master/slave with two taranis

General Help and support for the Taranis Radio.
Post Reply
Raythegreat
Posts: 170
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 11:33 pm
Country: -

master/slave with two taranis

Post by Raythegreat » Fri Jul 06, 2018 3:02 am

Hi,

A quick question.
In the master/slave configuration with two taranis, does the master HAS TO BE the one bounded to the receiver?
The obvious answer is yes but I'm not 100% sure.
Please confirm.

Thanks
RTG

Helle
Posts: 572
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 7:08 am
Country: -

Re: master/slave with two taranis

Post by Helle » Fri Jul 06, 2018 4:15 am

Yes,
under normal conditions the Master has only connection to RX

Raythegreat
Posts: 170
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 11:33 pm
Country: -

Re: master/slave with two taranis

Post by Raythegreat » Fri Jul 06, 2018 9:52 pm

Thank you Helle,

I was wondering if it would be possible to make it work with the slave being bounded to the receiver and not the master?

The slave would always transmit in either master or slave ? Possible?

Thanks
RTG

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9666
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: master/slave with two taranis

Post by Kilrah » Fri Jul 06, 2018 10:22 pm

You can swap the roles of the one who has control of the switch (still only the master transmitting) but it is usually discouraged as it is not a "fail safe" configuration, if the master-slave link is lost the student ends up on his own in an already stressful situation.

Daedalus66
Posts: 1783
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Ottawa

master/slave with two taranis

Post by Daedalus66 » Fri Jul 06, 2018 11:11 pm

More of an issue, I think, is that as a longtime instructor I wouldn’t trust the majority of students with the responsibility of relinquishing control when they get into trouble. I consider it mandatory to have the decision to take over squarely in the hands of the instructor. Even then, we don’t always save the plane, but the chances are much better if we can just release the button (or move the stick) and instantly have control.


Raythegreat
Posts: 170
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 11:33 pm
Country: -

Re: master/slave with two taranis

Post by Raythegreat » Sat Jul 07, 2018 1:35 am

Thanks all.

All this makes sense, the master must transmit to ensure security.
The other way around could lead to problems. That's fine.

So:
This means if I have a spectrum TX-RX airplane system and a Taranis that does not support/have a Spektrum TX module, then the master has to the Spektrum and the slave will have to be the Taranis and the student will have the Taranis in his hands and teacher will have the Spektrum in his hands?
Correct?

RTG

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9666
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: master/slave with two taranis

Post by Kilrah » Sat Jul 07, 2018 7:21 am

Yep.

Raythegreat
Posts: 170
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 11:33 pm
Country: -

Re: master/slave with two taranis

Post by Raythegreat » Sat Jul 07, 2018 4:05 pm

OK thanks all for confirming.

RTG

Post Reply

Return to “General help (FrSky Taranis radio)”