New speed sensor: SDP3x

Development & General Chat for the superb openxvario project.

Moderator: rainer

Tempo

New speed sensor: SDP3x

Post by Tempo »

Many thanks to mstrens for the integration of the sensor family SDP3x and SDP8x into the project openXsensor ! ;)

SDP3x and SDP8x are thermal-flow-sensors.
I have been using thermal-flow sensors for 5 years now for measuring airspeed, but also for angle of attack and sideslip measurements.
The measuring principle of a thermal-flow-sensors is superior to the usual membrane-sensor principle ( e.g. 4525DO (digital) or MPXV7002 (analog)) for the low pressure differences of our glider models.
Especially at low pressure differences, i.e. small flight speeds, the sensitivity of a thermal-flow-sensors is high and its best field of application. Only at high to very high flight speeds (about 100 km/h or more) are the sensors based on the membrane principle more sensitive and can resolve the flight speed better.

Information about the SDP3x in the appendix.

Tempo

Re: New speed sensor: SDP3x

Post by Tempo »

My application example with 3 thermal-flow-sensors and a 5-hole-probe. With this arrangement, flight speed, angle of attack and angle of sideslip are measured simultaneously. The long fuselage head of my F3J thermal glider serves as a probe head, which protrudes far in front of the wing :-)

3 thermal-flow-sensors (old version SDP6x, similar to SDP8x) inside fuselage:
3SDPx_fuselage_IMG_20200413_083726.jpg
3SDPx_fuselage_IMG_20200413_083726.jpg (37.44 KiB) Viewed 13910 times
3thermal-flow-sensors with fuselage-nose as probe:
SDP3x_fuselage_nose_IMG_20200413_083405.jpg
SDP3x_fuselage_nose_IMG_20200413_083405.jpg (31.44 KiB) Viewed 13910 times
5-hole-probe at fuselage-nose:
SDP3x_5holeprobe_IMG_20200413_083310.jpg
SDP3x_5holeprobe_IMG_20200413_083310.jpg (17.57 KiB) Viewed 13910 times
Tempo

Post by Tempo »

In my current project I am equipping my small DLG glider with sensors:

Here I use openXsensor.