9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

erskyTx runs on many radios and upgrade boards
ersky9x was a port of er9x for use on the sky9x board.
efbe
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 10:05 am
Country: -

9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Post by efbe » Thu Apr 21, 2016 2:20 pm

I don't know what to do anymore, maybe You can put me in the right direction.
After successfully installing 9Xtreme, I run in some problem.
(FW:V.3531-Mike ersky9x-r218)

Everything worked and I could switch to my Assan X8J Tx module.
So I started to play around with the different settings
Then with the FrSky DJT Tx module the servo's didn't react anymore.
I seem to have binding with the FrSky DJT Tx module and for example the FrSky D8R -XP and D8R-II Plus Rx modules.
But the servo's don't react, wich they did before without any problem.
As the Assan X8JTx stil worked, I thought that maybe the FrSky DJT module was faulty, and I ordered an other one.
But after installing, I have the same result, the servo's don't react, but Telemetry works.
Is there some parameter that could cause this, which I mistakenly could have changed ?
I hope You can give me some tips....

And another thing, is there already an updated version of the eePskye, there are some changes,
like in voice, no voice "numbers" but voice "names'
And what are "Default Model Version" in the eePskye Preferences ?
Thanks,
efbe


User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16612
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Post by MikeB » Thu Apr 21, 2016 4:28 pm

Release versions are at: http://www.er9x.com/.
Latest test versions are here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=4676 (both ersky9x and eepskye).

With the DJT, try creating a new model, check the protocol is PPM and see if you get any servo response.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

efbe
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 10:05 am
Country: -

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Post by efbe » Fri Apr 22, 2016 8:50 am

Mike,
Thanks for looking at the problem,
Both Internal and External are ON with following parameters.

Proto PPM 8CH 300uSec
PPM FrLen 22.5Sec
1st Chan 1
Polarity POS

Fred

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19036
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Post by jhsa » Fri Apr 22, 2016 9:00 am

Can you please confirm again that your Assan module works? Try it again please. DO NOT CHANGE MODULES WHEN THE RADIO IS ON. Turn it off before you remove or insert an RF module.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

efbe
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 10:05 am
Country: -

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Post by efbe » Fri Apr 22, 2016 9:21 am

Yes,

I just tried again.

Fred


User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16612
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Post by MikeB » Fri Apr 22, 2016 11:50 am

You said "Everything worked and I could switch to my Assan X8J Tx module", does this mean the DJT did work at that time?
I assume the DJT worked OK before you upgraded to the 9Xtreme.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19036
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Post by jhsa » Fri Apr 22, 2016 12:16 pm

efbe wrote:Yes,

I just tried again.

Fred
Fred, please remove the module, and post a good picture from your module bay.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

efbe
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 10:05 am
Country: -

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Post by efbe » Fri Apr 22, 2016 12:19 pm

You said "Everything worked and I could switch to my Assan X8J Tx module", does this mean the DJT did work at that time?

Yes
I assume the DJT worked OK before you upgraded to the 9Xtreme
Yes, and also after the upgrade to 9xtreme.

I then started to bind different Rx's, and at some point I hat the servo problem.
Because the Assan still worked, I thought that maybe the DJT was faulty.
I ordered a new one, but the problem is still the same.
The binding seems OK, I have Telemetry (A1 internal).
If I disconnect battery on the Rx, I get the "No Telemetry Voice".
If I disconnect the white/black wires on the Tx, I get the "No Telemetry Voice".
Fred

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10278
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Post by Kilrah » Fri Apr 22, 2016 12:58 pm

You did trim the plastic around the pins in the radio's module compartment and do make sure the module is fully inserted, right?

efbe
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 10:05 am
Country: -

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Post by efbe » Fri Apr 22, 2016 1:03 pm

Yes,
The 2 DJT modules are trimmed, other wise the don't snap-in.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19036
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Post by jhsa » Fri Apr 22, 2016 1:07 pm

You trimmed the modules? :o
Normally we cut the plastic around th pins in the module bay.. It could be that your modules are still not making contact with all thr pins..
That is why I asked for the picture by the way.. ;) :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10278
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Post by Kilrah » Fri Apr 22, 2016 1:53 pm

+1. Trimming the module is not a proper solution.

efbe
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 10:05 am
Country: -

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Post by efbe » Fri Apr 22, 2016 2:39 pm

Trimmed, cutting ....just semantics. :D

I CUTTED the opening on the backside of the DJT modules.
They "snap" in the module bay.
But this can not be the issue, module A, worked before, both with SmartieParts 9x Programmer and the 9Xtreme.
(picture added)

Fred
Attachments
DJT.jpg

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19036
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Post by jhsa » Fri Apr 22, 2016 3:31 pm

What are the settings of the protocol menu when you use the Assan module, and what are your settings for the DJT?
Are both PPM?
Are you testing with the same model?
Are you testing with servos connected to the receivers, or flight controllers?
When you go to main screen that shows the channel outputs as bars, do they move when you move the sticks?

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

efbe
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 10:05 am
Country: -

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Post by efbe » Fri Apr 22, 2016 3:54 pm

What are the settings of the protocol menu when you use the Assan module, and what are your settings for the DJT?
Are both PPM?

Both
Proto PPM 8CH 300uSec
PPM FrLen 22.5Sec
1st Chan 1
Polarity POS
Are you testing with the same model?
Tested with al my Recievers and four servo's
Are you testing with servos connected to the receivers, or flight controllers?
to Receiver
When you go to main screen that shows the channel outputs as bars, do they move when you move the sticks?
YES

Fred

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10278
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Post by Kilrah » Fri Apr 22, 2016 3:55 pm

If we tell you that cutting the module isn't good enough it's because we know it's been a source of issues in the past. So please listen to the advice you ask for...
The shroud around the pins still doesn't leave enough length to ensure a reliable connection. Might work or not depending on pressure and how it's been wiggled.

Envoyé de mon SM-G930F en utilisant Tapatalk

efbe
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 10:05 am
Country: -

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Post by efbe » Fri Apr 22, 2016 4:06 pm

So what is Your advise then ?

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19036
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Post by jhsa » Fri Apr 22, 2016 4:14 pm

efbe wrote:What are the settings of the protocol menu when you use the Assan module, and what are your settings for the DJT?
Are both PPM?

Both
Proto PPM 8CH 300uSec
PPM FrLen 22.5Sec
1st Chan 1
Polarity POS
Are you testing with the same model?
Tested with al my Recievers and four servo's
Are you testing with servos connected to the receivers, or flight controllers?
to Receiver
When you go to main screen that shows the channel outputs as bars, do they move when you move the sticks?
YES

Fred
Ok, As I thought this proves what we think it is happening. There is no problem with the radio or software.
It all indicates that there is a bad connection between the radio and the module..
As Kilrah said, the plastic around the pins might still be pushing the module's PCB upwards preventing the PPM pin (Pin 1) from connecting to the module.
I think you should remove that bit of plastic around the pins.
I don't understand why it did work before as you say, but if it did, and you were flying models with it, then I believe you had a time bomb in your hands that fortunately never exploded :) ;)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 2134
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky Essential 9x Radio Module Bay Modification

Post by bob195558 » Fri Apr 22, 2016 5:02 pm

Hi Fred,
You should remove the plastic from around the 5 pins in your 9x radio module bay.
It will help you a lot!
You will need to remove the green back PC board before doing this essential modification.
Should look like this when when completed.
9x module Bay.jpg
Remove the plastic from around the 5 pins so that your Transmitter Module fits properly.
9X back green board.jpg
Open up your 9x radio and remove the back green PC board so that the 5 pins
are out of the way before removing the interfering plastic.
Bob B.
Last edited by bob195558 on Sat Oct 22, 2016 12:04 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Er9x on 9x radio, with Smartieparts Programmer and TelemetrEZ Board.
ErSky9x on Taranis, Sky9x, 9Xtreme radios.

3D Printing upgrades with (CR10 3D Printer): (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=85).

efbe
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 10:05 am
Country: -

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Post by efbe » Fri Apr 22, 2016 8:15 pm

OK
I did that.
Still the same.
the only problem is that the conical tap helped to align the pins, is not so easy now to put in the module.

Now I took the PCB out of the case, put it in the bay, the pins are sticking out now like +_2mm.
Still the same.
I measured with a multimeter, al pins have contact.

Fred

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16612
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Post by MikeB » Fri Apr 22, 2016 9:35 pm

This is very strange. To summarise where you are, if you plug the Assan module in, you can control servos, but if you plug either DJT in, using the same model slot and settings, you don't get any servo response. However, you do see the A1 telemetry value. Do you also see RSSI and TSSI values?

I'm going to ask a silly question, but the servos are plugged into the receiver correctly aren't they?

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

efbe
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 10:05 am
Country: -

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Post by efbe » Fri Apr 22, 2016 10:25 pm

Correct
For the RSSI and TSSI, I will comeback on that tomorrow.
(time here is 00.24 AM)

Yes, the servos are correctly connected.
Assan: signal upper pin
FrSky: Signal down pin

Fred

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16612
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Post by MikeB » Fri Apr 22, 2016 10:36 pm

OK, while you get no servo response, are the servos holding their centre position, or are they just not being driven?

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19036
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Post by jhsa » Fri Apr 22, 2016 10:41 pm

Did your radio have any mod done on the PPM circuit before you installed the 9xtreme board?
Please post a good picture of your back board..
What you are describing makes no sense as it points to two broken DJT modules, which is hard to believe. But it would help if you had another radio where you could test them..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

efbe
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 10:05 am
Country: -

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Post by efbe » Sat Apr 23, 2016 8:36 am

OK, while you get no servo response, are the servos holding their centre position, or are they just not being driven?
They seem not to be driven.

When I decenter them before connecting to the battery, they don't move at all.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19036
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Post by jhsa » Sat Apr 23, 2016 8:55 am

How are you powering your receiver and servos?

As i asked before, can you please post a picture of your setup where we can see your connections?
Thanks

joão
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

efbe
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 10:05 am
Country: -

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Post by efbe » Sat Apr 23, 2016 9:15 am

Did your radio have any mod done on the PPM circuit before you installed the 9xtreme board?
Please post a good picture of your back board..

I did no mods on the backboard.
(see pic.)

What you are describing makes no sense as it points to two broken DJT modules, which is hard to believe. But it would help if you had another radio where you could test them..
I don't have another radio.
Attachments
9X_ba.jpg

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19036
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Post by jhsa » Sat Apr 23, 2016 9:27 am

It looks all good there..
The problem can't be the radio as it works with your assam module, with the same protocol settings, and same model loaded, right?
Can you please post a picture of how you are connecting things to the receiver(s)??

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16612
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Post by MikeB » Sat Apr 23, 2016 10:10 am

Don't forget to let us know the RSSI and TSSI values.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

efbe
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2016 10:05 am
Country: -

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Post by efbe » Sat Apr 23, 2016 10:12 am

fr.jpg
Here the requested pic's.
I just change the Rx.
Attachments
as.jpg


Post Reply

Return to “erskyTx (was ersky9x)”