9Xtreme Upgrade Board for 9x Radios

Cant get your radio to work? General Hardware issues?
Post Reply
User avatar
KAL
Posts: 552
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:36 pm
Country: Germany
Location: somewhere near Rothenburg ob der Tauber

Re: 9Xtreme Upgrade Board for 9x Radios

Post by KAL » Fri Aug 14, 2015 8:16 am

Followed this thread during my holidays and as a result placed a preorder for 2 boards yesterday.
Awesome project which pushes the ol' 9X to unexpected heights. 8-) 8-) 8-)
Many thanks to Mike and Steven for their efforts pushing along this project. :D :D :D
thumb-up.jpg
thumb-up.jpg (10.17 KiB) Viewed 2976 times
Klaus
( TH9X / 9XTreme / FrSky DHT / Spektrum / Multi / RotEnc )
( 9XR PRO / erSKY9x  / FrSky DHT / Spektrum / Multi / RotEnc / P3 as Slider )


User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16609
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: 9Xtreme Upgrade Board for 9x Radios

Post by MikeB » Fri Aug 14, 2015 3:47 pm

A few bits sorted. I now have a screen that shows the revision of the code running on the M64 and the revision stored in the main firmware, with an option to update the M64. So far, I haven't checked the flashing of a M2561.
I've tested the charger connection, so another small item OK.
I've sorted a mini USB connector instead of the standard size one I've been using. This is now mounted in the battery bay, along with the serial debug connector. So, the case is now all screwed back together and I can consider flying something with this Tx.

I tried a couple of DSM telemetry modules. One worked partly, and the other didn't, but I have probably not got all the correct code included, as they need to operate using what is now the external protocol settings, and are probably locked on to the internal settings.

I think I now have all the hardware connections and protocols sorted except for getting the M64 to drive the haptic signal. This is just a control signal, there is no transistor switch on it.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19021
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: 9Xtreme Upgrade Board for 9x Radios

Post by jhsa » Fri Aug 14, 2015 3:54 pm

Nice Mike..
I thought the haptic would be connected to the 9xtreme.. Being connected to the 9x board won't it make it quite difficult to install for someone that isn't very comfortable with a soldering iron?
Or could it be connected to one of the old trims for example? the signal would then be available on one of the connectors, correct? People would still have to build a little piece of stripboard with a transistor, but nothing compared to soldering to a CPU pin ;)
João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16609
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: 9Xtreme Upgrade Board for 9x Radios

Post by MikeB » Fri Aug 14, 2015 4:05 pm

The haptic control signal comes across to the 9Xtreme, and is presented in an easy to access pad. If you look at the middle picture in this post: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showpost ... ount=22895, you can see three rows of five pads just above the '9' of the 9Xtreme text. One of these is the haptic signal. Elsewhere on these pads are 5V and 3.3V supplies, 3 ground connections, I2C connections, spare serial connections and the internal module PPM/PXX and switched power connections.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19021
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: 9Xtreme Upgrade Board for 9x Radios

Post by jhsa » Fri Aug 14, 2015 4:13 pm

Thanks Mike..
It seems I missed all those posts.. Strange as I'm subscribed to that thread :o

I have just noticed that the RTC battery is placed on the underside? Does it last that long? :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW


User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 2128
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: 9Xtreme Upgrade Board for 9x Radios

Post by bob195558 » Fri Aug 14, 2015 4:41 pm

I think this is what Mike is referring and shows it better. (http://www.smartieparts.com/store/en/9x ... order.html)
9xtreme-preorder 3.jpg
three rows of five pads 9xtreme
Bob B.
Er9x on 9x radio, with Smartieparts Programmer and TelemetrEZ Board.
ErSky9x on Taranis, Sky9x, 9Xtreme radios.

3D Printing upgrades with (CR10 3D Printer): (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=85).

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16609
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: 9Xtreme Upgrade Board for 9x Radios

Post by MikeB » Fri Aug 14, 2015 6:54 pm

Correct, those are the pads. The haptic is on the pad labelled '7'.
I've now got the two DSM modules sorted. Both bind and handle the telemetry.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

s_mack
Posts: 880
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 6:11 am
Country: -

Re: 9Xtreme Upgrade Board for 9x Radios

Post by s_mack » Fri Aug 14, 2015 7:24 pm

jhsa wrote:I have just noticed that the RTC battery is placed on the underside? Does it last that long? :)
That's a question I don't know we can have a good answer to, because there are a lot of variables, although I think it should last a good long time. I tried putting it on the top but there just wasn't space for it.

I have to re-do some of the layout now anyway, and I suppose other components could go on the bottom to make room for the battery on the top. That messes with my grounding scheme, but as long as I keep the analog clear it shouldn't really matter. I'd rather NOT do it, but if there is a concern about the battery being on the bottom I can try. Really though, what's the worst case? Battery dies and you have to undo two screws and a couple connections.

We're not supplying the battery, by the way. I recommend getting a brand name CR1220 locally (amazon link). Crazy complicated battery regulations that are changing constantly and differ by country... and if I buy them bulk they will be inexpensive but they will also be "cheap" (in terms of quality). I think we're better off leaving it to the customer to go grab a retail Energizer or Duracel. They aren't expensive anyway.

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 2128
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: 9Xtreme Upgrade Board for 9x Radios

Post by bob195558 » Fri Aug 14, 2015 7:35 pm

Hi Steve,
I think also we will need to purchase a Micro SD card too.

Bob B.
Er9x on 9x radio, with Smartieparts Programmer and TelemetrEZ Board.
ErSky9x on Taranis, Sky9x, 9Xtreme radios.

3D Printing upgrades with (CR10 3D Printer): (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=85).

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16609
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: 9Xtreme Upgrade Board for 9x Radios

Post by MikeB » Fri Aug 14, 2015 7:41 pm

The specified max current (at 25 deg C) from the battery is less than 1uA. Since these batteries have a capacity of around 35mAh, they should last for 4 years. The current does go up if the temperature is higher.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19021
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: 9Xtreme Upgrade Board for 9x Radios

Post by jhsa » Fri Aug 14, 2015 7:56 pm

It's a very low current drain. But I would rather not having to dismantle the radio to change the battery. I'm speaking from the normal user point of view of course. For me that is not a problem as I'm sure I wil always be removing the board for more mods :) :D

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

s_mack
Posts: 880
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 6:11 am
Country: -

Re: 9Xtreme Upgrade Board for 9x Radios

Post by s_mack » Fri Aug 14, 2015 8:14 pm

bob195558 wrote:Hi Steve,
I think also we will need to purchase a Micro SD card too.

Bob B.
For making use of voice or other things that may need removable and/or large-scale storage... yes, that's correct. It actually didn't even occur to me to include one. I didn't think any device, be it for rc transmitters or cameras or gps or tablets or phones or whatever... included a memory card but someone pointed out to me that the 9xr does. I'm not sure why. Mike suggested there might be a good reason for us to include it (the unit could have a pre-installed voice message to let you know what's going on before the screen could show anything since the firmware was not yet on the 9x), but by that time I already announced a price given the costs I was already aware of. Besides, the user can still achieve that by downloading the file and putting it on their own card if they wanted.

I looked into it in case I could buy memory cards in bulk for pennies, but it isn't the case. They are such a cut-throat item that you can buy one from China at the same price as I can buy 1000 so there's not a ton of benefit to including them, cost wise. I hope people can accept that anyway :mrgreen:

s_mack
Posts: 880
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 6:11 am
Country: -

Re: 9Xtreme Upgrade Board for 9x Radios

Post by s_mack » Fri Aug 14, 2015 8:15 pm

jhsa wrote:It's a very low current drain. But I would rather not having to dismantle the radio to change the battery. I'm speaking from the normal user point of view of course. For me that is not a problem as I'm sure I wil always be removing the board for more mods :) :D

João
I'm sure normal use folks can manage two-and-a-half battery changes a decade :)

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19021
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: 9Xtreme Upgrade Board for 9x Radios

Post by jhsa » Fri Aug 14, 2015 8:27 pm

Ha ha :mrgreen: yeah I guess so Steven, you are absolutely right.. :)

Mike, please let me know what the sound files should say and I will create them, give them some number and make a voice pack for people to download when they get their board.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10271
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: 9Xtreme Upgrade Board for 9x Radios

Post by Kilrah » Fri Aug 14, 2015 10:20 pm

s_mack wrote:I didn't think any device, be it for rc transmitters or cameras or gps or tablets or phones or whatever... included a memory card but someone pointed out to me that the 9xr does. I'm not sure why.
No because these devices usually have sufficient internal memory to assume all functions they advertise or are supposed to be able to run. But the way it is done here at least one key function (voice) fully depends on the card, so it makes sense having it supplied (and preloaded) by default.

Your board will be DIY so it's OK... but a "ready" radio like the 9XR Pro or the Taranis isn't, and it goes such a long way for user experience to flip the switch on and be greeted by voice straight away without having to go buy a card then fiddle with downloads first.

s_mack
Posts: 880
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 6:11 am
Country: -

Re: 9Xtreme Upgrade Board for 9x Radios

Post by s_mack » Sat Aug 15, 2015 2:14 am

Most cameras I've owned had no internal memory and the ones that did were only eno6gh for a couple of shots. My fridge didn't come with any food either. :)

Maybe I should have included one and raised the price accordingly. As I said, it never occurred to me and nobody suggested it until after I announced the pricing. I see the merits, but it also means charging everyone for something I would suspect most people already have. We'll see what feedback shows and if if we're lucky enough to have a 2nd batch, I'll consider it again.

Daedalus66
Posts: 1838
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Ottawa

Re: 9Xtreme Upgrade Board for 9x Radios

Post by Daedalus66 » Sat Aug 15, 2015 11:54 am

For a DIY project like this one there are no particular expectations. I certainly didn't expect a card. It's a different matter for a finished product, like a transmitter, where you should receive a complete unit with whatever is needed to make it work.

The only requirement here is clarity -- that we understand that a card is needed for full functionality. Most of us have several cards on hand. Nothing to agonize over!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19021
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: 9Xtreme Upgrade Board for 9x Radios

Post by jhsa » Sat Aug 15, 2015 12:55 pm

And if you don't have one, you buy one :)
We don't need a big capacity card for this, at least until the board starts recording videos too :mrgreen: which I think it won't happen until we replaced the RTC battery at least 2 and a half times. That means in the next decade or two ;) :mrgreen:

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
OctavioS
Posts: 588
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 11:54 pm
Country: Portugal
Location: Madeira

Re: 9Xtreme Upgrade Board for 9x Radios

Post by OctavioS » Sun Aug 16, 2015 12:33 pm

This board without battery and sdcard is more than ok. You will not spend too much for those.
3 x - 9X TX with 9xtreme board;
Turnigy 9XRpro ;
Frsky Taranis & Taranis +;
Horus x10s;
Horus x12s.
Too much radios? Yes too much damn radios. No more please.

"Sometimes you just have to take a leap and build your wings on the way down."

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16609
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: 9Xtreme Upgrade Board for 9x Radios

Post by MikeB » Sun Aug 16, 2015 10:33 pm

Haptic now also working. I had a spare FrSky haptic upgrade for the Taranis so I just wired that in (it includes the driver circuit) and sorted the code to drive it.

I've tested reducing the volume level further. The lowest audible setting is now about 1/50th of full volume and still perfectly clear if quite. This means we can free off the second DAC output, which can also operate as an analog input, for expansio use.

Having already changed the method of generating the tones, I'm partway towards being able to mix audio in software, so the second DAC output isn't isn't needed for that. A spare analog input may be used to convert the ELE switch to either a 3-pos or a 6-pos switch.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19021
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: 9Xtreme Upgrade Board for 9x Radios

Post by jhsa » Sun Aug 16, 2015 10:55 pm

Good news Mike, specially about the audio ;) :) I understand you mean also mixing 2 wav files in the future? Or did I misunderstood it? As usual :(

Thank you..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16609
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: 9Xtreme Upgrade Board for 9x Radios

Post by MikeB » Mon Aug 17, 2015 8:04 am

Initially I'll just be mixing the tones to any .wav file, but it should be possible to add mixing other .wav files later.
For the mixing to work, the .wav files will need to have a sample rate of 16kHz or 32kHz. Again, initially I'm working with 16kHz to get it working.
I've still to work out why "data logging started" gets interrupted when actually starting the logging!

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19021
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: 9Xtreme Upgrade Board for 9x Radios

Post by jhsa » Mon Aug 17, 2015 8:58 am

Nice on the audio Mike. Thanks..

I also still have this problem when I start the logging on my pro. It starts logging when I activate the motor with the throttle switch on my electric models.
The voice has a little hiccup most of the times. I remember you already attempted to correct this problem once. And it got better. But recently (few months ago) it started doing it again. Or I have realised it..

Thanks

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16609
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: 9Xtreme Upgrade Board for 9x Radios

Post by MikeB » Mon Aug 17, 2015 10:57 pm

jhsa wrote:Mike, please let me know what the sound files should say and I will create them, give them some number and make a voice pack for people to download when they get their board.
I'm looking in to where the voice files are in general. I'm sorting things so we can look for named system files, but with a fallback to non-voice audio if there is no SD card present.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19021
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: 9Xtreme Upgrade Board for 9x Radios

Post by jhsa » Mon Aug 17, 2015 11:02 pm

That is a good idea.
Also if you look at the sound list provided with the sound packs for ersky9x. Pro. Etc, I already gave all files a name, including the system files. If something is not ok with the names, please let me know and I'll change it..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 2128
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: 9Xtreme Upgrade Board for 9x Radios

Post by bob195558 » Wed Aug 19, 2015 10:16 pm

Hi,
I just received a progress update from Steven and he has some good news!
s_mack wrote:It works! The 9Xtreme works. That's the official result of the prototype testing phase.
I'm not surprised by that, but of course I'm excited and I wanted to share with you that our prototype testing is now done.
Last night I finalized all the minor changes that were necessary and I'm pleased to report we won't need any further rounds of prototypes.
All the files have been send to the factory for production, and the [really big] payment has been made.
We're all in now!
Which brings us that much closer to the elusive ETA (estimated time of arrival).
The only delays now would be caused by some component not being available, and that does happen from time to time.
Once they procure all the parts and get back to me with an ETA I will share it with you.
Several of you coaxed a "guess" out of me over the past several weeks, which I said would probably be "October to December".
I'm more confident in that guess now, and in fact I'd probably move that up and say "September to November" at this point,
but until I hear from the suppliers I can't say that is anything more than a guess.
For those of you waiting on the SP Basic board, nothing has changed.
They are still scheduled to be produced at the same time as the 9Xtreme.
Thanks again!
SmartieParts
email: [email protected]
Bob B.
Er9x on 9x radio, with Smartieparts Programmer and TelemetrEZ Board.
ErSky9x on Taranis, Sky9x, 9Xtreme radios.

3D Printing upgrades with (CR10 3D Printer): (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=85).

User avatar
OctavioS
Posts: 588
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 11:54 pm
Country: Portugal
Location: Madeira

Re: 9Xtreme Upgrade Board for 9x Radios

Post by OctavioS » Thu Aug 20, 2015 9:50 am

me too and pre-ordered the third. :)
3 x - 9X TX with 9xtreme board;
Turnigy 9XRpro ;
Frsky Taranis & Taranis +;
Horus x10s;
Horus x12s.
Too much radios? Yes too much damn radios. No more please.

"Sometimes you just have to take a leap and build your wings on the way down."

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19021
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: 9Xtreme Upgrade Board for 9x Radios

Post by jhsa » Thu Aug 20, 2015 10:06 am

Can you please leave some for other people? :mrgreen: ;)
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

pencorco
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2015 2:08 pm
Country: -

Re: 9Xtreme Upgrade Board for 9x Radios

Post by pencorco » Thu Aug 20, 2015 2:16 pm

I'm sure you answered this in one of the previous posts, but I can't seem to find it. You talk about the board working with the external modules, but I am planning on installing the FrSky DHT 8ch DIY Telemetry Compatible Transmitter Module and was wondering if this will be fully compatible with it.

Just want to say thanks for all you guys are doing to further lift the ceiling on the 9X.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16609
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: 9Xtreme Upgrade Board for 9x Radios

Post by MikeB » Thu Aug 20, 2015 7:39 pm

Absolutely! The 9Xtreme includes an internal PPM data stream, with switched power for an internal module. You may install the DHT, and still have the external module bay available for another module.

I've just tested using a '2561 processor board and, after a minor problem I had to fix, this flashed OK and started working.

Since you will have the RGB backlight, we are using this to show the flashing progress. When first powered on, the 9Xtreme looks for a working mainboard. While doing this, the RED backlight flashes. If the mainboard needs flashing, the the backlight is set BLUE while the flashing takes place (less then half a second), then the result of the flashing is reported by a GREEN backlight for 1 second if OK or a RED backlight for 2.5 seconds if it failed.
If the mainboard is already flashed and working, you won't see any of this, other than possibly a very brief RED flash.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!


Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”