eepSKYe

eepSKYe is the desktop too for flashing and managing your sky9x firmware.
Post Reply
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15719
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

eepSKYe

Post by MikeB » Sat Feb 16, 2013 7:54 pm

I'll now use this post for test versions of eepskye.
Here is a provisional r423 with improvements to the print operation:
eepskye.zip
08-Mar-2018
fix bugs in and add more data to the print output.
(2.01 MiB) Downloaded 71 times


I've been working on a version of eepe for use with ersky9x. It is still in development, but I thought I would make it available as it should be useful.

I will update this as I go along, and the sources will appear in due course in a sub-directory of the eepe googlecode page.

This version is only for windows, maybe, when I have made the sources available, someone could build it for other platforms.

There is NO installer either (yet), you need to install eepe, then copy the .exe out of the zip into the same directory in which you put eepe.

NOW putting any TEST versions here instead
eepskye.zip
Test version for simulator window sizing
(797.03 KiB) Downloaded 693 times
Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
gohsthb
Posts: 1412
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 2:32 pm
Country: -
Location: Naperville, IL

Re: eepSKYe

Post by gohsthb » Sat Feb 16, 2013 9:43 pm

Is it only for the sky board, our does it do both the stock and sky boards?
-Gohst

Sent from my LG-P999 using Tapatalk 2

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15719
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: eepSKYe

Post by MikeB » Sat Feb 16, 2013 9:48 pm

It is only for the sky board. I'd like it to do both, but that will need quite a bit more time. I decided to do the simple thing first, while I got to grips with the program sturcture and QT creator. Possibly, having an er9x import function might be sufficient.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: eepSKYe

Post by kaos » Mon Feb 18, 2013 11:47 pm

MIke: Really appreciate you are working on the eepSkye. I will give it a try and see.

Just a thought. when I read the name eepSkye sounds strange, eeSkype or eepeSky sounds better. ;)

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18028
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: eepSKYe

Post by jhsa » Tue Feb 19, 2013 12:07 am

eeskype?? :shock: :o :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW


rdeanchurch
Posts: 574
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Rio Vista. CA

Re: eepSKYe

Post by rdeanchurch » Tue Feb 19, 2013 12:23 am

...Skype. Is it going to talk to me with video through a web cam? :mrgreen:

EepeSky sounds good to me. Skyeepe?
Dean
OldDmbThms: 1. Takeoff, 2. Crash, 3. Repair, GOTO 1

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: eepSKYe

Post by kaos » Tue Feb 19, 2013 1:14 am

rdeanchurch wrote:...Skype. Is it going to talk to me with video through a web cam? :mrgreen:
I thought that is what Mike is working on so we have more fun when we fly. :lol: :lol: :mrgreen:

rdeanchurch
Posts: 574
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Rio Vista. CA

Re: eepSKYe

Post by rdeanchurch » Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:58 pm

Mike are you looking for feedback on eepSkye?
If so in this forum or....?
Dean
OldDmbThms: 1. Takeoff, 2. Crash, 3. Repair, GOTO 1

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15719
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: eepSKYe

Post by MikeB » Tue Feb 19, 2013 11:17 pm

Yes, feedback here, there are quite a lot of details that need sorting, at present I need to know if there are any major problems, e.g. unable to read/write the radio!

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: eepSKYe

Post by kaos » Wed Feb 20, 2013 5:51 am

Mike:
just tried the eepskye/eepeSky ;)
A little joggling on set up but sorted it out. here is what I found so far for you to keep on your debug list:
->it can backup the eeprom without error from program, but with error in actual eeprom when viewed on pc.
-> it can backup the FW as well, have not checked to reload the back up FW yet. It would be nice when asked to down load new sky9x version, it can store the file name with version number in the file name as in C9x.
the backup eeprom when viewed:
-> in 'preference' , current version only shows 'r1' instead of r159.
-> in 'set up' page, the model voice name is missing.
* timer: in Tx is TriggerA, triggerB, but on the pc screen it says timer mode, timer mode B. would be better to match Tx name and eepe name. and triggerA(timer mode) is not backed up (as ---)
-> in custom swithes:
* V1 is not backed up
* V2 if it is a voice file name, it is correct. but if it is a voltage number 10.2v -->7, 4.3v-->41
->custom switches
* 'value' : if the value is a voice file name, it is correct. But A1 becmoes --- , A2 becomes A1

these are what i found so far.

rdeanchurch
Posts: 574
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Rio Vista. CA

Re: eepSKYe

Post by rdeanchurch » Wed Feb 20, 2013 6:21 pm

Just some quick play time on eepSkye

In a new mix Offset always seems to come up 8 instead of zero.
In custom switches cannot set V1 for and, v<ofs or v>ofs. I did not check other booleans.
Savving a model folder I can't seem to cnage its name in "save as" I could only save it as document3.bin which came up as default. It did save and recalled all when program exited and restarted. Error message on exit said
'document3.bin has been modidifed
Do you want to save your changes?'
Save Discard Cancel
Dean
OldDmbThms: 1. Takeoff, 2. Crash, 3. Repair, GOTO 1

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15719
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: eepSKYe

Post by MikeB » Wed Feb 20, 2013 11:39 pm

Fixed some of the problems, updated the file in the first post.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

rdeanchurch
Posts: 574
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Rio Vista. CA

Re: eepSKYe

Post by rdeanchurch » Thu Feb 21, 2013 1:20 am

Off my testing for the duration.
While trying to get my sky tx, back to fly tomorrow I somehow bricked? It. Brent says a flash erase then download boot will probably fix it. Good thing I have a backuo t9x with er9x or I wouldn't being in the air for the repair time. Looking forward to attacking eepeSky :shock: v-beta2.

Mike, maybe a Rev2 in the .zip's title for ease of tracking by us test animals ?
And when does the name change happen :mrgreen:
Dean
OldDmbThms: 1. Takeoff, 2. Crash, 3. Repair, GOTO 1

User avatar
Scott Page
Posts: 864
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 3:32 am
Country: United States
Location: Tri-Cities, Washington State

Re: eepSKYe

Post by Scott Page » Thu Feb 21, 2013 6:01 am

Mike, will this eepskye (or whatever) be more or less transferable to the FrSKY transmitter yet to be named? If no, do we expect ER9x to run on that platform?

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15719
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: eepSKYe

Post by MikeB » Thu Feb 21, 2013 5:03 pm

I've done some work towards getting ersky9x to run on the FrSky Tx, but I did a lot of work on the low level drivers while Bertrand (and Co.) were also working on the open9x user stuff for it, so they are somewhat ahead for a final implementation. I'll keep going with it, but currently there is only me working on the er9x range.

I'll try to remember to add a rev in the zip title, I have put the date beside it as a comment to help.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15719
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: eepSKYe

Post by MikeB » Fri Feb 22, 2013 5:09 pm

A name change will take a bit of editing, so it is still eepskye. I've fixed a few more problems, hopefully most, if not all mentioned above.
Zip file in the first post updated.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: eepSKYe

Post by kaos » Fri Feb 22, 2013 7:45 pm

eepskye is just fine. i am just pulling your legs. ;)
I will try out the new version tonight.

User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4537
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

Re: eepSKYe

Post by Rob Thomson » Fri Feb 22, 2013 8:14 pm

Mike.. would you like a separate sub forum for this software?
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!

rdeanchurch
Posts: 574
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Rio Vista. CA

Re: eepSKYe

Post by rdeanchurch » Sat Feb 23, 2013 1:34 am

Rob Thomson wrote:Mike.. would you like a separate sub forum for this software?
Mike, Separate forum vote from me. I think this might fill a real need.
Dean
OldDmbThms: 1. Takeoff, 2. Crash, 3. Repair, GOTO 1

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15719
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: eepSKYe

Post by MikeB » Sun Feb 24, 2013 10:54 am

Might as well have it separate. The sources will be in a sub-directory of eepe on the repository, I will probably put them up in the next few days, I think the program is useable now.

I've added the editing of flight phases now, r4-zip in the first post.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: eepSKYe

Post by kaos » Sun Feb 24, 2013 3:09 pm

Tons better on the 1st look. We are close. :)
I will work on it a little more detailed today and report back.

OK, just played with it:
--> the eepe/eeskye splash screen does not stay on screen for reading, only flashed for 1/10 of a sec and gone. better to stay on like eepe to read the version number.
--> Tx setup
spker vol: incorrect actual 12 --> backup as 7
brightness: is this planned for future revision or this is for optrex ( i am using HK LCD). r159 does not have this.
Mah alarm: 1950 --> 2496
rotary devisor: not backed up.

model setup:
--> setup:
-> 1st few models name on top of page (the window frame ) is wrong. "Editing Model1: P51 Mustan "
the actual model name is correct. when open 1st model the 2nd model appear on the page name instead of the 1st model name. but on the actual page the name is correct. so is 2,3,4 ,5 till 9th model, if there is a blank model , say 'model 7'it will add a model once try to open

timer 2: nomenclature change to the same as triggerA/B

--> Frysky
channel 1: 13.2 --> 132
channel 2: 19.8 --> 198 no decimal
--> custom switch
telemetry value, a voltage 10.2v --> 102C 4.3v-->84
--> safety switch
value = A1 it's not backed up,
value = A2 is backed up as A1
a voice file number mostly correct, I found one voice file 250 was backed up as 249

that is for now.
Last edited by kaos on Sun Feb 24, 2013 7:38 pm, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4537
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

Re: eepSKYe

Post by Rob Thomson » Sun Feb 24, 2013 4:18 pm

MikeB wrote:Might as well have it separate. The sources will be in a sub-directory of eepe on the repository, I will probably put them up in the next few days, I think the program is useable now.

I've added the editing of flight phases now, r4-zip in the first post.

Mike.
Done!
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!

rdeanchurch
Posts: 574
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Rio Vista. CA

Re: eepSKYe

Post by rdeanchurch » Sun Feb 24, 2013 6:18 pm

R4

Set a timer1 triggerA to THs or ABS or ???
Save the model file as .bin

exit eepskye

start eepskye
retrieve the bin

The triggerA (or Timer Mode for timerB) is blank
triggerB value retained.


Its looking good Mike. It has a nice feel to it!
Dean
OldDmbThms: 1. Takeoff, 2. Crash, 3. Repair, GOTO 1

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15719
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: eepSKYe

Post by MikeB » Sun Feb 24, 2013 8:16 pm

Thanks, I have a fix for that. I'm looking to improve the Phases tab a bit, allow the actual trim values to be displayed as well as the selection.
I'll put this fix in, and leave the Phases tab under development, you will see numbers, but won't be able to change them (yet).
I've corrected the Timer 2 labels as well.

I'm sure there will be some more little problems, it is difficult to test everything, and I've had to do a lot to get this far, but these little problems should not be too difficult to fix.
I think I will be able to put the sources on the repository now.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: eepSKYe

Post by kaos » Sun Feb 24, 2013 9:25 pm

we are getting there. take your time. As I recall the interface is easy to do BUT very time consuming to get everything right. The core is there already. Just takes some time to iron everything out. :)
I never saw an interface got everything right the 1st few times. Always some little thing. ;)

SFflyer
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 12:54 pm
Country: -

Re: eepSKYe

Post by SFflyer » Tue Feb 26, 2013 2:29 pm

This is excellent Mike - thank you.
I have been testing it out with my Quad setup; this is what I have found :

Model name limited to 8 chars - actually better than eepe but could it be more ?

Switches: problem with adding booleans for CSW_M on my model (.bin appended) but can do this on an 'empty' model set-up. Memory size setting ?

Can't use decimal points in FrSky alarms set-up - already reported but this is no different than with eepe.

I have an unwanted offset creeping in on Ch5.

I am using delays on Ch10 & Ch11. These work ok in eePskye for Ch10 the first time it is activated but not subsequently.Doesn't work at all on Ch11. Works as intended on the Tx.

Can't resize the Model Edit window other than horizontally - i.e. vertical & diagonal re-sizing not active.

I found that I can't read data from Tx - get the message 'Error reading file. File wrong size - C/Users/AppData/Local/Temp/temp.bin' Others clearly can, where am I going wrong ??

All the voice switch data can be set up - and it works fine on the Tx - but can eePskye (or eepe for that matter) activate a sound file on the PC. Not found anything about this on the forums but it would be excellent if it could.

I understand that this is a work in progress but eagerly awaiting the next update.

My model file is attached (I hope) as a zip file.
Attachments
document1.zip
(599 Bytes) Downloaded 165 times

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15719
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: eepSKYe

Post by MikeB » Tue Feb 26, 2013 3:52 pm

Thanks, can yoy confirm you are using r4.zip please?

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

SFflyer
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 12:54 pm
Country: -

Re: eepSKYe

Post by SFflyer » Tue Feb 26, 2013 5:15 pm

Yes Mike - Rev 4, 24th Feb.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15719
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: eepSKYe

Post by MikeB » Tue Feb 26, 2013 5:56 pm

I'll check your other points, but the model name is 10 chars long. Check you do not have some trailing spaces, they are counted in the 10, so if you have 8 chars and 2 spaces, and try to type a 9th char in, it won't work.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

SFflyer
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 12:54 pm
Country: -

Re: eepSKYe

Post by SFflyer » Tue Feb 26, 2013 8:00 pm

Hmmm, that's interesting. I've just tried again with eepSKYe and got 9 chars in - wouldn't accept 10. There were no spaces used at all. Closed the program and restarted - limit of 7 chars !! Tried again - 8.
Tried with eePe and had a similar result with 10 chars being accepted on one trial but also got as low as 5.
No idea what's going on.
I'm running Windows 7 64 bit.

Post Reply

Return to “eepSKYe”