Replacing Atmega64 with 128

Cant get your radio to work? General Hardware issues?
Post Reply
User avatar
Nickey
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 6:24 pm
Country: -

Replacing Atmega64 with 128

Post by Nickey » Thu Apr 05, 2018 6:52 pm

Hi all,

I have searched the forum and didn't find any topic about this, I want to replace my 9x Atmega64 with the 128 one.
is it possible? does it require any special programming accept from flashing the 128 hex?

10x all
Nickey


User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10275
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Replacing Atmega64 with 128

Post by Kilrah » Thu Apr 05, 2018 8:01 pm

Nope, many people have done it back then but since the time where this was common was about 6 years ago it might not show up in searches.
You just need a programmer that's able to work at slow speed to set fuses on a new chip.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19032
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Replacing Atmega64 with 128

Post by jhsa » Thu Apr 05, 2018 9:58 pm

Also, you might want to consider the m2561 chip. It also doubles the RAM of the m64, as well as the flash and eeprom..
The m128 only doubles the flash and eeprom..

Sent from my BLN-L21 using Tapatalk

My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

ReSt
Posts: 1523
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 pm
Country: -

Re: Replacing Atmega64 with 128

Post by ReSt » Fri Apr 06, 2018 8:56 am

I have searched the forum and didn't find any topic about this,
Have a look there

viewtopic.php?f=95&t=9160&p=118619&hili ... ck#p118619

Reinhard

User avatar
Nickey
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 6:24 pm
Country: -

Re: Replacing Atmega64 with 128

Post by Nickey » Fri Apr 06, 2018 9:28 am

Kilrha, I don't know how to work with programmers so, I took a perfectly working TX and replaced the chip, the result, the backlight is on but the screen is blank.
The interesting part is that eepe recognize the 128 chip and successfully burn the er9x-128.hex file but no screen.
Looking at this file: https://www.avrfreaks.net/sites/default ... oc2539.pdf , it says something about "No-Read-While-Write section" and ADC converter which I don't know what it means.

Hi Jhsa, will the m2561 chip be an easy option? I mean replacing and flashing?

Reinhard, the link is for physical instructions how to replace the chip, I already did that, I need to know how to make it work.

10x guys for the support


User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19032
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Replacing Atmega64 with 128

Post by jhsa » Fri Apr 06, 2018 10:02 am

The m2561 is as difficult to solder as the m128.. the same for flashing..

As for the display problem try this.
download the eeprom onto eepe. check the contrast value. Make sure it is at around 25. then burn the eeprom back to the radio.
I think you might have just a very low contrast setting.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
Nickey
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 6:24 pm
Country: -

Re: Replacing Atmega64 with 128

Post by Nickey » Fri Apr 06, 2018 9:30 pm

Hi João, Muito Obrigado, the setting for the contrast is 25

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ajd742vl7nfcv ... p.png?dl=0

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16609
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Replacing Atmega64 with 128

Post by MikeB » Fri Apr 06, 2018 9:47 pm

I suggest double checking the soldering of the pins of the new processor to make certain they are all soldered and there are no shorts between pins. It only takes one of the LCD connections to not be soldered or be shorted to another pin to stop the LCD from operating.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
Nickey
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 6:24 pm
Country: -

Re: Replacing Atmega64 with 128

Post by Nickey » Sat Apr 07, 2018 9:47 am

Hi Mike 10x for the direction, the problem was with the flux cleaner getting into the display ribbon cable connector.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/hvv45ln7pl5m6 ... 7.jpg?dl=0

Well, to conclude, yes, it is possible and needs only flashing the right HEX and setting eepe to 128, now the only problem left is to make Mikes sound module speak.... :D
Last edited by Nickey on Sat Apr 07, 2018 12:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19032
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Replacing Atmega64 with 128

Post by jhsa » Sat Apr 07, 2018 11:52 am

Nice that you've fixed it.. Well done:)

João

Sent from my BLN-L21 using Tapatalk

My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 2129
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: Replacing Atmega64 with 128

Post by bob195558 » Sat Apr 07, 2018 1:41 pm

Here is info about replacing the Chip if you are still interested:
(http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewtopic ... 120#p74046).
It is best to upgrade to the m2561 as you will have more capabilities, the 128 will give you less capabilities. :)
Er9x on 9x radio, with Smartieparts Programmer and TelemetrEZ Board.
ErSky9x on Taranis, Sky9x, 9Xtreme radios.

3D Printing upgrades with (CR10 3D Printer): (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=85).

User avatar
Nickey
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 6:24 pm
Country: -

Re: Replacing Atmega64 with 128

Post by Nickey » Fri Apr 13, 2018 4:34 pm

10x Bob, first I will enjoy my little triumph with the 128 for a while, then, I will go for the m2561.
Looking at the link you posted, you say something about fuses, is it a problem when flashing the new chip?

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 2129
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: Replacing Atmega64 with 128

Post by bob195558 » Fri Apr 13, 2018 5:16 pm

about fuses, no Not a problem, as you can see Mike and João helped me through flashing the new m2561 Chip.
They would be happy to help you also and you will love the m2561 Chip.
Mike has, using eepe to flash m2561 Chip, which helps a lot too.

Bob B.
Er9x on 9x radio, with Smartieparts Programmer and TelemetrEZ Board.
ErSky9x on Taranis, Sky9x, 9Xtreme radios.

3D Printing upgrades with (CR10 3D Printer): (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=85).

User avatar
Nickey
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 6:24 pm
Country: -

Re: Replacing Atmega64 with 128

Post by Nickey » Tue Apr 17, 2018 8:02 pm

What Hex file did you use?

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 2129
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: Replacing Atmega64 with 128

Post by bob195558 » Tue Apr 17, 2018 9:56 pm

Go to (http://www.er9x.com/)
and then select: er9x for Mega2561 processor (right click and select 'save as')
This file has been updated since 2014, but this is the one you would use for the M2561 chip.

I think see here using eepe to flash with: (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewtopic ... 120#p74295).
It has been several years since I did this, Mike and João are better help then I may be.
Er9x on 9x radio, with Smartieparts Programmer and TelemetrEZ Board.
ErSky9x on Taranis, Sky9x, 9Xtreme radios.

3D Printing upgrades with (CR10 3D Printer): (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=85).


Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”