[HELP] Setting up mAh used with FCS-150A and OpenTX 2.1.3

krby

[HELP] Setting up mAh used with FCS-150A and OpenTX 2.1.3

Post by krby »

Hopefully this is the right forum, if not please let me know or maybe a moderator can move it.

I have an FCS-150A current sensor plugged into an X6R bound to a Taranis running 2.1.3. I am very familiar with doing some fairly complex stuff in OpenTX, but I am completely new to the telemetry section. I have read a bunch and watch various videos describing the process on OpenTX 2.0.

Here is where I am:
I have the sensor auto-discovered, the FCS-150 showed up as "Curr" with units in "A"mps, Precision = 1, Ratio and Offset both 0.0.
I have a telemetry screen setup showing the flight timer, RSSI, and Curr.

What I would like is a "mAh used" value on the telemetry screen. Actually, that's not true. I want it on the Telem screen, available for value readout when I flip a switch, and to have alarms set so when I get near 60% 70% and 80% of battery capacity (of course, I'll expect to have my battery capacity as a global variable, assume it is a constant for now).
From what I can piece together, is seems that I need to create a new sensor with type = "Calculated". Assuming that sensor is called "mAh", I believe I can figure out how to use mAh in the telemetry screen, for switch-based voice readout, and for alarms. Where I am stuck is creating that virtual 'mAh" sensor.

Which "operator" do I use for the calculated type? Consumption or Totalize sounds like they might do the trick. Maybe something else? But will that be enough? Does applying "consumption" to a current sensor with a value in "A" get me Ah? Or does it just get me A + A + A + A....? I really could use a description of the steps required to turn the value of the FCS-150A into a "mAh used" (or even just Ah if I can't convert) value.

Kilrah

Re: [HELP] Setting up mAh used with FCS-150A and OpenTX 2.1.

Post by Kilrah »

Consumption, and select unit mAh.
krby

Post by krby »