Posts: 4327
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:44 am
Country: -
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

Re: Orange Module running MULTI protocol

Post by ShowMaster » Tue Sep 12, 2017 3:19 pm

Thanks Mike. So no permanent module fw issue if the buttons are pushed. Does recycling power return the module to its normal mode?
After I think a power cycle, he was seeing the external multi mode option.
I know this module and pro worked when I left it with him. We flew my Pitts with it.
He did see finally the multi mode menu option as I tried walking him thru the setup and bind steps.
One thing that you asked me and I asked him, was did he see the version displayed on I think the bind line. He said no.
That as remember is showing that the telemetry isn't being returned?

He was trying
Multi, Dsm, Auto, No auto bind, Bind
I also had him try
Multi, Dsm dsmx-22, No auto bind, Bind.
All of this is telling me pilot error, but I'll know in 28 hours or so. Fortunately I have a second good to go setup I can use to get him flying.
I just remembered that
He did volunteer the fact that his 9v life04 battery died while his pro was on and it was making a screeching sound with no screen display.

Could anymore things go wrong with helping a friend ha ha.
To be continued.





Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

User avatar
ShowMaster
Posts: 4327
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:44 am
Country: -
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

Re: Orange Module running MULTI protocol

Post by ShowMaster » Tue Sep 12, 2017 3:27 pm

I'll keep this post to the point.
Does ersky9x support the IRangeX multi module?
Does open tx support the orange multi dsm flashed module?
I'm sure these will be swapped around.
In my case my pro, Xtreme, and Skyboard conversions will stay with the latest ersky9x.
For the opentx frsky users, I'd like to demo the orange multi as an option. Especially if they own one and it won't work with their umx receiver planes.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

User avatar
ShowMaster
Posts: 4327
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:44 am
Country: -
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

Orange Module running MULTI protocol

Post by ShowMaster » Tue Sep 12, 2017 3:27 pm

I'll keep this post to the point.
Does ersky9x support the IRangeX multi module?
Does open tx support the orange multi dsm flashed module?
I'm sure these will be swapped around.
In my case my pro, 9Xtreme, and Skyboard conversions will stay with the latest ersky9x.
For the opentx frsky users, I'd like to demo the orange multi as an option. Especially if they own one and it won't work with their umx receiver planes.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16623
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Orange Module running MULTI protocol

Post by MikeB » Tue Sep 12, 2017 3:36 pm

I think you need openTx 2.2 to get support for the Multi protocol.
From the protocol point of view, the IRangX and the Orange (flashed with Multi) should be the same and both work in all the Txs.
I have a STM module (not the IRangeX one) and that works the same. I even wrote a bootloader for the STM module so it may be updated from the radio.
I don't think openTx supports flashing the modules.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
ShowMaster
Posts: 4327
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:44 am
Country: -
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

Re: Orange Module running MULTI protocol

Post by ShowMaster » Tue Sep 12, 2017 4:56 pm

Yes on otx 2.2.
Ok on using either module with the proper tx fw.
No hardware issues module bay wise, just fw on the tx.
Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

User avatar
ShowMaster
Posts: 4327
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:44 am
Country: -
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

Orange Module running MULTI protocol

Post by ShowMaster » Wed Sep 13, 2017 6:19 pm

Multi module not binding after a power on with back button pushed issue solved.
It was the module and trying I couldn't get it to light the led at power on anymore.
In my pro I still have the blue multi hex file.
So I tried this and it worked. Holding the trims tabs out, and while pushing the rear module button I powered on into the Maint mode.
I selected update multi, changed to hex, and then selected the multi blue hex file and update. The progress bar came up, progressed and no errors.
A power off and on and now the rear green led came on.
Now it binds again and flew his new umx Pitts with rssi, just fine.
Whew!
So this should be added to the FYI list.
Especially if you do this for a friend who pushes the rear module buttons.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

User avatar
ShowMaster
Posts: 4327
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:44 am
Country: -
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

Re: Orange Module running MULTI protocol

Post by ShowMaster » Tue Sep 19, 2017 2:53 pm

My friend just thanked me again for making his orange module work with his umx Pitts. He's having a lot of fun and no control issues at his local flying spot.
Thank you again Mike for making it possible.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Smoke47
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue May 23, 2017 4:34 pm
Country: United States
Location: Edenton, NC

Flaps on DH Beaver with Open TX

Post by Smoke47 » Tue Oct 03, 2017 8:16 pm

Bought a Flyzone DH Beaver coupled with an OrangeRX 3-­‐Axis Flight StabilizerV3 Receiver. Using an OrangeRX DSMX DSM2 2.4Ghz external transmitter Module with my Taranis Plus. I use Open TX, version 2.2. I am just not able to get the flaps to function. I bench tested the flap servo and all is well. Can anyone tell me what channel to put the flaps on with the OrangeRx?....and what inputs and mixes I need for a 3 channel switch on the Taranis for the flaps? I have the internal module off, external module set to PPM, and all other flight controls work normally. Flaps are on a Y harness to a single servo.Any help much appreciated!
Smoke

Smoke47
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue May 23, 2017 4:34 pm
Country: United States
Location: Edenton, NC

Re: Orange Module running MULTI protocol

Post by Smoke47 » Wed Oct 04, 2017 12:28 pm

Apologies! I guess this forum is only for Er9x...not OpenTx. I also run Er9x, so a reply with regard to Er9X also appreciated!
Smoke

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 2138
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: Orange Module running MULTI protocol

Post by bob195558 » Wed Oct 04, 2017 1:44 pm

Smoke47 wrote:
Wed Oct 04, 2017 12:28 pm
Apologies! I guess this forum is only for Er9x...not OpenTx.
No, it is for both, I think the helpers that know opentx better sometimes need more time to answer. ;)
er9x and erSky9x helper maybe be faster most of the time ! :D :mrgreen: ;)

Bob B.
Er9x on 9x radio, with Smartieparts Programmer and TelemetrEZ Board.
ErSky9x on Taranis, Sky9x, 9Xtreme radios.

3D Printing upgrades with (CR10 3D Printer): (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=85).

User avatar
ShowMaster
Posts: 4327
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:44 am
Country: -
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

Orange Module running MULTI protocol

Post by ShowMaster » Wed Oct 04, 2017 3:57 pm

To be clear, you have assigned a switch to ch 5, in the input or for sure the mixer menu?
Not having a receiver with a servo handy, this is what I did on the tx with otx2.2.
On my Qx7 I
Selected mixer and highlighted ch5 and selected it.
It assigns that channel and took me to a setup menu for ch 5. I’m assuming you want to use ch 5 for flaps?
In that menu I scrolled down to source and selected ch5. It started blinking and I just picked a switch and flipped it and it was automatically selected for me.
I picked S2 a 3 pos switch and the menu shows I have -100 center- +100.
That should make a servo go to one end, center, and the other end when flipped.
Setting the weights (throws) is another post.
A eepe file or screen shot of your Mixer showing channel assignments for ch 5 or higher will help also.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

User avatar
ShowMaster
Posts: 4327
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:44 am
Country: -
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

Orange Module running MULTI protocol

Post by ShowMaster » Sat Oct 07, 2017 1:58 am

Well Mike, I again need some guidance. This time on a green orange module.

Being very very careful this time, but with a green board, I’m getting a multi green .hex failed error.

My setup.
First I added the missing R1 and R13 100 ohm resistors, 101. See pictures below.
Using the same pro mini loaded with the PDI sketch I used on the blue board (2), I connected it to the 4 pads shown in your green board pinout. I used a 4 pin male header with its pins bent to just insert into the plated holes.
I didn’t take a picture of them, but the match the vcc, gnd, clk, and data shown in your pinout and match to my Pro Mini.
The pro mini was powered by the 3.3v and ground pins on the module and your pinout.
The module was powered by 4AA into just the module + (3) and - (4)pins only counting from the top.
When the module was powered, the pro mini paused and then led started flashing about 1 pulse per second.
That would seem to indicate that the flash went well.
I then replaced the green board back into its case and plugged it ngo my 9xr Pro I’ve been using.
I then loaded the orange multi green .hex file into the sd cards firmware folder.
I turned the 9xr pro on with the bottom trims out and got into the Maint mode.
I selected flash multi and changed the .bin option to .hex. Then selected the multi green .hex file and tried a flash. It paused and I got a failed displayed.
I had another green board from gnd beta tests and it has the resistors, so I tried that board with the same results?
At this point I’m hoping I missed a step?
I’m 100% sure I powered the module (6v)and mini pro (3.3v)correctly. The one second flash on the mini seems correct.
One thing I do notice is there’s no led action at all on the module after the bootloader was flashed when inserted and powered in the 9xr pro. Same sigh a failed .hex flash?
I do see the external module is set to on. In fact, I just removed my working blue board module and installed the green one to flash.

Image


Image




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

User avatar
ShowMaster
Posts: 4327
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:44 am
Country: -
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

Re: Orange Module running MULTI protocol

Post by ShowMaster » Sat Oct 07, 2017 4:50 am

Mike, Is it possible R1 and R13 being 100 ohms is the issue? I see reading the first posts, you suggest a short or 10 ohms as a value.
I believe we discussed in some post that 10 ohms would be a safer value than a short.
My beta green board has 100 ohms also.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16623
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Orange Module running MULTI protocol

Post by MikeB » Sat Oct 07, 2017 8:56 am

Try setting the Invert COM to yes.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
ShowMaster
Posts: 4327
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:44 am
Country: -
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

Re: Orange Module running MULTI protocol

Post by ShowMaster » Sat Oct 07, 2017 3:25 pm

Sadly setting com to yes didn’t work.

Being this is my first green board ( and beta) that’s not working, is it still possible the resistors are the issue?
I’m assuming but haven’t verified it, that the connection to module pin 5 is the programming path that the resistor R1 or 13 completes, unlike the added wire on the blue board.
If I got the 1 second mini led flash, I’m assuming the bootloader was actually flashed successfully.
I actually on the second module, had one of the 4 pins not making contact and got the rapid led flash. Powering off and making a good connection the second time, I got the 1 second flash as expected.
Finally, is it possible the green .hex files name is too long?
Both the blue .hex and the green, came from the same .zip file you had me use for the blue board.



Image

Image

Image



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16623
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Orange Module running MULTI protocol

Post by MikeB » Sat Oct 07, 2017 9:41 pm

I'm going to guess that when you flashed the bootloader, the processor wasn't locked, so the whole chip wasn't erased. THis means that while you have the bootloader present, it is finding an application still available to run, so runs it (this is the original code). Since this code doesn't know about the bootloader, it doesn't respond.
Try holding the bind button pressed at power on to force the bootloader to stay running. A bit of a juggle to hold both trims and the button and then switch on!
If you have trouble doing that, just power on holding the bind button, then go to the RADIO SETUP|General menu. The last item is "Run Maintenance", which causes a reboot into maintenance mode.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
ShowMaster
Posts: 4327
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:44 am
Country: -
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

Re: Orange Module running MULTI protocol

Post by ShowMaster » Sat Oct 07, 2017 10:27 pm

Out flying all day but you had me do that once before. Big hands so I’ll mske it work later tonight.
Great if it’s that simple!
Thanks as always for the fast reply Mike.

User avatar
ShowMaster
Posts: 4327
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:44 am
Country: -
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

Re: Orange Module running MULTI protocol

Post by ShowMaster » Sun Oct 08, 2017 3:31 pm

I used option # 2 and success!
Strange however is it showed failed the first time so I tried the invert and non invert option. What ever I did right, suddenly the last attempt, flash bar started to move and it was successful.
I don’t think I was in the invert mode.
A bind test to my umx Pitts with the dsm detection set to auto as a real test, first successful detected dsmx 22 and then the final fully bound condition.
Now I can give my friend his actual newly purchased orange module instead of my loaner. He’s thinking it’s newer so better.
I’ll fly it first so I can sign off on it.

I’ll try this “fix” on the green beta board tonight. Late for a club event now but I wanted to let you know you solved it!

I wonder why the processor didn’t fully erase?
I’ll add this last step to my notes.








Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro


Post Reply

Return to “RF MODULES”