EepSkye new model wizard

erskyTx runs on many radios and upgrade boards
ersky9x was a port of er9x for use on the sky9x board.
Post Reply
User avatar
RCHH
Posts: 465
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 2:48 pm
Country: -
Location: Plymouth

EepSkye new model wizard

Post by RCHH » Thu Apr 30, 2015 4:13 pm

Downloaded and applied the new exe from todays test version.
Lovely simple wizard routine - so easy to follow.

However, could the amount of available channels be increased?

Loooking good though!
The simpleton asked "Hows about ErSky9X for Horus???". And the Genius from Dorset replied "Why not indeed? I shall get right onto it!" And then there was light on Horus! And it was good!


User avatar
KAL
Posts: 552
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:36 pm
Country: Germany
Location: somewhere near Rothenburg ob der Tauber

Re: EepSkye new model wizard

Post by KAL » Thu Apr 30, 2015 4:27 pm

Nice work.

Just for consistency:
It would be nice if the wizard could take the "default channel order"
from "preferences..." menu into account.

Klaus
( TH9X / 9XTreme / FrSky DHT / Spektrum / Multi / RotEnc )
( 9XR PRO / erSKY9x  / FrSky DHT / Spektrum / Multi / RotEnc / P3 as Slider )

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16556
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: EepSkye new model wizard

Post by MikeB » Thu Apr 30, 2015 4:35 pm

I thought it did, I'll need to check what it is doing.

Mike.

Edit: I've been using AETR, just changed to RETA, ran the wizard, it used RETA OK. What isn't working?
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
skylark
Posts: 197
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 6:18 pm
Country: -
Location: Oxford, England

Re: EepSkye new model wizard

Post by skylark » Sun May 03, 2015 5:50 pm

MikeB wrote:I thought it did, I'll need to check what it is doing.

Mike.

Edit: I've been using AETR, just changed to RETA, ran the wizard, it used RETA OK. What isn't working?
Hi guys,
I'm back again after yet another long layoff. I was just beginning to have Openrcforums withdrawal symptoms but as usual saved by the bell.
As per usual, well done to Mike on his brilliant endeavours with this software and to jhsa the test master et al. Brilliant guys.
I have just downloaded the latest offering of EepSkye the helicopter select button in the wizard is greyed out so I cannot use it. The other buttons seem to work OK. Also any chance the wizard button could be on the top menu or even in the dropdown file menu. I can only get it within the edit menu on a right click. My opinion, or am I running the wrong version of something ?.
Kind regards to all.
Stan.
He who knows not and knows not he knows not, is a fool: SHUN HIM.

He who knows and knows he knows, is a wise man : SEEK HIM

But he who knows not and knows he knows not, is a baby: TEACH HIM.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16556
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: EepSkye new model wizard

Post by MikeB » Sun May 03, 2015 6:30 pm

Welcome back.
As I admitted on another thread, I've taken the model wizard from openTx companion. It was written by "dvogonen" and he is happy I've copied it. THe heli option is greyed out in openTx companion, so I assumed it didn't work so I left it greyed out.
I'll look into enabling it and see what happens!
The wizard is only relevant if you start editing a model, which is why it isn't on other menus. If you don't have a model ready for editing, it doesn't have a context in which to run. What openTx companion has, which I have yet to add, is a "preferences" option to always use the wizard when creating a new model.
All very new, I only posted the first version with the wizard in 3 days ago!

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!


User avatar
KAL
Posts: 552
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:36 pm
Country: Germany
Location: somewhere near Rothenburg ob der Tauber

Re: EepSkye new model wizard

Post by KAL » Sun May 03, 2015 6:46 pm

MikeB wrote:I thought it did, I'll need to check what it is doing.

Mike.

Edit: I've been using AETR, just changed to RETA, ran the wizard, it used RETA OK. What isn't working?
Sorry for replying so late, I was on the road during weekend.

I use TAER as default. So I would expect the wizard to offer channel one for throttle,
channel 3 for elevator and channel 4 for rudder.
Actually it offers channel 2 for throttle channel 3 for rudder and channel 4 for elevator.

Klaus
Last edited by KAL on Sun May 03, 2015 6:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
( TH9X / 9XTreme / FrSky DHT / Spektrum / Multi / RotEnc )
( 9XR PRO / erSKY9x  / FrSky DHT / Spektrum / Multi / RotEnc / P3 as Slider )

User avatar
RCHH
Posts: 465
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 2:48 pm
Country: -
Location: Plymouth

Re: EepSkye new model wizard

Post by RCHH » Sun May 03, 2015 6:48 pm

The helicopter wizard is greyed out as from speaking ages ago about the similar issue on the Taranis OpenTX and the LUA scripts, there was no-one with enough heli setup knowledge to get it implemented. Same issue here I suspect?

I do have the experience, but transferring that to a software coding scenario is above and beyond me. However, if, and I say if, I could be given some insight into what parameters are needed, then I am only too willing to pass that to a developer. Worth a try ... ?
The simpleton asked "Hows about ErSky9X for Horus???". And the Genius from Dorset replied "Why not indeed? I shall get right onto it!" And then there was light on Horus! And it was good!

User avatar
skylark
Posts: 197
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 6:18 pm
Country: -
Location: Oxford, England

Re: EepSkye new model wizard

Post by skylark » Sun May 03, 2015 7:40 pm

Mike,
Thanks for explaining the situation. It would be a nice feature if it could be made to work. I will continue to live in hope.
Stan.
He who knows not and knows not he knows not, is a fool: SHUN HIM.

He who knows and knows he knows, is a wise man : SEEK HIM

But he who knows not and knows he knows not, is a baby: TEACH HIM.

User avatar
skylark
Posts: 197
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 6:18 pm
Country: -
Location: Oxford, England

Re: EepSkye new model wizard

Post by skylark » Sun May 03, 2015 7:57 pm

RCHH wrote:The helicopter wizard is greyed out as from speaking ages ago about the similar issue on the Taranis OpenTX and the LUA scripts, there was no-one with enough heli setup knowledge to get it implemented. Same issue here I suspect?

I do have the experience, but transferring that to a software coding scenario is above and beyond me. However, if, and I say if, I could be given some insight into what parameters are needed, then I am only too willing to pass that to a developer. Worth a try ... ?

RCHH, Thank you. Maybe you could get together with Mike when he's got the time and get things going as alas I have not the experience to do it. That would be great
Regards.
Stan.
He who knows not and knows not he knows not, is a fool: SHUN HIM.

He who knows and knows he knows, is a wise man : SEEK HIM

But he who knows not and knows he knows not, is a baby: TEACH HIM.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16556
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: EepSkye new model wizard

Post by MikeB » Sun May 03, 2015 8:33 pm

Just posted a new test version of eepskye.
KAL: Hopefully the channel order problem is fixed.

I've enabled the HELI wizard. It asks lots of questions, but doesn't put anything properly into the model settings.
Since I didn't write the code, it will take a while to work out how it should do this.
Initially, Are these the correct questions, and what values/mixes should get written into the model.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
RCHH
Posts: 465
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 2:48 pm
Country: -
Location: Plymouth

Re: EepSkye new model wizard

Post by RCHH » Sun May 03, 2015 9:00 pm

For a flybarless (FBL) heli, the questions and in fact what the settings end up like are fine, as FBL helis only use the four channels due to the FBL controllers taking care of the mixing. It is indeed common to use an ordinary 4 channel Acro model for FBL helis.

Edit: Should have also said a channel would need to be created to activate the different flight modes - as Idle Up etc. are still required for FBL helis.

Will post a Flybarred mix later on when at TX
The simpleton asked "Hows about ErSky9X for Horus???". And the Genius from Dorset replied "Why not indeed? I shall get right onto it!" And then there was light on Horus! And it was good!

User avatar
RCHH
Posts: 465
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 2:48 pm
Country: -
Location: Plymouth

Re: EepSkye new model wizard

Post by RCHH » Sun May 03, 2015 9:34 pm

Flybarred heli mix, based on the original heli templates from back in the day:

CH01 +100%Thr Switch(ID0) noTrim Curve(c1)
+100%Thr Switch(ID1) noTrim Curve(c2)
+100%Thr Switch(ID2) noTrim Curve(c3)
R -100%HALF Switch(THR)
CH02 +100%CYC3
CH03 +100%CYC2
CH04 +100%Rud
CH05 +30%FULL Switch(!GEA)
CH06 +100%CYC1
CH07
CH08
CH09
CH10
CH11 +70%Thr Switch(ID0) noTrim Curve(c4)
+70%Thr Switch(ID1) noTrim Curve(c5)
+70%Thr Switch(ID2) noTrim Curve(c6)
The simpleton asked "Hows about ErSky9X for Horus???". And the Genius from Dorset replied "Why not indeed? I shall get right onto it!" And then there was light on Horus! And it was good!

User avatar
skylark
Posts: 197
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 6:18 pm
Country: -
Location: Oxford, England

Re: EepSkye new model wizard

Post by skylark » Mon May 04, 2015 12:08 am

I have just loaded an older version of eepskye and set up a new model mix. This is how it pans out. It worked well with a little juggling:

The original wizard on eepskye Gave this setup incluing "Sticky T-Cut" (I think Ch14)
Ch01 +100% cyc1
Cho2 +100% cyc2
Ch03 +100% cyc3
R -100% half switch (LC)

Ch04 +100% Rud

Ch05 + 100% THR switch (IDO) no trim (C1)
+100% THR switch (ID1) no trim (C2)
+100% THR switch (ID2) no trim (C3)
R -100% half switch (THR)

Ch06 +30% full switch (!GEA)
+50% P2 switch (!GEA) offset (100%)
-50% P2 switch (!GEA) offset (100%)

Ch11 +100% THR switch (ID0) no trim curve (C4)
+100% THR switch (ID1) no trim curve (C5)
+100% THR switch (ID2) no trim curve (C6)

Ch14 +100% CH14
R -100% half switch (LB)
R +100% half switch (THR)

This is what the templates as they used to be in eepskye presented the user. Not all quite right but with a slight bit of juggling all was well. The original 9x templates produced more or less the same thing.
The juggling required:-
Ch01 +100% CYC2
Ch02 +100% CYC1
Ch03 +100% THR and all it's lines
Ch04 +100% RUD
Ch05 +50% P2 switch (!GEA) offset (100%)
-50% P2 switch (!GEA) offset (100%)
Ch06 +100% CYC3

That was the final layout.
Regards.
Stan
He who knows not and knows not he knows not, is a fool: SHUN HIM.

He who knows and knows he knows, is a wise man : SEEK HIM

But he who knows not and knows he knows not, is a baby: TEACH HIM.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18909
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: EepSkye new model wizard

Post by jhsa » Mon May 04, 2015 5:52 am

If I remember well the heli templates were fixed lately as before they weren't working quite well.. I believe they could be a good starting point for the wizard?

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
skylark
Posts: 197
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 6:18 pm
Country: -
Location: Oxford, England

Re: EepSkye new model wizard

Post by skylark » Mon May 04, 2015 11:12 am

jhsa wrote:If I remember well the heli templates were fixed lately as before they weren't working quite well.. I believe they could be a good starting point for the wizard?

João
Yes jhsa, My sentiments exactly. In any case the Heli templates in the older version of eepskye, though not perfect was very near the mark. I may only need to be tidied up a bit (Opinion only).
Stan.
He who knows not and knows not he knows not, is a fool: SHUN HIM.

He who knows and knows he knows, is a wise man : SEEK HIM

But he who knows not and knows he knows not, is a baby: TEACH HIM.

User avatar
skylark
Posts: 197
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 6:18 pm
Country: -
Location: Oxford, England

Re: EepSkye new model wizard

Post by skylark » Tue May 05, 2015 4:56 pm

Mike,
As you said, the new Eepskye templates does follow the RETA channel order but it no longer implement the "Sticky T-cut" routine, thus there is no entry for CH14 in a new model setup.
The New Wizard on the other hand follow the EATR channel order by default which can be manipulated as you wish, but it seem it can only produce or create the simple 4-CH setup. I was able to manipulate the 4 channels, change the channel order and so on but that's about it.
I also downloaded Companion. It produced all the channels in the right order without any manipulation whatsoever, which means it has been tidied up a bit.
IMO, I think if "Sticky T-cut" can be re-implemented in "Templates" and the wizard 'directed' to use the "Templates" routines, all will be well. I think. But then again this could be a case of "Easier said than done"
End of ranting, (laugh, ha, Ha)
Just food for thought eh. It would be a nice feature, sort of icing on the cake if it could be sorted.
Stan.
He who knows not and knows not he knows not, is a fool: SHUN HIM.

He who knows and knows he knows, is a wise man : SEEK HIM

But he who knows not and knows he knows not, is a baby: TEACH HIM.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18909
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: EepSkye new model wizard

Post by jhsa » Tue May 05, 2015 5:22 pm

Stan, There is a sticky throttle cut in templates. Also the wizard does program a sticky throttle cut..

Just not the way you are used to from opentx or old er9x.. ;)
after applying the sticky T-cut from the template menu or the wizard, please go to the safety switches menu and check your throttle channel..
There is an option:

CH3 X (means sticky T-cut) THR -100

No more big mess with channels and logical switches needed. Welcome to the new er9x :mrgreen:
It's all explained on the new manual ;) You can download it here:

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=6473

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
skylark
Posts: 197
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 6:18 pm
Country: -
Location: Oxford, England

Re: EepSkye new model wizard

Post by skylark » Tue May 05, 2015 6:01 pm

Cheers jhsa,
Will go directly to jail. Another learning curve. Does not pay to stay away too long does it ?. I forgot how quick Mike is on the draw., ha, ha, ha.
Stan.
He who knows not and knows not he knows not, is a fool: SHUN HIM.

He who knows and knows he knows, is a wise man : SEEK HIM

But he who knows not and knows he knows not, is a baby: TEACH HIM.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18909
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: EepSkye new model wizard

Post by jhsa » Tue May 05, 2015 6:08 pm

Not so steep learning curve anymore as er9x got much more user friendly. ;) Just look at the new menu system, voice alarms, etc ;)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
skylark
Posts: 197
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 6:18 pm
Country: -
Location: Oxford, England

Re: EepSkye new model wizard

Post by skylark » Tue May 05, 2015 7:06 pm

jhsa,
Sir, you jest, but..... many true words were spoken in jest, (to begin with). Ha, Ha, Ha. Looks great so far.
Stan.
He who knows not and knows not he knows not, is a fool: SHUN HIM.

He who knows and knows he knows, is a wise man : SEEK HIM

But he who knows not and knows he knows not, is a baby: TEACH HIM.

User avatar
skylark
Posts: 197
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 6:18 pm
Country: -
Location: Oxford, England

Re: EepSkye new model wizard

Post by skylark » Thu May 07, 2015 7:16 pm

Hi jhsa, Thanks for pointing me in the right direction. Read relevant sections of the manual, (very nice work. by the way) got to grips (just), with the new Templates features. I have yet to update myself on the rest of it but it will come. Lots more reading ahead. I have not yet fathomed out how the wizard works. Try as I might it only produced the basic model on the first 4 CH's. Editing an existing model, wizard erased all the models' existing lines, reducing the model setup to just the basic simple 4 channel setup. What am I missing ?. I cannot, for the moment, see the wood for the trees. Help me dear mentor.
Stan.
He who knows not and knows not he knows not, is a fool: SHUN HIM.

He who knows and knows he knows, is a wise man : SEEK HIM

But he who knows not and knows he knows not, is a baby: TEACH HIM.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18909
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: EepSkye new model wizard

Post by jhsa » Thu May 07, 2015 7:24 pm

Stan, if you tried the heli wizard, I think it does that because it actually does nothing. That is why it was greyed out I suppose. The developers asked for the help of people with knowledge about helis exactly to help the code the heli wizard..
Someone please correct me if I'm wrong..

João
EDIT: I just saw it, "Dear mentor.???" :mrgreen:
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
skylark
Posts: 197
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 6:18 pm
Country: -
Location: Oxford, England

Re: EepSkye new model wizard

Post by skylark » Thu May 07, 2015 10:30 pm

Hey jhsa ,
You are quicker than "greased lightening", nothing short. Superman has nothing over you, Ha, Ha, Ha.
It is great to be back. As always, thanks for your help.
Stan.
He who knows not and knows not he knows not, is a fool: SHUN HIM.

He who knows and knows he knows, is a wise man : SEEK HIM

But he who knows not and knows he knows not, is a baby: TEACH HIM.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18909
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: EepSkye new model wizard

Post by jhsa » Thu May 07, 2015 10:43 pm

;) :)
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW


Post Reply

Return to “erskyTx (was ersky9x)”