(solved) Adding 3-pos switches to 9XR on openTX 2.1

Cant get your radio to work? General Hardware issues?
Rolf
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 11:58 am
Country: Germany

Re: Adding 3-pos switches to 9XR on openTX 2.1

Post by Rolf » Tue Jun 18, 2019 5:41 am

I tried that many times, together with many other options. That evening when it did work, the last thing I did “Now set back all the options you dont need”. With your answer and a bit of thinking (setting a cpu pin to input might happen during boot up) I managed now to do the miracle: Activating that option like you said AND THEN REBOOT :-). Et voila: it works.

Thats most likly the reason why I could unset that option the other night and everything still worked, since I didnt restart the radio.

Thanks a million. Only thing now is the switch alarm. Unlike all other switches the ELE, pin 35, has to be in Down position to avoid alarm. No big thing, but ...

Rolf


User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18970
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: (solved) Adding 3-pos switches to 9XR on openTX 2.1

Post by jhsa » Tue Jun 18, 2019 8:20 am

Congratulations. :)
About the switch, you can change the default position in the settings.
Let me get to my radio a bit later, and I will post how to do it..

Or download the Er9x manual. I think you can also find it at www.er9x.com

João

Sent from my BLN-L21 using Tapatalk

My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Rolf
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 11:58 am
Country: Germany

Re: (solved) Adding 3-pos switches to 9XR on openTX 2.1

Post by Rolf » Tue Jun 18, 2019 5:42 pm

Found it in MODEL SETUP, GENERAL. Very nice, thank you

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18970
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: (solved) Adding 3-pos switches to 9XR on openTX 2.1

Post by jhsa » Tue Jun 18, 2019 6:17 pm

Wonderful.. :) Sorry I didn't get to help you on this one.. :( But good that you found it..That is the right way to learn how to use the firmware.. :) With the index menu shouldn't be difficult as the options and menus were thought to be as user friendly as possible :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16583
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: (solved) Adding 3-pos switches to 9XR on openTX 2.1

Post by MikeB » Mon Jul 29, 2019 12:04 am

Having saved 500 bytes of flash, I've been looking at extra 3-position switches. I now have options for converting ELE, RUD, AIL and GEA switches to 3-position. I've re-written the setting of the default switch positions and the switch checking code so they share the new code for these switches. I've also rewritten the code that displays the current switch positions on the DIAGKEYS menu and the main screen so they share code as well.
The result is I saved another 12 bytes of flash! The '64 version requires that the hardware configuration setting for these switches is done in eepe, and I have an updated eepe for this. I need to run a few more tests before I publish a test version with these changes in.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!


User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18970
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: (solved) Adding 3-pos switches to 9XR on openTX 2.1

Post by jhsa » Mon Jul 29, 2019 9:40 am

Thank you so much Mike.. It is really appreciated that you still care for this radio on its stock form.
I always wondered where the limit was, but you keep extending it, specially for the m64 processor. It has been nearly a 10 year journey as far as I remember. And it is unbelievable and amazing what you achieved on this platform.

Thank you again.

João

Sent from my BLN-L21 using Tapatalk

My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16583
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: (solved) Adding 3-pos switches to 9XR on openTX 2.1

Post by MikeB » Mon Jul 29, 2019 2:53 pm

I just moved some more common code created by these switch handling changes to a subroutine, so the total flash saving is now 588 bytes on the M64.

I don't use any of my 9X transmitters for flying these days, so I don't have much incentive to add things. Even creating this extra available flash (on the M64), I'm not sure I can add much that is really useful. I had a quick look at some possibilities and most needed much more flash than is now available.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!


Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”