ACCESS D16 FW Version?

General Help and support for the Taranis Radio.
Post Reply
User avatar
mapes12
Posts: 132
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 6:44 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Gnosall UK
Contact:

ACCESS D16 FW Version?

Post by mapes12 » Sat Oct 24, 2020 10:04 am

I've got one of the newer Tx's (X9D Lite) that has the ACCESS protocol. Recently, the D16 protocol has been added. My question is what ACCST FW version of D16 is this using? If it's the newer v2.1.0 then I guess I'm going to have to upgrade the FW in my Rx's for everything to work together.


User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10739
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: ACCESS D16 FW Version?

Post by Kilrah » Sat Oct 24, 2020 11:56 am

D16 has been there from the start and there are both versions.

User avatar
mapes12
Posts: 132
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 6:44 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Gnosall UK
Contact:

Re: ACCESS D16 FW Version?

Post by mapes12 » Sat Oct 24, 2020 12:59 pm

Kilrah wrote:
Sat Oct 24, 2020 11:56 am
D16 has been there from the start and there are both versions.
Thanks. Frsky are recommending v2.1.0 for the internal module. However, there is no LBT / FCC option in the download folder for the ISRM internal module. When I come to upgrading my X8R Rx I can choose between FCC / LBT. Any idea which one I choose or doesn't it matter anymore?

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10739
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: ACCESS D16 FW Version?

Post by Kilrah » Sat Oct 24, 2020 8:00 pm

The region of your radio is displayed on the version screen when the internal module is enabled.

User avatar
mapes12
Posts: 132
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 6:44 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Gnosall UK
Contact:

Re: ACCESS D16 FW Version?

Post by mapes12 » Sun Oct 25, 2020 7:43 am

Kilrah wrote:
Sat Oct 24, 2020 8:00 pm
The region of your radio is displayed on the version screen when the internal module is enabled.
I know the radio region. What I don't know is why the ISRM FW doesn't have FCC / LBT versions but the Rx FW does.


User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10739
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: ACCESS D16 FW Version?

Post by Kilrah » Sun Oct 25, 2020 1:27 pm

The region of ACCESS modules is not stored in the firmware anymore, so the same module firmware will transmit either one depending on what the hardware was set to.

User avatar
mapes12
Posts: 132
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 6:44 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Gnosall UK
Contact:

Re: ACCESS D16 FW Version?

Post by mapes12 » Sun Oct 25, 2020 3:22 pm

Kilrah wrote:
Sun Oct 25, 2020 1:27 pm
The region of ACCESS modules is not stored in the firmware anymore, so the same module firmware will transmit either one depending on what the hardware was set to.
Is the hardware some how factory set via some kind of internal ROM or does the region setting in OpenTx control this via Radio Setup 3/7 Country Code? Therefore, if I set Country Code to EU then the Rx will need to be flashed with LBT FW in order for the packets to be read correctly. All other Country Codes then RX will need to be flashed with FCC FW. Am I on the right lines?

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10739
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: ACCESS D16 FW Version?

Post by Kilrah » Sun Oct 25, 2020 4:05 pm

mapes12 wrote:
Sun Oct 25, 2020 3:22 pm
Is the hardware some how factory set via some kind of internal ROM
This, in order to prevent people from being able to change it.

User avatar
mapes12
Posts: 132
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 6:44 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Gnosall UK
Contact:

Re: ACCESS D16 FW Version?

Post by mapes12 » Sun Oct 25, 2020 4:24 pm

Kilrah wrote:
Sun Oct 25, 2020 4:05 pm
mapes12 wrote:
Sun Oct 25, 2020 3:22 pm
Is the hardware some how factory set via some kind of internal ROM
This, in order to prevent people from being able to change it.
Found it. Radio Setup 7/7 Modules / RX Versions. Set to EU and I can't change it. Not even if I change Country Code on 3/7. Therefore, I now know that my Rx's will need to be flashed with LBT FW. Thanks for your help.


Post Reply

Return to “General help (FrSky Taranis radio)”