"New" 9x's forget bind

Cant get your radio to work? General Hardware issues?
Post Reply
FadedFPV
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 6:26 pm
Country: -

"New" 9x's forget bind

Post by FadedFPV » Tue Jan 30, 2018 7:25 pm

Got a new 9x (afhds 2a model) out of the HobbyKing US warehouse that won't bind to more than one receiver at a time. Others are having this issue also.

This is HK's 9x Youtube add from thee months ago, it's actually AFHDS 2A not AFHDS. Not sure if it's a new release with AFHDS 2A types or what.

Contacted HobbyKing and they told me they would send me another one and that the bind issue was a known problem. I told them i didn't want another radio if it was going to have the same problem, they said it was rare and replacement radio should work normally. Sure enough the replacement radio is defective also. HK gave up after that and want me to just ask for a refund. I would just like a working 9x that runs IBUS and sbus (with xjt)

The radio has a hard time remembering model names also , both have Atmel64 chip which i thought was discontinued from 9x use in 2014.

I tried running the stock firmware form one of JHSA's 2014 posts but that was after trying er9x first, trying the firmware from his stock radio gives me "eeprom error" message so i'm stuck now running er9x.

Does this sound like a hardware issue or maybe they are flashing for the 128 chip when it has a 64?

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9602
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: "New" 9x's forget bind

Post by Kilrah » Tue Jan 30, 2018 8:34 pm

Binding issues would be a module thing, on a 9x radio firmware wouldn't affect it.
If the module only supports one bind then there's no way out of that limitation (apart from changing module for one that doesn't have the issue/limitation).

Note the new version doesn't change anything firmware wise, it's just a different module supplied.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15716
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: "New" 9x's forget bind

Post by MikeB » Tue Jan 30, 2018 9:16 pm

The original stock firmware AND EEPROM contents are here: http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=89.
You need to flash both, then you should be back to a radio working as stock.

Mike
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

FadedFPV
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 6:26 pm
Country: -

Re: "New" 9x's forget bind

Post by FadedFPV » Tue Jan 30, 2018 10:47 pm

So RF module remembers all the receiver ID's? I was thinking it was saved in model memory. Just to be clear it can bind to only one receiver at a time, if i bind to another receiver it will forget the receiver it was just previously bound to.....

I'll try to pick up a Flysky AFHDS 2A Module and give that a shot. HobbyKing doesn't sell a Turnigy AFHDS 2A modules for their modular Turnigy radios, so I guess that's why they aren't asking me to try another module.

EEprom error- i thought i ran eeprom for that stock firmware. I guess. Got it from this thread(third post from the bottom), http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=950 ..... Just noticed the note on his post, maybe i did it in wrong order and it's also from a th-9x.

Mike- I seen that post and saw it was from 2012, don't know what version has what so i tried JHSA's stock firmware and eeprom post that was from Oct 2014. I have a 2012 th-9x that's practically new also but it doesnt have a IBUS or SBUS model setup like these new versions do, just ppm and pwm.

Thanks for the help guys, trying to keep these three 9x's alive. Nice radio for the money, gimbals feel great. I have a a TGY-I6S transmitter also, gimbals are 100"% plastic except for the springs(from what i can see) and has crappy range(150 meters near the ground).

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15716
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: "New" 9x's forget bind

Post by MikeB » Tue Jan 30, 2018 11:17 pm

I've attached files that came from a recent 9X with AFHDS2A module. I have flashed these to a 9X with a M64 processor and it ran OK. I don't have an AFHDS2A module.

Normally, it is the receiver that stores the transmitter ID, so many receivers should bind to a single Tx module.

Mike
Attachments
TGY9xAFhds2a.zip
(48.98 KiB) Downloaded 24 times
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!


FadedFPV
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 6:26 pm
Country: -

Re: "New" 9x's forget bind

Post by FadedFPV » Tue Jan 30, 2018 11:41 pm

Okay I see, I'm running two depined IA6B's and a X6b. All three run and bind okay to the TG-I6S transmitter.......Also just opened my Turnigy AFHDS 2A module to mod the antenna and it's silkscreened with the Flysky module #. FS-RM003-v1.2-2017-02-10

I'll try that file, it's a pain to get at and rebind my receivers in my quads so might take a while.

Thanks Mike!!!

FadedFPV
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 6:26 pm
Country: -

Re: "New" 9x's forget bind

Post by FadedFPV » Wed Jan 31, 2018 2:20 am

No go, still got eeprom error.....seen somewhere some guy had to use a AVR-Burn because he couldn't get rid of eeprom error that he got from going back and forth between stock firm and er9x...

FadedFPV
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 6:26 pm
Country: -

Re: "New" 9x's forget bind

Post by FadedFPV » Wed Jan 31, 2018 2:44 am

Kilrah wrote:
Tue Jan 30, 2018 8:34 pm

If the module only supports one bind t
Do you think that's a design flaw or a bad batch of modules? Can't imagine it being designed like that, that would be illogical.

Again the module is Flysky RMOO3 version1.2 Oct. 2017

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9602
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: "New" 9x's forget bind

Post by Kilrah » Wed Jan 31, 2018 6:38 am

The common way to do things is that only the receiver stores data about the transmitter, not the opposite. It is however possible that it doesn't work that way on AFHDS2A and the transmitter also has to store something. Since a standard 9x has no advanced way of communicating with the module anything needing to be stored in the transmitter would need to be in the module. And since there's no communication way if something needs storing then only one set can be stored as there's no way of selecting sets.

A solution could be replacing the module with a multimodule...

FadedFPV
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 6:26 pm
Country: -

Re: "New" 9x's forget bind

Post by FadedFPV » Wed Jan 31, 2018 8:56 am

Yea I got a Frsky XJT module and some x4r-sb receivers for a solution. I'm fighting for ibus and trying to figure out what the problem is.

Strange thing is HobbyKing told me it was a rare issue that they know about it and that my replacement radio should work normally with the receivers I'm using. What's also strange is it comes with a PPM/pwm receiver that is not available to the public called the "ia8", and to boot i remember reading some youtube comment that this new 9x only works with this ia8 receiver. I disregarded that comment at the time as that guy didn't know what he was talking about.

Flysky still sells the 9x but it only comes with the RM002 module and r6b receiver which is AFHDS(not 2A) .

Flysky sells the RM003 but not with the 9x. Here is the product description........--->>>

Description:
Brand Name: Flysky
Item Name: FS-RM003 Transmitter Module
Compatible Protocol: Flysky AFHDS 2A

Features:
Second generation automatic frequency hopping digital system
Supports AFHDS 2A receivers
Can be installed in the FS-TH9X
Can switch output modes

Package Included:
1x Flysky FS-RM003 Transmitter Module..........

FadedFPV
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 6:26 pm
Country: -

Re: "New" 9x's forget bind/afhds 2A protocol

Post by FadedFPV » Wed Jan 31, 2018 7:23 pm

Found a interesting thread about the Walkera TX hackers hacking the AFHDS 2A protocol if anybody is interested, it's above my head.....
https://www.deviationtx.com/forum/proto ... mitstart=0

Tried flashing my 2012 9x with no luck, er9x or stock firm. Quadruple check pinout and continuity from from TX board to programmer board solder pads..... I can get er9x on my 2017 9x all day but still no luck putting stock firm back on.

FadedFPV
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 6:26 pm
Country: -

Re: "New" 9x's forget bind

Post by FadedFPV » Wed Jan 31, 2018 10:18 pm

Just got off live chat with a more competent HK product specialist that flies this radio/module combo.

It is the way the radio/module combo functions. If you wan't to fly one of your many models you have to rebind it each time you switch craft.

Probably best to ditch afhds2A module and get a xjt module and run Frsky gear, or get a non-modular AFHDS 2A radio if you really want ibus.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18012
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: "New" 9x's forget bind

Post by jhsa » Thu Feb 01, 2018 12:03 am

Or, as mentioned before, the multiprotocol module.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”