Faulty Taranis?

Hardware help and support for the FrSky Taranis
Post Reply
Clivew
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:08 pm
Country: -
Location: Stroud, Glos, England

Faulty Taranis?

Post by Clivew » Sun Nov 10, 2013 11:47 pm

Just got a second one, and it seems to have a "funny" with it.
The power output seems to fluctate rapidly as shown on my field strength meter,
and the indicated SWR is "0" even if the antenna is gripped firmly.
The first one is rock solid, and SWR goes from "0" to "18" on gripping antenna.
Both have opentx-r2834.
I guess the internal RF module might be faulty?
Think I just proved that, fitted an external XJT and all is well.
Contact supplier time I guess :roll:

Clive


Clivew
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:08 pm
Country: -
Location: Stroud, Glos, England

Re: Faulty Taranis?

Post by Clivew » Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:56 pm

Giant Shark were good as gold when I contacted them and offered a refund. Said I could look inside,which I did of course, prior to returning it. (They have no spare modules)
Nothing obvious of course!
One thing before I send it off, does anyone know how to update the INTERNAL xjt on the
Taranis?
Thought I might try this, if it's possible before sending it back?
Thanks,

Clive

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16484
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Faulty Taranis?

Post by MikeB » Tue Nov 12, 2013 5:21 pm

By update do you mean the firmware, or replace the physical module.
Firmware update is possible vie the SPort, although from my experience you need to disconnect all the other cables to the back board. Without doing that, it killed off my computer (USB power overload I think). The PC came back after a while, so I think it was a thermal fuse opening.
To replace the physical module, you need to replace the whole back board. It is just possible to remove the existing module from the backboard and fit another one, but there are a lot pins soldered to both boards and it is VERY difficult to desolder them all (don;t ask how I know!).

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Clivew
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:08 pm
Country: -
Location: Stroud, Glos, England

Re: Faulty Taranis?

Post by Clivew » Tue Nov 12, 2013 7:49 pm

Ok Mike,
Thanks for that. I did mean firmware update.
No wonder they didn't bring the pins out the back.
In your opinion, do you think trying an update might fix
the SWR reading? The power output issue seems to have gone away.

Clive

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9991
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Faulty Taranis?

Post by Kilrah » Tue Nov 12, 2013 8:40 pm

No update has been released so far.
I frankly doubt anything is wrong.


Clivew
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:08 pm
Country: -
Location: Stroud, Glos, England

Re: Faulty Taranis?

Post by Clivew » Tue Nov 12, 2013 10:28 pm

Kilrah wrote:No update has been released so far.
I frankly doubt anything is wrong.
Ok, I wonder why my SWR meter doesn't work?
Isn't this an update?
I would love to think nothing is wrong, but I get SWR 0 / 18 when gripped,
on Taranis 2 it's 0 /0.
What result does anyone else get?
http://www.frsky-rc.com/download/view.p ... 0for%20XJT
Last edited by Clivew on Tue Nov 12, 2013 10:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9991
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Faulty Taranis?

Post by Kilrah » Tue Nov 12, 2013 10:32 pm

Your SWR might work but simply this particular combination doesn't result in something detectable.
You could maybe try to unclip the antenna connector (if yours has one) and see if it goes up there.

Not sure about the FW, this is dated from July and I don't think many (or any) XJTs/Taranis were out by then...

Clivew
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:08 pm
Country: -
Location: Stroud, Glos, England

Re: Faulty Taranis?

Post by Clivew » Tue Nov 12, 2013 10:40 pm

Ok, thanks.
No antenna connector on mine. Certainly touching the coax inner makes no difference.
Would be really interested what others are getting!?

Clive

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9991
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Faulty Taranis?

Post by Kilrah » Tue Nov 12, 2013 10:47 pm

Between 0 and 1 here. Sometimes a bit higher like 7-9 when really trying to at some places when moving the antenna around while holding it wrapped in the hand.
Anyway the SWR reading is mostly irrelevant and should not be displayed in the first place, it only becomes a matter when the warning kicks in at 53 if I remember well.
If your range check is OK, no issue.

Clivew
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:08 pm
Country: -
Location: Stroud, Glos, England

Re: Faulty Taranis?

Post by Clivew » Wed Nov 13, 2013 2:16 am

Sounds stupid I know! I would be happier if I saw an SWR greater than unity :P


Post Reply

Return to “FrSky Taranis radio”