ERSKY9X on Taranis

erskyTx runs on many radios and upgrade boards
ersky9x was a port of er9x for use on the sky9x board.
Daedalus66
Posts: 1838
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Ottawa

ERSKY9X on Taranis

Post by Daedalus66 » Fri May 13, 2016 4:54 pm

I'm having a problem getting the Lemon Stabilized Receiver to bind with a Spektrum DM9 module in the Taranis with R218 ErSky9x firmware. Bind progresses normally right to the end but never quite finishes by giving a solid light on the receiver.

I'm confident the problem is in the bind process, as I have tried it with two different DM9 modules, both of which work normally with other receivers (DSM2 and DSMX) in the Taranis and other transmitters, and two different Lemon Stab receivers. Indeed, with the module in an old JR XP783 the Lemons bind normally. Also, other Lemon, Orange and Spektrum receivers bind normally with the module in the Taranis. The only combination that doesn't work is Lemon Stab in Taranis with ErSky9x.

I've got the frame set to 400 and polarity to NEG (and have tried other settings just in case). Any ideas?

One clue might be that I do know the Lemon Stab receiver stretches the pulses slightly.


User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16625
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ERSKY9X on Taranis

Post by MikeB » Fri May 13, 2016 6:07 pm

You could try changing the number of channels on PPM to 7, the same as the XP783.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Daedalus66
Posts: 1838
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Ottawa

ERSKY9X on Taranis

Post by Daedalus66 » Fri May 13, 2016 6:48 pm

Actually the 783 has 8 channels. Mine was upgraded by Horizon Hobby to 388 standard (though I suspect it was 8 channels all along). That also provided heli mixing.

I tested on 7 but no difference. And the Lemon Stab is actually a 10 channel Rx with 8 used (channel 8 is master gain).

Regarding the stretching of pulse width, the Lemon Stab takes in a range of 1100 to 1900 and changes it to 1040 to 1960, about 7% increase. Lemon acknowledge that they do this.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16625
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ERSKY9X on Taranis

Post by MikeB » Fri May 13, 2016 9:14 pm

Since you are using PPM, what happens if you bind the DM9 to the Rx in another Tx, then put it in the Taranis. Since the module is bound, it should work.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Daedalus66
Posts: 1838
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Ottawa

ERSKY9X on Taranis

Post by Daedalus66 » Fri May 13, 2016 11:10 pm

That was an idea that I hadn't tried but unfortunately it didn't work. I bound the Lemon to the JR without difficulty and it worked correctly. But then when I transferred the module to the Taranis no sign of life.

What I notice is that the DM9 lights up when in the JR whereas in the Taranis it doesn't, a fairly clear indication that something is amiss. If I try to bind by holding the button at start-up, all seems normal, and the module light flashes while the bind process unfolds (so there is life there). Then just when it seems ready to go to a solid light for bind, the Tx and Rx bind lights go out while the stab indicator lights keep flashing. And that's as far as it goes. I've tried all the usual tricks like moving away 2-3m.

I should say this is not a high priority matter, as I can work around it using another Tx.


User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16625
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ERSKY9X on Taranis

Post by MikeB » Fri May 13, 2016 11:27 pm

Have you any way of looking at the PPM signal from the JR (oscilloscope)?

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Daedalus66
Posts: 1838
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Ottawa

Re: ERSKY9X on Taranis

Post by Daedalus66 » Sat May 14, 2016 4:36 pm

I'll have a go and report back. Thank you.

stewwy
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 11:44 pm
Country: United Kingdom

Re: ERSKY9X on Taranis

Post by stewwy » Tue May 24, 2016 8:32 pm

I've a new Taranis which I'm starting to get to grips with, but I've also got a 9x with 9extreme board running ersky9x.

My question is what are the advantages and disadvantages of running Ersky9x vs the latest OpenTX?

or does anyone have a link to where this is discussed?

many thanks :-)

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16625
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ERSKY9X on Taranis

Post by MikeB » Tue May 24, 2016 9:19 pm

It's usually a matter of personal preference.
Both a quite capable. Unless you have a requirement that only one will do, either should be fine.
With the Taranis, you can backup the firmware and EEPROM, then load ersky9x to try it. If you want to go back, just restore the backups.
If you have ersky9x on both, you should be able to transfer models between them.

I don't think openTx has been ported to run on the 9Xtreme.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 2139
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: ERSKY9X on Taranis

Post by bob195558 » Tue May 24, 2016 9:32 pm

Hi stewwy,
ERSKY9X / ERSKY9X on Taranis can do some things that OpenTX can not do.
Like using both the internal and external XJT (or external DJT) modules at the same time
choosing to use the external module as the primary telemetry module (Com2 Telemetry cable connection).
You can use two D-Series Receivers, one to each transmitter module makes it possible to have 16 channels to use with D-Series Receivers.
You can choose which protocol to use with the external module, PPM or PXX.
It is an advantage for me to use the same firmware (ERSKY9X on Taranis and ERSKY9X on 9Xtreme)
so you will not have to remember all the differences between different transmitter firmware's.

Bob B.
Er9x on 9x radio, with Smartieparts Programmer and TelemetrEZ Board.
ErSky9x on Taranis, Sky9x, 9Xtreme radios.

3D Printing upgrades with (CR10 3D Printer): (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=85).

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16625
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ERSKY9X on Taranis

Post by MikeB » Sat May 28, 2016 8:39 pm

I've just registered the Taranis (and Plus) has two spare I/O signals. They are brought out to pads, and are originally intended for use either for debugging, or as part of the JTAG interface. Since we don't need either, we can re-use them for another purpose.
Now the big question, WHAT FOR?
I could arrange for them to be two switch inputs e.g. for added push buttons.
One could be used as the control input for a bluetooth module, although the serial connections to a bluetooth module are not easy as the connector in the battery bay has the signals inverted. We would either need to invert them again, or solder wires to fine tracks/pins to get at the non-inverted signals.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16625
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ERSKY9X on Taranis

Post by MikeB » Mon Jun 13, 2016 5:40 pm

Instructions for modifying a Taranis to be able to use these two signals.
Ersky9x is modified (test version) to use these for two push buttons, and/or, in maintenance mode, to use them to flash the XMEGA processor on an Orange module.
TaranisPb.pdf
13-Jun-2016 18:40
(209.07 KiB) Downloaded 95 times
Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

phil
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 7:03 am
Country: Germany
Location: München

Re: ERSKY9X on Taranis

Post by phil » Sat Aug 13, 2016 6:35 am

hi mike , it is possible to make a program change . I have on my ersky9x taranis and wanted to briefly switch to the opentx . so far I have not managed . thank you

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16625
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ERSKY9X on Taranis

Post by MikeB » Sat Aug 13, 2016 8:39 am

Have you downloaded a binary file of openTx?

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

phil
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 7:03 am
Country: Germany
Location: München

Re: ERSKY9X on Taranis

Post by phil » Sat Aug 13, 2016 10:15 am

Hello Mike, on the card have opentx2.018.bin and x9d_rom.bin

When i make the bootloader i can nothing make.
regards phil

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16625
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ERSKY9X on Taranis

Post by MikeB » Sat Aug 13, 2016 1:14 pm

Note that flashing openTx will re-format the EEPROM, so you need to backup the EEPROM before any flashing.

Where on the SD card do you have these files? (In what sub-directory?)

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

phil
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 7:03 am
Country: Germany
Location: München

Re: ERSKY9X on Taranis

Post by phil » Sat Aug 13, 2016 1:30 pm

hi mike I have the two firmware on the firmware directory . in eeprom is 2016-01-07-17-26-29.bin . But when I call the sender eeprom , nothing is displayed. flash does nothing for me .
gruß phil

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16625
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ERSKY9X on Taranis

Post by MikeB » Sat Aug 13, 2016 5:10 pm

What is displayed on the bootloader screen?

Do you see something like:

Boot Loader V1.7Ready

then a list of files?

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

phil
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 7:03 am
Country: Germany
Location: München

Re: ERSKY9X on Taranis

Post by phil » Sat Aug 13, 2016 6:25 pm

Hi Mike , Thanks for your help . the word eeprom has raised some questions for me , I went to the handbook , and have found that you should save . I made . then the bootloader both has shown programs and now I could switch . I am unfortunately not as well versed with Compurr and software . also taranis with the opportunities for me is a little high . I 'm happy when I program clean u fly . can .
cordial greetings from bayern munich , phil

phil
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 7:03 am
Country: Germany
Location: München

Re: ERSKY9X on Taranis

Post by phil » Sun Aug 14, 2016 6:03 am

good morning mike ,
a question I have : radio setup on the side eeprom is always disabled . also is only 1 model abgespeiechert on the card , the which is currently open. is that correct or should I download a newer firmware . gruß phil

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16625
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ERSKY9X on Taranis

Post by MikeB » Sun Aug 14, 2016 9:05 am

Power on holding the LEFT horizontal trim to the LEFT. THis enables both the hardware menu and the EEPROM menu.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 2139
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: erSky9x on Taranis (M9 Gimbals Stick Direction Fix with erSky9x)

Post by bob195558 » Sat May 13, 2017 12:03 am

Upgrade to M9 Gimbals, Fix Stick Direction

Hold Left trims to the left while Powering up Radio.
Go to "Radio Setup" / "Hardware" / "Stick Reverse" you can make you stick direction changes here.

It may be easier to make changes in eepSkye and then flash back to Radio.
(eepSkye / eeprom / General Settings / General Edit / Setup / Stick Reverse)
er9x manual: (viewtopic.php?f=5&t=6473).
Video: (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX30WhY ... 7s&index=9) and (https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... qcuIqJXhb9).

Also see:
(viewtopic.php?f=95&t=9977&p=128321#p128312),
(viewtopic.php?f=95&t=9977&p=128321#p128321).

Bob B.
Er9x on 9x radio, with Smartieparts Programmer and TelemetrEZ Board.
ErSky9x on Taranis, Sky9x, 9Xtreme radios.

3D Printing upgrades with (CR10 3D Printer): (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=85).

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 2139
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: ERSKY9X on Taranis (erSky9x Directory layout for SD card for voice files)

Post by bob195558 » Sun May 14, 2017 12:02 am

erSky9x Micro SD Card list of folder Directories:

firmware
IMAGES
LOGS
MODELS
TEXT
voice


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(Note: In voice folder you should have (see) these sub-directories)
voice:
modelNames
system
user

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
erSky9x voice files find here: (viewtopic.php?f=7&t=7715).

"IMAGES" zip file for erSky9x (199 images):
IMAGES.zip
Down-Load and un-zip file and add IMAGES folder to your SD card.
(121.36 KiB) Downloaded 54 times

Bob B.
Last edited by bob195558 on Fri Feb 22, 2019 9:10 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Er9x on 9x radio, with Smartieparts Programmer and TelemetrEZ Board.
ErSky9x on Taranis, Sky9x, 9Xtreme radios.

3D Printing upgrades with (CR10 3D Printer): (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=85).

antlerhanger
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2018 3:19 am
Country: United States

Re: ERSKY9X on Taranis

Post by antlerhanger » Fri Feb 22, 2019 6:45 pm

This may be stupid or impossible ,If it is just say " ALLEN YOU ARE STUPID " . OK..Is there a way to disable the internal frsky module and add an internal multimodule. That's all I use on my pro's , and I have no frysky rx's ..I know I can use external but was wondering about internal mods .

Allen

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 2139
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: erSky9x on Taranis

Post by bob195558 » Fri Feb 22, 2019 8:54 pm

Hi antlerhanger,
Are you wanting in your Taranis radio two internal and one external modules ? :?
I would not know how this would be done to remove the internal XJT module from the Taranis radio
and replace it with a Multimodule. I think it could be done, but with much difficulty.

If you are wanting to use a Multimodule with your Taranis radio and as this is (I am speculating)
the only transmitter module that you would be using, there is no advantage to do this kind
of a very difficult mod.
You can turn off the internal module and only have the external module turned on,
if this is what you are needing to know.

In case I am not understanding correctly how you are planning to use the Multimodule,
please feel free to provide more info. :)
Er9x on 9x radio, with Smartieparts Programmer and TelemetrEZ Board.
ErSky9x on Taranis, Sky9x, 9Xtreme radios.

3D Printing upgrades with (CR10 3D Printer): (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=85).

antlerhanger
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2018 3:19 am
Country: United States

Re: ERSKY9X on Taranis

Post by antlerhanger » Fri Feb 22, 2019 9:18 pm

As I have no Frsky receivers , I have no use for the internal xjt module . I thought I might be able to install a internal multi with internal hookups and leave the module bay open in case I needed it ..I'm so used to the pro and the Taranis is new to me .

Thanks
Allen

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 2139
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: ERSKY9X on Taranis

Post by bob195558 » Fri Feb 22, 2019 10:38 pm

OK 8-) , then I would suggest if you then find that you wanted to use a different external module,
then just swap them out using the external module bay.
I think the Multimodule may do all that you needed with all the different protocols that it has.
So you may be good to go ! :)

I do not have the 9XR-Pro, but I do have the Sky9x, 9XTreme, and the Taranis radio
which I like the best of all. :D All are using the erSky9x firmware. :)
Er9x on 9x radio, with Smartieparts Programmer and TelemetrEZ Board.
ErSky9x on Taranis, Sky9x, 9Xtreme radios.

3D Printing upgrades with (CR10 3D Printer): (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=85).

antlerhanger
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2018 3:19 am
Country: United States

Re: ERSKY9X on Taranis

Post by antlerhanger » Fri Feb 22, 2019 10:56 pm

I've got 3 of the irange IRX4 plus modules and 2 of the Bangood modules..I just thought it might give me more channels..I have 3 pro's and a Taranus + and I actually like the pro better..All use erSky9x firmware

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16625
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ERSKY9X on Taranis

Post by MikeB » Fri Feb 22, 2019 11:17 pm

Currently the Multi protocol is not supported on the internal connection in a Taranis. This is because the internal XJT is "always" connected!

If you want more channels, the "easiest" way is to use a FrSky receiver with a SBUS output to get 16 channels.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

antlerhanger
Posts: 165
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2018 3:19 am
Country: United States

Re: ERSKY9X on Taranis

Post by antlerhanger » Fri Feb 22, 2019 11:46 pm

I really bought the Taranis to experiment on ..I changed the case and upgraded speaker and put M9 Gimbals in it..I was just wondering if I could unsolder the XJT module and install a internal module..No big deal as the external module will do what I need . I Use my pro as my main radio . ERSKY9X is a fantastic FW

Thanks
Allen


Post Reply

Return to “erskyTx (was ersky9x)”