Sorry Another Tx Firmware Problem

Hardware help and support for the FrSky Taranis
Post Reply
Roger
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 9:41 am
Country: -

Sorry Another Tx Firmware Problem

Post by Roger » Wed Apr 02, 2014 5:12 pm

No doubt this is an operator grey cell problem but...

I recently decided to replace my old XP desktop for a Win 7 x 64 bit pc. I had (relatively) very little trouble setting up the Taranis on the old pc but I am having difficulty getting everything to work on the new machine.

I have STM32 Bootloader showing in devices with tx connected (not switched on) but when I have tried to update to the latest firmware, r2940, I get the message DFU Util did not finish correctly. I have deleted/reloaded several times all with the same result. Everything else is OK.
For info when I run Zadig the drop down box never showed STM32 Bootloader.

I will get ready with the :oops: when I`m told what I`ve done wrong or omitted.

Thanks in anticipation


Roger
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 9:41 am
Country: -

Re: Sorry Another Tx Firmware Problem

Post by Roger » Sun Apr 06, 2014 4:42 pm

Does the lack of a reply mean I can`t flash firmware with Win 7 x 64 bit ?

Daedalus66
Posts: 1813
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Ottawa

Re: Sorry Another Tx Firmware Problem

Post by Daedalus66 » Sun Apr 06, 2014 4:52 pm

It works fine with Win7 64. Just a bit harder to get the driver installed.

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9990
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Sorry Another Tx Firmware Problem

Post by Kilrah » Sun Apr 06, 2014 5:18 pm

Flashing fine with 3 win7 64 machines.
Did you "Show all devices" in Zadig?
Are you using an USB2 port, not an USB3 one?

Roger
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 9:41 am
Country: -

Re: Sorry Another Tx Firmware Problem

Post by Roger » Sun Apr 06, 2014 7:40 pm

:oops: :oops: :oops:

I didn`t list "All Devices". If I could reach I`d kick myself in the backside.

Thanks Kilrah pointing me in the right direction.


heliphil
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2012 2:35 pm
Country: -

Re: Sorry Another Tx Firmware Problem

Post by heliphil » Tue Apr 15, 2014 2:49 pm

ok - I have a similar problem - my original Taranis is fine but the new one will not flash, it gives the dfu util error but I can still read / write models!!!

User avatar
kalle123
Posts: 730
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2014 10:59 am
Country: -
Location: Moenchengladbach

Re: Sorry Another Tx Firmware Problem

Post by kalle123 » Tue Apr 15, 2014 3:34 pm

Found this vid on rcgroups

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2074978

Maybe it helps.

br

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9990
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Sorry Another Tx Firmware Problem

Post by Kilrah » Tue Apr 15, 2014 5:07 pm

You need to redo the driver installation for the new radio.

heliphil
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2012 2:35 pm
Country: -

Re: Sorry Another Tx Firmware Problem

Post by heliphil » Wed Apr 16, 2014 11:27 am

redid the zadig installation and its fine, but why did I need to when the other TX was fine ??? does it see each TX differently ???

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9990
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Sorry Another Tx Firmware Problem

Post by Kilrah » Wed Apr 16, 2014 11:46 am

Yes, each radio is seen as a different device. Same if you connect a printer to your PC, then connect another printer of the exact same model Windows will also want to reinstall the driver for that instance.

rcsoar
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2013 1:56 pm
Country: -
Contact:

Re: Sorry Another Tx Firmware Problem

Post by rcsoar » Sat May 03, 2014 1:59 pm

Kilrah wrote:You need to redo the driver installation for the new radio.
Lol... been tearing my hair out on this one... glad the solution is this easy!


Post Reply

Return to “FrSky Taranis radio”