Replaced gimbal - now can't enter Bootloader.

General Help and support for the Taranis Radio.
Post Reply
plasticbaldy
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 11:06 am
Country: -

Replaced gimbal - now can't enter Bootloader.

Post by plasticbaldy » Tue Sep 25, 2018 4:46 am

On X9D from new my left gimbal only functioned to about 80% left travel. Stick movement beyond this provided no further response. I tried recalibrating sticks. No joy. However at this stage the bootloader worked. I think. Maybe I'm rembering establishing bootloader on my QX7. Maybe it's a false memory. I bought this X9 some years ago. Can't remember exactly when. How can I identify if its an early version that didn't use the 3 finger bootloader entry method ? I believe that early X9D might not utilize the 3 finger bootloader entry ? Is this correct ?
I bought & replaced the left gimbal.
The 3 finger method - trims in/ then switch on - no USB connected yet - doesn't provide bootloader.
I put the faulty gimbal back in but still can't enter Bootloader with the 3 finger method.
Any suggestions please ?

tonnie78
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 9:33 am
Country: -

Re: Replaced gimbal - now can't enter Bootloader.

Post by tonnie78 » Tue Sep 25, 2018 4:56 am

The trim connection is also part of the gimbal wiring. Is it properly connected?

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G930F met Tapatalk


User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9660
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Replaced gimbal - now can't enter Bootloader.

Post by Kilrah » Tue Sep 25, 2018 6:03 am

Check the version screen, bootloader needs >2.0.

plasticbaldy
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 11:06 am
Country: -

Re: Replaced gimbal - now can't enter Bootloader.

Post by plasticbaldy » Thu Sep 27, 2018 2:27 am

tonnie78 wrote:
Tue Sep 25, 2018 4:56 am
The trim connection is also part of the gimbal wiring. Is it properly connected?

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G930F met Tapatalk
Yes definitely. Trim functions in normal radio operation.

plasticbaldy
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 11:06 am
Country: -

Re: Replaced gimbal - now can't enter Bootloader.

Post by plasticbaldy » Thu Sep 27, 2018 2:29 am

Kilrah wrote:
Tue Sep 25, 2018 6:03 am
Check the version screen, bootloader needs >2.0.
Version 2.0 and later or only later than 2.0 ?


Daedalus66
Posts: 1783
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Ottawa

Re: Replaced gimbal - now can't enter Bootloader.

Post by Daedalus66 » Thu Sep 27, 2018 3:51 am

Version 2.0 and later, but I would suggest at least 2.1.19 for a good stable and advanced version. While you’re at it, why not go for 2.2?

plasticbaldy
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 11:06 am
Country: -

Re: Replaced gimbal - now can't enter Bootloader.

Post by plasticbaldy » Thu Sep 27, 2018 5:16 am

Sure. Once I work out how to flash it without bootloader.
If you read my first posting on this topic you’ll see why I can’t.

plasticbaldy
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 11:06 am
Country: -

Re: Replaced gimbal - now can't enter Bootloader.

Post by plasticbaldy » Thu Sep 27, 2018 10:35 am

Daedalus66 wrote:
Thu Sep 27, 2018 3:51 am
Version 2.0 and later, but I would suggest at least 2.1.19 for a good stable and advanced version. While you’re at it, why not go for 2.2?
I have v1.1.02. So my memory of previous bootloading with the 3 finger start is a false memory. I also have an X7 which I have flashed this way & that’s where the memory comes from.
So how do I load 2.2 please ?

Post Reply

Return to “General help (FrSky Taranis radio)”