9xr and e-flite apprentice safe rx

Hardware Support for the 9XR
imaduck1

9xr and e-flite apprentice safe rx

Post by imaduck1 »

hi guys please accept my apologies in advance but I'm new to turnigy 9xr i was using my dx5e with out problems but i need someone with patience to guide me step by step to set this up manually in mixes page so i have the 3 position switch with beginner/intermediate/advance and the recovery switch
regards andy

Daedalus66

Re: 9xr and e-flite apprentice safe rx

Post by Daedalus66 »

Here are the essentials for setting up an open source firmware transmitter to fly the BNF models. This applies to 9x, 9XR, 9XR Pro and Taranis. The details of how to do it will vary between transmitters and firmwares but what you need to do in each case is to emulate a Spektrum DX5e, which virtually all these models are designed to use. I save a great deal of effort by using this emulation as a template, copying it when needed and changing the name to that of the model.

Settings

1. The channel order MUST be set to TAER to match the Spektrum order. In particular, throttle is always on channel 1.

2. All channels MUST be set to 80% travel limits. Set all mix weights to 100% and limit throw to 80% by using the servos (limits) page.

3. Aileron and Rudder should be reversed to match Spektrum control directions. Throttle and elevator should work correctly if not reversed.

4. Channel 5 should be set up on a three position switch. This is needed if you fly models with some AS3X technology, such as the UMX AS3Xtra. Note that you may have to reverse direction. How exactly you do this depends on which firmware version you are using. (Maybe someone with the original 9XR firmware can chime in here.)

5. Channel 6 should be set up on a two position momentary switch giving -80 for off and +80 for on. This will serve as the panic button for a SAFE technology model, RTH button for a QX2, etc. Note that you may have to reverse direction.