Horus X10S Express

BillE
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:21 am
Country: -

Horus X10S Express

Post by BillE » Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:25 am

Good Day All

Will OpenTX 2.2.4 run on the Horus X10S Express? I am expecting delivery of mine and it isn't clear if I need to wait for the Express version of 2.3

Many Thanks

Bill

(Off topic, but does anyone know what Battery I need for the TX?)


User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10232
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Horus X10S Express

Post by Kilrah » Sat Aug 17, 2019 6:35 am

The latter, the new hardware needs 2.3.

BillE
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:21 am
Country: -

Re: Horus X10S Express

Post by BillE » Sat Aug 17, 2019 8:16 am

Many thanks.

Does anyone know a time scale for 2.3? I don't expect an exact date, but are we talking days? Weeks? Months? Or have I been a bit premature with my order :D

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10232
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Horus X10S Express

Post by Kilrah » Sat Aug 17, 2019 8:35 am

Ptobably "weeks".

BillE
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:21 am
Country: -

Re: Horus X10S Express

Post by BillE » Sat Aug 17, 2019 8:51 am

Again, many thanks. It should be delivered Monday and whilst I'll look at FROS, I really want to get it onto OpenTX.

I've used Google and looked at FRSky's web site, but other than a 2S, they aren't very specific what battery I need - hopefully all will be revealed Monday!


BillE
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:21 am
Country: -

Re: Horus X10S Express

Post by BillE » Fri Aug 23, 2019 7:29 am

I have the radio and am very pleased with it. It came with a battery, so I need not have worried about that.

I don't like/can't get on with FROS and want to get it onto Open TX as soon as I can.

I did wonder if the 2.3 Nightly Builds would install - perhaps not to fly, but at least so I can have a play. However, whilst I can download the SD Card Content, the Firmware isn't available for the X10

I have a rather expensive paper weight whilst I wait for Open TX 2.3 :lol:

pafleraf
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 9:04 am
Country: Germany

Re: Horus X10S Express

Post by pafleraf » Wed Aug 28, 2019 7:20 am

@BillE we have started testing 2.3 with the new TXs and would need your help! Here are the details: viewtopic.php?f=45&t=12168

Just for the info, on my X10, all my models from 2.2 convert now perfectly and it's absolutely usable. Let's find out if this is the same for you ;-)

BillE
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:21 am
Country: -

Re: Horus X10S Express

Post by BillE » Thu Aug 29, 2019 7:33 am

WOW! Thank You!!

I installed 2.3 this morning and it works well - no issues so far.

I've copied all my models across and although I've yet to fully look through, all seems to be correct so far.

Excuse my ignorance here - The 'front page' of every model needs to be redone, that is the widgets I set up for each model have to be put back. I don't know if that's expected or if there was an issue? In any event it is an extremely MINOR point!

Many thanks for prompt service!

All the best

Bill

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10232
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Horus X10S Express

Post by Kilrah » Thu Aug 29, 2019 11:06 am

What did you copy them across from?

BillE
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:21 am
Country: -

Re: Horus X10S Express

Post by BillE » Thu Aug 29, 2019 11:57 am

An X10S

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10232
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Horus X10S Express

Post by Kilrah » Thu Aug 29, 2019 5:00 pm

And you used companion to convert them, right?

Envoyé de mon 16th en utilisant Tapatalk


BillE
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:21 am
Country: -

Re: Horus X10S Express

Post by BillE » Thu Aug 29, 2019 5:22 pm

I used 2.2 to read them from the X10S, saved the file. Opened the file in 2.3 and then saved it to the Express. I didn't "convert". Have I missed a step??

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10232
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Horus X10S Express

Post by Kilrah » Thu Aug 29, 2019 7:27 pm

Was 2.3 configured to x10 express type? If yes then it would have done the conversion, which means there's a bug in that process.

BillE
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:21 am
Country: -

Re: Horus X10S Express

Post by BillE » Thu Aug 29, 2019 8:51 pm

I can confirm that 2.3 was configured to X10 Express. I've just re-done it and whilst the models saved to the radio, the widgets didn't.

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10232
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Horus X10S Express

Post by Kilrah » Mon Sep 02, 2019 6:18 pm

Should now be fixed in the latest nightly.

BillE
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:21 am
Country: -

Re: Horus X10S Express

Post by BillE » Tue Sep 03, 2019 7:01 am

I must be doing something wrong then as it isn't fixed for me.

In Companion 2.2.4 I connect my X10S and read settings and models from TX. I then save the otx file to my PC, eject and disconnect my X10S.

I close down Companion 2.2.4 and open Companion 2.3

I open the otx file in Companion 2.3 and then connect my X10 Express. I write the setting and models to the TX. The models are fine (I've checked a recent change, so I know I have the correct file etc), but the home screen widgets don't show.

Am I doing something wrong?

Many thanks

Bill

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10232
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Horus X10S Express

Post by Kilrah » Tue Sep 03, 2019 7:16 am

On which companion 2.3 nightly version have you just been trying?

BillE
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:21 am
Country: -

Re: Horus X10S Express

Post by BillE » Tue Sep 03, 2019 7:38 am

You're a STAR!

I had updated to the latest firmware, but forgot about the latest companion.

I can confirm it works as expected.

(Apologies, operator error!)

BillE
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:21 am
Country: -

Re: Horus X10S Express

Post by BillE » Thu Sep 05, 2019 6:17 pm

I'm starting to have a play with the X10S Express with the latest nightlie - not to fly, but to get used to it.

I've run into two problems:

1) I can't find a way to bind to my old D16 receivers - the only option I have is ISRM

2) I have an Access RX4R. I put the TX into "Register", power the RX holding down the F/S Button, get a red and green solid LED, but nothing happens. It won't register.

Problem? Or operator error (again) ?

Many thanks

Bill

BillE
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:21 am
Country: -

Re: Horus X10S Express

Post by BillE » Fri Sep 06, 2019 7:05 pm

Can anyone confirm that D16 compatibility is available in the nightly build of 2.3 please?

I can now connect an Access RX (I needed too update the RX firmware), but I cannot see how to connect a D16 RX.

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10232
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Horus X10S Express

Post by Kilrah » Fri Sep 06, 2019 7:14 pm

Image

BillE
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:21 am
Country: -

Re: Horus X10S Express

Post by BillE » Fri Sep 06, 2019 7:32 pm

Any idea why mine says something different?? (LR12)
Attachments
exp.jpg

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10232
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Horus X10S Express

Post by Kilrah » Fri Sep 06, 2019 8:22 pm

That is another available choice... just select the right one.

BillE
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:21 am
Country: -

Re: Horus X10S Express

Post by BillE » Fri Sep 06, 2019 8:26 pm

I have the choice of Access or LR12 - No D16 in that menu :(

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10232
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Horus X10S Express

Post by Kilrah » Fri Sep 06, 2019 9:26 pm

Current nightly build should have it. You didn't say which one you were using.

BillE
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:21 am
Country: -

Re: Horus X10S Express

Post by BillE » Fri Sep 06, 2019 10:12 pm

I'm using the latest - 2.3.0N80

BillE
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:21 am
Country: -

Re: Horus X10S Express

Post by BillE » Sun Sep 08, 2019 7:40 am

I've made some progress on this.

I am in the UK so select "EU" when downloading the firmware. I do not have the option of D16.

If I download the firmware without selecting "EU" I DO have the D16 option.

I understand why the D8 is unavailable in the EU, but not the D16.

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10232
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Horus X10S Express

Post by Kilrah » Sun Sep 08, 2019 8:33 am

Likely a bug, the eu checkbox used to disable "the second item" and since there is no D8 the second item is now D16.

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10232
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Horus X10S Express

Post by Kilrah » Sun Sep 08, 2019 9:20 am

Confirmed, will be fixed in tomorrow's build.

BillE
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:21 am
Country: -

Re: Horus X10S Express

Post by BillE » Mon Sep 09, 2019 6:57 am

Many thanks, now working & I can successfully register/bind D16 & Access RX's :)


Post Reply

Return to “openTx for FrSky radios”