Problem with 9XR, XJT and XM+

Hardware Support for the 9XR
Crashex
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2017 4:09 pm
Country: -

Problem with 9XR, XJT and XM+

Post by Crashex » Thu Sep 07, 2017 4:44 pm

I cannot bind my XM+ to my new XJT module and have been all over the web since yesterday to find a solution.

- Turnigy 9XR, bought ca. 3 years ago at HK
- XJT from a UK dealer, with LBT firmware
- 2 XM+, one from BG, flashed successfully with LBT firmware, one from a Spanish dealer with LBT already on it

I can get TX and RX into bind mode, and the LEDs on both do what they are expected to do. When the red LED on the RX flashes and the green LED stays on, I disconnect power from RX and switch off TX.

When I switch them on again, the RX shows a solid red LED and the green one flickers very weakly. The red LED starts blinking when I switch my radio off, there must be some kind of connection. The same behaviour happens with both XM+

I have D16 (both switches off) on the XJT. I tried with PPM and PXX protocol.

Could there be some communication problem between XJT and 9XR? Please help me with this, I am out of my wits. :(


User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19428
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Problem with 9XR, XJT and XM+

Post by jhsa » Thu Sep 07, 2017 4:58 pm

Just to make sure.. Is it the 9XR or the 9XR-PRO??

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Crashex
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2017 4:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Problem with 9XR, XJT and XM+

Post by Crashex » Thu Sep 07, 2017 5:37 pm

It is the 9XR.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17439
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Problem with 9XR, XJT and XM+

Post by MikeB » Thu Sep 07, 2017 6:35 pm

Your description of the LEDs suggest it is bound OK.
What are you using to determine it isn't working?

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Crashex
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2017 4:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Problem with 9XR, XJT and XM+

Post by Crashex » Thu Sep 07, 2017 8:40 pm

When I switch TX and RX on again after finishing the binding process, the red LED is permanently on, the green LED is very weakly blinking. It should be the green LED that is permanently on. In my flightcontroller configuration software (Betaflight) there is no movement for the sticks - and I am sure everything there is configured correctly, as it was working before with a different radio and the same RX.
Many people seem to have this problem - might just be a bad quality RX.


User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17439
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Problem with 9XR, XJT and XM+

Post by MikeB » Thu Sep 07, 2017 9:42 pm

How are you binding the Tx? If using PXX, then are you using the BIND option in the protocol menu?
After binding you then just need to press EXIT, no need to power the Tx off.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Crashex
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2017 4:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Problem with 9XR, XJT and XM+

Post by Crashex » Thu Sep 07, 2017 9:54 pm

I don't have the bind option in the menu, I am using the button on the backside of the module.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17439
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Problem with 9XR, XJT and XM+

Post by MikeB » Thu Sep 07, 2017 10:00 pm

What firmware revision do you have on the 9XR?
I'm assuming you have er9x flashed, but perhaps you don't.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Crashex
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2017 4:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Problem with 9XR, XJT and XM+

Post by Crashex » Thu Sep 07, 2017 10:05 pm

No I haven't, I am using the stock firmware.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17439
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Problem with 9XR, XJT and XM+

Post by MikeB » Thu Sep 07, 2017 10:18 pm

I think the "stock" firmware may well be a (very old) version of er9x.
Do you have a "Version" screen that indicates what the firmware is?

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Crashex
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2017 4:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Problem with 9XR, XJT and XM+

Post by Crashex » Thu Sep 07, 2017 10:25 pm

No, I believe that function is blocked, but as the radio was bought years ago it might be old. I would update the firmware, if you believe that this could be the problem. I tried this afternoon but was getting a usbasp error - unfortunately didn't copy the text. Tomorrow I can have a look at why this doesn't work.

Crashex
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2017 4:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Problem with 9XR, XJT and XM+

Post by Crashex » Fri Sep 22, 2017 6:12 pm

Okay, life got in the way and I had no time to try much more, just tried again to update the firmware of either my radio and the XJT module, without success. Following some advice in the forum I opened the radio and checked the solderings and everything looks fine, but the radio won't talk to the computer. From the message I get when trying to connect radio and computer, the right driver is installed.

So the situation:

I have a 9XR, a XJT module and two XM+ receivers and can't use them. Don't know what to do next. Sell the 9XR and buy a Taranis?

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19428
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Problem with 9XR, XJT and XM+

Post by jhsa » Fri Sep 22, 2017 6:30 pm

What is the message when you try to update the firmware?

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Crashex
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2017 4:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Problem with 9XR, XJT and XM+

Post by Crashex » Fri Sep 22, 2017 6:32 pm

avrdude.exe: warning: cannot set sck period. please check for usbasp firmware update.
avrdude.exe: error: programm enable: target doesn't answer. 1
avrdude.exe: initialization failed, rc=-1
Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
this check.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19428
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Problem with 9XR, XJT and XM+

Post by jhsa » Fri Sep 22, 2017 8:23 pm

Whatever you do, never use the -F option.. it could brick your radio..

If you didn't already, could you please post a couple pictures (both sides) of your programmer?
We would like to see if there are resistors on the programming lines..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Crashex
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2017 4:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Problem with 9XR, XJT and XM+

Post by Crashex » Fri Sep 22, 2017 9:02 pm

Image

Image

Image

Image

If the above programmer does not work, I also have one of those, but couldn't get it to work either:
Image

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19428
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Problem with 9XR, XJT and XM+

Post by jhsa » Fri Sep 22, 2017 9:14 pm

For the Diamex programmer try selecting STK500 in the configuration menu in eepe.
Did you install the drivers?
What error is eepe displaying?

The USBASP has a 100 Ohm resistor array on the programming lines. It is marked "101", and it is the very small part with 8 little legs. That could be a problem. Normally people remove it and shunt the pads from the left to the ones on the right. the first from the left to the first on the right, the second on the left with the second on the right, and so on.
João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Crashex
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2017 4:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Problem with 9XR, XJT and XM+

Post by Crashex » Fri Sep 22, 2017 9:26 pm

Diamex error says:

Code: Select all

avrdude.exe: stk500v2_command(): command failed
avrdude.exe: stk500v2_command(): unknown status 0xc9
avrdude.exe: stk500v2_program_enable(): cannot get connection status
avrdude.exe: initialization failed, rc=-1
             Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
             this check.


avrdude.exe done.  Thank you.
Normally people remove it and shunt the pads from the left to the ones on the right. the first from the left to the first on the right, the second on the left with the second on the right, and so on.
"Shunt" means solder together? Sorry, noob in many things electronics...
And in the case that with my soldering "skills" this results in the destruction of the programmer, I believe I read somewhere here where I can buy a programmer that works for the intended purpose... could you point me to it?

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19428
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Problem with 9XR, XJT and XM+

Post by jhsa » Fri Sep 22, 2017 11:53 pm

Are you using eepe to program the radio?
I do recommend to try to do a read to make sure all is working before you attempt to write the firmware..
Try (in eepe) to use STK500 instead of STK500v2..
I don't have any link for a good USBASP programmer. There was a forum user selling them a couple years ago, but not anymore.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

ReSt
Posts: 1564
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 pm
Country: -

Re: Problem with 9XR, XJT and XM+

Post by ReSt » Sat Sep 23, 2017 8:14 am

Your 10pin to 6pin adapter has 4 pins named "ground". But some programmers have signals on some of these pins and not ground.

Check your programmers pins (without adapter) if really ervery of these 4 pins has ground connection. If not,
1.) the signals should not be connected together (within the adapter)
2.) possibly, the one ground pin on the 6pin side of the adapter is not connected to ground od the programmer

Reinhard

Crashex
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2017 4:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Problem with 9XR, XJT and XM+

Post by Crashex » Sat Sep 23, 2017 9:42 am

ReSt wrote:
Sat Sep 23, 2017 8:14 am
Your 10pin to 6pin adapter has 4 pins named "ground". But some programmers have signals on some of these pins and not ground.

Check your programmers pins (without adapter) if really ervery of these 4 pins has ground connection. If not,
1.) the signals should not be connected together (within the adapter)
2.) possibly, the one ground pin on the 6pin side of the adapter is not connected to ground od the programmer

Reinhard
How can I check this? How do I know where the pins from the adapter end go to?

Crashex
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2017 4:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Problem with 9XR, XJT and XM+

Post by Crashex » Sat Sep 23, 2017 9:46 am

Using the Diamex with stk500:

Code: Select all

=================================================================================
Started AVRDUDE
C:/Program Files (x86)/eePe/avrdude.exe -c stk500 -p m128 -U eeprom:r:C:/Users/ask80/AppData/Local/Temp/temp.hex:i
=================================================================================
avrdude.exe: ser_open(): can't open device "\\.\com1": Das System kann die angegebene Datei nicht finden.



=================================================================================
AVRDUDE done - exit code 1
=================================================================================

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19428
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Problem with 9XR, XJT and XM+

Post by jhsa » Sat Sep 23, 2017 10:25 am

Ok, looking at your picture from the Diamex programmer, and according to the programmer's manual, you don't have the 2 little switches on the programmer set correctly. Please see the file attached.
For programming an ATmega chip you need both micro switches in the OFF position.. Your picture shows them ON.

João

EDIT: Interesting programmer by the way :)
Attachments
DIAMEX_PROG_S_AVR_STM_LPC_PROGRAMMIERADA.pdf
(169.64 KiB) Downloaded 133 times
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Crashex
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2017 4:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Problem with 9XR, XJT and XM+

Post by Crashex » Sat Sep 23, 2017 10:34 am

I tried with the switches off and the radio off, and then with the switches off and the radio on. Both times, the error message is exactly the same.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19428
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Problem with 9XR, XJT and XM+

Post by jhsa » Sat Sep 23, 2017 10:52 am

Do you have the correct COM port selected?

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19428
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Problem with 9XR, XJT and XM+

Post by jhsa » Sat Sep 23, 2017 10:56 am

On the products page (or one of them) I have read that the Diamex programmer emulates the "avrisp2" programmer.. Please try also selecting that in eepe..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Crashex
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2017 4:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Problem with 9XR, XJT and XM+

Post by Crashex » Sat Sep 23, 2017 11:01 am

An attempt with avrisp2, correct COM port, diamex buttons off, radio on:

Code: Select all

C:/Program Files (x86)/eePe/avrdude.exe -c avrisp2 -p m128 -P com25 -U eeprom:r:C:/Users/ask80/AppData/Local/Temp/temp.hex:i
=================================================================================

avrdude.exe: stk500v2_command(): command failed
avrdude.exe: stk500v2_command(): unknown status 0xc9
avrdude.exe: stk500v2_program_enable(): cannot get connection status
avrdude.exe: initialization failed, rc=-1
             Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
             this check.


avrdude.exe done.  Thank you.


=================================================================================
AVRDUDE done - exit code 1
=================================================================================

ReSt
Posts: 1564
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 pm
Country: -

Re: Problem with 9XR, XJT and XM+

Post by ReSt » Sat Sep 23, 2017 1:04 pm

Crashex wrote:
Sat Sep 23, 2017 9:42 am
How can I check this? How do I know where the pins from the adapter end go to?
If you have an Ohmmeter, try these checks.

Use the Ohmmeter (and use the lowest resistance range e.g.200 Ohm) and measure the resistance between the pins (programmer not connected to anything supplying a voltage).

The USB connector has +5v and ground on the two outer pins, and ground is (nomally) connected to the shield of the USB plug.

At first measure without the adapter plug attached

On the 10 pin connector end, the signal names are printed beside the pins of the 'inner' row of pins.
The outer row, (nearest to the connector and covered from the 'inner' row pins,) must be +5V (on one side) and the remaining four pins should all be ground and have a resistance near 0 Ohm against each other and the shield of the USB plug.

If all four pins are connected to ground, then nothing further to do. This is ok

If not all four pins are connected to ground there are probably some signal lines from the processor connected to the pins.
Connect the adapterplug with the programmer and again measure the resistance between the four ground pins. If they are now connected with each other, this may be the problem as one ore more signal lines get shorted to ground.

Post the results


Reinhard

Crashex
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2017 4:09 pm
Country: -

Re: Problem with 9XR, XJT and XM+

Post by Crashex » Sat Sep 23, 2017 6:26 pm

Thank you, Reinhard and João, you are great!

I tested with the Ohmmeter.
The first two pins of the second row as seen in the below image are connected to GND. The third and fourth are each connected to one of the components marked with badly drawn black arrows in the second image. All GND pins are connected to each other on the adapter.
Image
Image

ReSt
Posts: 1564
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 pm
Country: -

Re: Problem with 9XR, XJT and XM+

Post by ReSt » Sat Sep 23, 2017 11:14 pm

On the adaper plug , you now should break the connection of the four ground pins in a way, that only the two pins of the programmer stay connected to the ground and the two other pins are open ( not connected to any pin of the adapter plug).

When the signals are separated from the ground, I hope, the programmer could work.
I assume:
image001 corresponds to the layout of your progammer (pins 4 and 6 have signals)
image003 corresponds to the layout of the plug (pins 4,6,8,10 have ground).


Reinhard
image001.jpg
image001.jpg (71.51 KiB) Viewed 10529 times
image003.jpg
image003.jpg (16.82 KiB) Viewed 10529 times


Post Reply

Return to “Turnigy 9XR radio”