Page 1 of 2

9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2016 2:20 pm
by efbe
I don't know what to do anymore, maybe You can put me in the right direction.
After successfully installing 9Xtreme, I run in some problem.
(FW:V.3531-Mike ersky9x-r218)

Everything worked and I could switch to my Assan X8J Tx module.
So I started to play around with the different settings
Then with the FrSky DJT Tx module the servo's didn't react anymore.
I seem to have binding with the FrSky DJT Tx module and for example the FrSky D8R -XP and D8R-II Plus Rx modules.
But the servo's don't react, wich they did before without any problem.
As the Assan X8JTx stil worked, I thought that maybe the FrSky DJT module was faulty, and I ordered an other one.
But after installing, I have the same result, the servo's don't react, but Telemetry works.
Is there some parameter that could cause this, which I mistakenly could have changed ?
I hope You can give me some tips....

And another thing, is there already an updated version of the eePskye, there are some changes,
like in voice, no voice "numbers" but voice "names'
And what are "Default Model Version" in the eePskye Preferences ?
Thanks,
efbe

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2016 4:28 pm
by MikeB
Release versions are at: http://www.er9x.com/.
Latest test versions are here: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=4676 (both ersky9x and eepskye).

With the DJT, try creating a new model, check the protocol is PPM and see if you get any servo response.

Mike.

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 8:50 am
by efbe
Mike,
Thanks for looking at the problem,
Both Internal and External are ON with following parameters.

Proto PPM 8CH 300uSec
PPM FrLen 22.5Sec
1st Chan 1
Polarity POS

Fred

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 9:00 am
by jhsa
Can you please confirm again that your Assan module works? Try it again please. DO NOT CHANGE MODULES WHEN THE RADIO IS ON. Turn it off before you remove or insert an RF module.

João

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 9:21 am
by efbe
Yes,

I just tried again.

Fred

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 11:50 am
by MikeB
You said "Everything worked and I could switch to my Assan X8J Tx module", does this mean the DJT did work at that time?
I assume the DJT worked OK before you upgraded to the 9Xtreme.

Mike.

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 12:16 pm
by jhsa
efbe wrote:Yes,

I just tried again.

Fred
Fred, please remove the module, and post a good picture from your module bay.

João

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 12:19 pm
by efbe
You said "Everything worked and I could switch to my Assan X8J Tx module", does this mean the DJT did work at that time?

Yes
I assume the DJT worked OK before you upgraded to the 9Xtreme
Yes, and also after the upgrade to 9xtreme.

I then started to bind different Rx's, and at some point I hat the servo problem.
Because the Assan still worked, I thought that maybe the DJT was faulty.
I ordered a new one, but the problem is still the same.
The binding seems OK, I have Telemetry (A1 internal).
If I disconnect battery on the Rx, I get the "No Telemetry Voice".
If I disconnect the white/black wires on the Tx, I get the "No Telemetry Voice".
Fred

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 12:58 pm
by Kilrah
You did trim the plastic around the pins in the radio's module compartment and do make sure the module is fully inserted, right?

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 1:03 pm
by efbe
Yes,
The 2 DJT modules are trimmed, other wise the don't snap-in.

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 1:07 pm
by jhsa
You trimmed the modules? :o
Normally we cut the plastic around th pins in the module bay.. It could be that your modules are still not making contact with all thr pins..
That is why I asked for the picture by the way.. ;) :)

João

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 1:53 pm
by Kilrah
+1. Trimming the module is not a proper solution.

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 2:39 pm
by efbe
Trimmed, cutting ....just semantics. :D

I CUTTED the opening on the backside of the DJT modules.
They "snap" in the module bay.
But this can not be the issue, module A, worked before, both with SmartieParts 9x Programmer and the 9Xtreme.
(picture added)

Fred

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 3:31 pm
by jhsa
What are the settings of the protocol menu when you use the Assan module, and what are your settings for the DJT?
Are both PPM?
Are you testing with the same model?
Are you testing with servos connected to the receivers, or flight controllers?
When you go to main screen that shows the channel outputs as bars, do they move when you move the sticks?

João

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 3:54 pm
by efbe
What are the settings of the protocol menu when you use the Assan module, and what are your settings for the DJT?
Are both PPM?

Both
Proto PPM 8CH 300uSec
PPM FrLen 22.5Sec
1st Chan 1
Polarity POS
Are you testing with the same model?
Tested with al my Recievers and four servo's
Are you testing with servos connected to the receivers, or flight controllers?
to Receiver
When you go to main screen that shows the channel outputs as bars, do they move when you move the sticks?
YES

Fred

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 3:55 pm
by Kilrah
If we tell you that cutting the module isn't good enough it's because we know it's been a source of issues in the past. So please listen to the advice you ask for...
The shroud around the pins still doesn't leave enough length to ensure a reliable connection. Might work or not depending on pressure and how it's been wiggled.

Envoyé de mon SM-G930F en utilisant Tapatalk

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 4:06 pm
by efbe
So what is Your advise then ?

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 4:14 pm
by jhsa
efbe wrote:What are the settings of the protocol menu when you use the Assan module, and what are your settings for the DJT?
Are both PPM?

Both
Proto PPM 8CH 300uSec
PPM FrLen 22.5Sec
1st Chan 1
Polarity POS
Are you testing with the same model?
Tested with al my Recievers and four servo's
Are you testing with servos connected to the receivers, or flight controllers?
to Receiver
When you go to main screen that shows the channel outputs as bars, do they move when you move the sticks?
YES

Fred
Ok, As I thought this proves what we think it is happening. There is no problem with the radio or software.
It all indicates that there is a bad connection between the radio and the module..
As Kilrah said, the plastic around the pins might still be pushing the module's PCB upwards preventing the PPM pin (Pin 1) from connecting to the module.
I think you should remove that bit of plastic around the pins.
I don't understand why it did work before as you say, but if it did, and you were flying models with it, then I believe you had a time bomb in your hands that fortunately never exploded :) ;)

João

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky Essential 9x Radio Module Bay Modification

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 5:02 pm
by bob195558
Hi Fred,
You should remove the plastic from around the 5 pins in your 9x radio module bay.
It will help you a lot!
You will need to remove the green back PC board before doing this essential modification.
Should look like this when when completed.
9x module Bay.jpg
Remove the plastic from around the 5 pins so that your Transmitter Module fits properly.
9X back green board.jpg
Open up your 9x radio and remove the back green PC board so that the 5 pins
are out of the way before removing the interfering plastic.
Bob B.

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 8:15 pm
by efbe
OK
I did that.
Still the same.
the only problem is that the conical tap helped to align the pins, is not so easy now to put in the module.

Now I took the PCB out of the case, put it in the bay, the pins are sticking out now like +_2mm.
Still the same.
I measured with a multimeter, al pins have contact.

Fred

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 9:35 pm
by MikeB
This is very strange. To summarise where you are, if you plug the Assan module in, you can control servos, but if you plug either DJT in, using the same model slot and settings, you don't get any servo response. However, you do see the A1 telemetry value. Do you also see RSSI and TSSI values?

I'm going to ask a silly question, but the servos are plugged into the receiver correctly aren't they?

Mike.

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 10:25 pm
by efbe
Correct
For the RSSI and TSSI, I will comeback on that tomorrow.
(time here is 00.24 AM)

Yes, the servos are correctly connected.
Assan: signal upper pin
FrSky: Signal down pin

Fred

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 10:36 pm
by MikeB
OK, while you get no servo response, are the servos holding their centre position, or are they just not being driven?

Mike.

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 10:41 pm
by jhsa
Did your radio have any mod done on the PPM circuit before you installed the 9xtreme board?
Please post a good picture of your back board..
What you are describing makes no sense as it points to two broken DJT modules, which is hard to believe. But it would help if you had another radio where you could test them..

João

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Posted: Sat Apr 23, 2016 8:36 am
by efbe
OK, while you get no servo response, are the servos holding their centre position, or are they just not being driven?
They seem not to be driven.

When I decenter them before connecting to the battery, they don't move at all.

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Posted: Sat Apr 23, 2016 8:55 am
by jhsa
How are you powering your receiver and servos?

As i asked before, can you please post a picture of your setup where we can see your connections?
Thanks

joão

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Posted: Sat Apr 23, 2016 9:15 am
by efbe
Did your radio have any mod done on the PPM circuit before you installed the 9xtreme board?
Please post a good picture of your back board..

I did no mods on the backboard.
(see pic.)

What you are describing makes no sense as it points to two broken DJT modules, which is hard to believe. But it would help if you had another radio where you could test them..
I don't have another radio.

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Posted: Sat Apr 23, 2016 9:27 am
by jhsa
It looks all good there..
The problem can't be the radio as it works with your assam module, with the same protocol settings, and same model loaded, right?
Can you please post a picture of how you are connecting things to the receiver(s)??

João

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Posted: Sat Apr 23, 2016 10:10 am
by MikeB
Don't forget to let us know the RSSI and TSSI values.

Mike.

Re: 9Xtreme, FrSky DJT, no servo output

Posted: Sat Apr 23, 2016 10:12 am
by efbe
fr.jpg
Here the requested pic's.
I just change the Rx.