Arduino Due based TX

Electronic projects that are either related to the firmwares for the 9x, or simply great for radio control applications.
humblehacker

Arduino Due based TX

Post by humblehacker »

Hello,
I am relatively new to the RC world though I have plenty of experience working with Arduino etc... I recently upgraded from a Spektrum DX5e to a Turnigy 9xR Pro and I noticed that the 9xR Pro is based on the same chipset as the Arduino Due (ATSAM3x8E). I'm wondering if it would be possible to flash the Arduino Due with OpenTX or another 9xR Pro-compatible firmware and use it with the shell, pots, switches etc... from the Dx5e? If necessary I could cut an opening for an Arduino LCD screen and any extra switches etc...

I've tried searching for "Arduino Due, Dx5e, OpenTX" etc... but the only information I could find were a few threads on this forum that seemed to indicate that it should be possible. So if anybody is aware of
A,Whether or not it can actually be done
and/or
B.where I could find documentation on pinouts, firmware etc...
I would greatly appreciate your assistance!

In case anybody is wondering why I would want to DIY my own 9xr Pro when I already have one, it is because I'm working on a long term experiment that involves building an aircraft with as many DIY components as possible. So in addition to homebrewing a Naze32 FC with an STM32+10DOF sensors I would eventually like to homebrew things like the RX and TX using NRF2401 modules and Arduino. To ensure I don't go crazy in the process however, I'll be building another quadrotor in parallel that uses off-the-shelf components like a Flip32+, and OpenLRSng RX/TX modules with the 9Xr Pro. That way I can rely on there being plenty of documentation to help me get my bearings. Eventually I hope to document the entire process so hopefully others can build their own homebrew versions without as much hassle.