FrSky SBUS to PWM decoder?

Cant get your radio to work? General Hardware issues?
Post Reply
RGN01
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2013 8:29 pm
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Meopham

FrSky SBUS to PWM decoder?

Post by RGN01 » Sun May 04, 2014 6:20 am

I can't get my FrSky SBUS - PWM decoder to work - can anyone see what I'm doing wrong, please?

The RX is a X8R. I first set each channel of the decoder using the FrSky SBUS Channel Changer and confirmed that each was set correctly. I then attach the decoder to the X8R SBUS port, attach a servo to any channel of the decoder and power up. All that happens is all the LEDS on the decoder light solid green and the servo/s buzz.

I can't get anything more than that to happen. Any ideas?

Thanks

Richard


User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10416
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: FrSky SBUS to PWM decoder?

Post by Kilrah » Sun May 04, 2014 6:27 am

What are your servos? You should only use digital servos on the decoder. The buzz is typical of analog servos not appreciating the fast refresh rate.

RGN01
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2013 8:29 pm
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Meopham

Re: FrSky SBUS to PWM decoder?

Post by RGN01 » Sun May 04, 2014 8:44 am

Thanks, Kilrah.

I thought they were digital but I will need to check that, then. They are flap servos buried in a wing so I'll have to dig them out to confirm.

Richard

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10416
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: FrSky SBUS to PWM decoder?

Post by Kilrah » Sun May 04, 2014 8:57 am

You might want to move channels around to connect the analogs directly to the receiver and keep the decoder pins for the digitals if you have a mix.

RGN01
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2013 8:29 pm
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Meopham

Re: FrSky SBUS to PWM decoder?

Post by RGN01 » Sun May 04, 2014 9:03 am

Thanks again, Kilrah.

They are Savox digital servos. I get no movement at all, just a high frequency buzzing. They work fine attached to the RX directly.

I wonder if this is something unique to Savox? I will have to try to find another make of digital servo to test with.

Richard


RGN01
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2013 8:29 pm
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Meopham

Re: FrSky SBUS to PWM decoder?

Post by RGN01 » Sun May 04, 2014 9:14 am

Just tried a Futaba S3050 digital servo. It goes to full deflection the doesn't do anything - it is also silent.

I'll keep trying!

A question, if I set one of the decoder output channels to the same as one of the RX channels (say channel 5), should the two outputs then both work? This isn't what I'm doing now - I'm using channels 9 - 12 on the decoder - but it may be a help when fault finding if this works.

Richard

User avatar
tilmanb
Posts: 347
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2012 9:36 pm
Country: Germany
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

Re: FrSky SBUS to PWM decoder?

Post by tilmanb » Sun May 04, 2014 9:15 am

My decoder worked when I added some mixes at channel 8 or so. Try that.

Written on my mobile. Please excuse my brevity.

RGN01
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2013 8:29 pm
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Meopham

Re: FrSky SBUS to PWM decoder?

Post by RGN01 » Sun May 04, 2014 9:17 am

Actually just had another thought - I'm using the built in module on a Taranis and it is set to XJT-D16 mode with channels 1 - 8. Should I increase this to 1 - 12?

Thanks for the response, Tilmanb - I have a mix set up on channel 9 - 12.

Thanks again.

Richard

RGN01
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2013 8:29 pm
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Meopham

Re: FrSky SBUS to PWM decoder?

Post by RGN01 » Sun May 04, 2014 9:42 am

Guys, thank you - just talking about it helped! ;)

Changing the channels output on the TX module page on Taranis sorted it! :D

Richard

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10416
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: FrSky SBUS to PWM decoder?

Post by Kilrah » Sun May 04, 2014 10:26 am

Yes of course, if the radio doesn't send out channels 9-12 it will be hard to use them on the other end ;)

User avatar
tilmanb
Posts: 347
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2012 9:36 pm
Country: Germany
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

Re: FrSky SBUS to PWM decoder?

Post by tilmanb » Sun May 04, 2014 2:18 pm

I had my recriver set up so it mirrored the first eight channels on sbus. I had a different issue. But glass you worked it out. :)

Written on my mobile. Please excuse my brevity.

PhilG
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 12:05 am
Country: -

Re: FrSky SBUS to PWM decoder?

Post by PhilG » Sat Sep 06, 2014 12:33 am

See
http://www.rcmf.co.uk/4um/index.php/topic,101234.0.html
Post 1: frame-rate divider for individual servos
Post 3: frame-rate divider for SBUS itself, affects all servos connected via the Frsky SBUS-PWM decoder

Both give an 18ms frame servo signal suitable for conventional servos

Cheers
Phil

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16732
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: FrSky SBUS to PWM decoder?

Post by MikeB » Sat Sep 06, 2014 1:51 pm

Can you tell which is the "first" of the repeated SBUS frames? I ask because if you pick the "second" one all the time you will add 9mS to the overall system latency.

(Off Topic)
I take it you are the PhilG I saw frequently on the GiantCod forum.
(/Off Topic)

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

PhilG
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 12:05 am
Country: -

Re: FrSky SBUS to PWM decoder?

Post by PhilG » Sun Sep 07, 2014 12:36 pm

Hi Mike, yes thats me. Cod was a long time ago, it used to be a great forum but went down the pan as soon as MHS took over.
The widget passes the very first burst it sees, and every subsequent 'odd' burst.
I'd not realised you were so heavily involved with the openrc projects, good work.
Cheers
Phil
http://www.singlechannel.co.uk

Edit - having to have my comments 'approved' is tiresome!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19211
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: FrSky SBUS to PWM decoder?

Post by jhsa » Sun Sep 07, 2014 5:50 pm

Just the first 5 posts or so.. ;)
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10416
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: FrSky SBUS to PWM decoder?

Post by Kilrah » Sun Sep 07, 2014 8:49 pm

2 posts actually.
PhilG wrote:The widget passes the very first burst it sees, and every subsequent 'odd' burst.
The problem is that if the radio is set to send up more than 8 channels each frame updates only 8 channels, while the other 8 are just a copy of the previous values. As it is you have a 50% chance of always taking the "copies" rather than the "originals", and by that adding 9ms latency.

Erni
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 3:41 pm
Country: -

Re: FrSky SBUS to PWM decoder?

Post by Erni » Mon Sep 08, 2014 12:54 pm

I was wondering if it was easyer and cheaper just to drop the SBUS decoder and use an Arduino mini instead.
There already is SBUS library to decode the sbus signal, and the Arduino servo library use the good old 20ms rate.
The only thing missing is a simple inverter.
I have tried it with just a single servo, just to see if it worked, and found no problems,


Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”