Newcomer to Taranis and OpenTX. How do I set up Trainer?

Cant get your radio to work? General Hardware issues?
Post Reply
VarietyPack
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 1:01 am
Country: -

Newcomer to Taranis and OpenTX. How do I set up Trainer?

Post by VarietyPack » Tue May 08, 2018 7:51 am

My friends need help flying, and I'm their IP. When my old Dx6i had some pots die, I decided to move to FrSky instead of fix it. They can't afford new radios, I can't afford old radios. I also haven't been able to figure out how to set up Trainer binding like we used to do with the old Spektrum boxes.

I have set a Special Function to Trainer and enabled it, but I don't get the Trainer menu screen that I have seen other people use on YouTube. I plug in the jack and get the little haptic buzz with a beep, but I can't find the Trainer menu screen and my Trainer dead-man-switch doesn't do anything.

What am I missing?
To save everyone time, I lost all of the fingers on my right hand. Some fancypants surgeon put toes on my hand and called them "tingers". So now I have to use the rare Mode 3, and Taranis has proven to be very... handy...

Daedalus66
Posts: 1776
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Ottawa

Re: Newcomer to Taranis and OpenTX. How do I set up Trainer?

Post by Daedalus66 » Tue May 08, 2018 1:00 pm

Have you gone to Model Setup and chosen Master, Jack, then to Radio Setup, Trainer page. That should get you started.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18022
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Newcomer to Taranis and OpenTX. How do I set up Trainer?

Post by jhsa » Tue May 08, 2018 1:08 pm

I think he is trying to setup trainer between the X7 and an Dx6i??
I am not sure that will work without some kind of mod??

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Daedalus66
Posts: 1776
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Ottawa

Re: Newcomer to Taranis and OpenTX. How do I set up Trainer?

Post by Daedalus66 » Wed May 09, 2018 11:34 am

As I recall, the DX6i has an inverted trainer signal. I don’t remember any details, but I do recall that it is also essential to use a mono (not stereo) trainer cable and that this transmitter has often been troublesome in the slave role. It can be made to work, but it is not standard. Sorry, that’s the extent of my (possibly erroneous) recollection.

VarietyPack
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 1:01 am
Country: -

Re: Newcomer to Taranis and OpenTX. How do I set up Trainer?

Post by VarietyPack » Thu May 10, 2018 10:45 pm

Wow, I feel like a dunce. I didn't know how to reach the radio set-up page.

I got it to work just fine, although it scrambled the channel order for some reason. I'll test it tomorrow and see if any problems arise.
To save everyone time, I lost all of the fingers on my right hand. Some fancypants surgeon put toes on my hand and called them "tingers". So now I have to use the rare Mode 3, and Taranis has proven to be very... handy...


User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9611
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Newcomer to Taranis and OpenTX. How do I set up Trainer?

Post by Kilrah » Fri May 11, 2018 5:15 am

You can change the channel mapping on that trainer setup page.

VarietyPack
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 1:01 am
Country: -

Re: Newcomer to Taranis and OpenTX. How do I set up Trainer?

Post by VarietyPack » Fri May 11, 2018 2:14 pm

Thanks, yeah. I have trainer working now.
To save everyone time, I lost all of the fingers on my right hand. Some fancypants surgeon put toes on my hand and called them "tingers". So now I have to use the rare Mode 3, and Taranis has proven to be very... handy...

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”