ERSKY9x Questions

ersky9x is a port of er9x for use on the sky9x board.
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15716
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by MikeB » Wed Jan 24, 2018 11:17 pm

I haven't got a bootloader written for the Horus yet, so you do need to use a DFU method to flash it.
Because there is no bootloader, eepskye cannot access the SD card over the USB (yet).
There is no EEPROM on the Horus, so all the radio settings and models are on the SD card.

I'm working on getting a bootloader available.

Mike
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
QuarX
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2014 4:44 am
Country: Spain
Location: Granada

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by QuarX » Thu Jan 25, 2018 11:29 pm

Thanks, Mike
I understand that the Horus version is very recent. I have created several models manually to be able to do some tests.
I was able to see the RADIO folder on the SD card.
Is there a way to manipulate the .bin files inside with the eePskye? I get a wrong size error.
Jose A
It´s your fault HAHAHA...

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15716
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by MikeB » Fri Jan 26, 2018 6:48 pm

I'm working on some of this. I've just got the model BACKUP and RESTORE working. When you do a BACKUP, it writes a .eepm file to the SD card, and a RESTORE imports a .eepm file into an empty model slot.
eepskye can import and export .eepm files, so (once I post updated firmware) it should be possible to:
Backup a model.
Take the SD card and put it on the PC.
Run eepskye and import the .eepm file, and then edit it.
Export the model back to the .eepm file.
Put the SD card back in the radio.
RESTORE the edited .eepm file into an empty model slot (or delete the original model and import into that slot.

Far from ideal, but a first method for the Horus.
I'll look to see if I can get a bootloader written, the firmware has a "placeholder" for it, I just need to pull all the code together.

Mike
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18012
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by jhsa » Sat Jan 27, 2018 3:23 pm

jhsa wrote:
Tue Jan 16, 2018 11:32 am
Mike, my 9xtreme radio fell down from my computer desk last night :(
Now when I turn it ON it flashes red twice before it turns ON. Then the first character of the model name is always flashing..

Any idea of what might be happening? The radio seems to still work..

Thanks

João
I have just repaired my radio. Well, at the moment it is working fine.
As I started to work on it, after I opened the case, I couldn't move the board, it was well held in place. I unscrewed it a bit, moved it a little, and tightened it again. It worked, but a while after the serial communication with the 9x mainboard broke again. :( So, I knew that the board moving could not be the main problem..
I then removed the board and cleaned the 9x mainboard pads with alcohol. I also verified that the pogo pins's springs were working properly. Assembled the radio, and even after hitting it hard, it doesn't lose the serial communication anymore, so I guess all might be good now, but need testing before flying my models with this radio again. This is my main radio at the moment.

I believe this problem happening wasn't just a direct consequence of the radio falling to the floor. I think it just showed the real problem.
Since the beginning that I suspected that sooner or later the pogo pins system will give us problems. The 9x mainboard's pads also get dirty and oxidize over time.
I guess I should have kept to my original plan of removing the pins and solder wires in their place. If this ever happens again, that is what I will do.

Good that we have a backup. Thanks a lot Mike..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

DGHallal
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun May 08, 2016 1:05 pm
Country: -

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by DGHallal » Thu Mar 01, 2018 3:41 am

Hello, I hope someone can help me. I have a built a Powered Paraglider and am having trouble getting a full servo throw for the aileron function. I have done a curve for the brakes and get the full (180 degree) throw on the two servos for them, and have the aileron to only work half of the aileron curve so only one servo is pulling one side of the parachute at a time. I just can’t seem to wrap my head around how to do the curve to get the full 180 throw for the ailerons. Any suggestions? I have posted a video of it functioning and a picture of the mix I’ve used. It’s on the RC Groups forum in the aircraft-exotic-and-special-interest-358/Paraglider forum. Here’s the link to the page.
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthr ... r-a-9xrPro


User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15716
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by MikeB » Thu Mar 01, 2018 12:51 pm

I think you need to post what the curves are.
I would note that, from the RCGroups post, if you have full elevator applied, then there would be no servo movement if you then apply aileron.

With a delta, it is normal to use half the available movement for each of elevator and aileron so both always function.

Mike
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
OctavioS
Posts: 578
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 11:54 pm
Country: Portugal
Location: Madeira

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by OctavioS » Sat Mar 31, 2018 1:33 pm

Hi all, where do i place the ersky9x apps? SD root or specific folder? thx
3 x - 9X TX with 9xtreme board;
Turnigy 9XRpro ;
Frsky Taranis & Taranis +;
Horus x10s;
Horus x12s.
Too much radios? Yes too much damn radios. No more please.

"Sometimes you just have to take a leap and build your wings on the way down."

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15716
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by MikeB » Sat Mar 31, 2018 1:37 pm

In an "apps" folder (from the root).

Mike
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18012
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by jhsa » Tue Jul 03, 2018 1:52 pm

Mike, what is the "Frsky xSSI" option in "Radio setup"?

Thanks

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15716
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by MikeB » Tue Jul 03, 2018 2:20 pm

It is for setting the alarms in a FrSky DJT/DHT module. I've left it in more as an easy way of turning them off.

Mike
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18012
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by jhsa » Tue Jul 03, 2018 2:28 pm

You mean to turn OFF any unwanted alarm from some module, like we have seen in the past??
Wouldn't an app for this option be a good solution instead of using a valuable menu field for it??

Thanks

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15716
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by MikeB » Tue Jul 03, 2018 11:04 pm

Maybe, although I then need to code up an app for all platforms, which will take a little time.

Mike
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18012
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by jhsa » Tue Jul 03, 2018 11:17 pm

It was just an idea.. :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Derpdiherp
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 10:52 am
Country: -

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by Derpdiherp » Wed Aug 29, 2018 11:18 pm

Hey everyone. I'm looking at upgrading the firmware on my AR9x to the latest version. As it's been.. Well 2 years :(

Unfortunately i'm on bootloader version 1.9, and cannot upgrade because the new firmware file is too big.

I have tried out of curiosity but as expected it failed.

I can't find anywhere with older versions available so I could upgrade it - can someone help?

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18012
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by jhsa » Thu Aug 30, 2018 12:10 am

Go to Er9x.com, download the latest Ersky9x firmware (R221) for the Ar9x board. Place it in the SD Card inside the folder "Firmware"
Now start the radio in maintenance mode by turning it ON while holding both horizontal trims away from each other.
select "Update Bootloader". Navigate to the file you just put on the SD Card. Press menu long to start updating the bootloader. When finished, press exit long a couple times. The radio will reboot. Now start the radio in bootloader mode. Update the firmware using the same file. By the way, the file you want is "ersky9x_rom.bin"

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Derpdiherp
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 10:52 am
Country: -

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by Derpdiherp » Thu Aug 30, 2018 8:38 am

I don't have an SD card in the radio. Do I have to have one?

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18012
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by jhsa » Thu Aug 30, 2018 9:34 am

To update the bootloader, yes, and there are other advantages, you can have voice alarms, data logging, save models to/from the card, Ersky9x even has a music player. If you use a Multiprotocol module you can also flash the module using a file on the SD Card.. So, yes, I believe SD Card is a must have thing :) :D

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Derpdiherp
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 10:52 am
Country: -

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by Derpdiherp » Thu Aug 30, 2018 9:45 am

Ok thanks for the help! I'll have a go tonight if I can get hold of an SD card by then.

Derpdiherp
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 10:52 am
Country: -

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by Derpdiherp » Thu Aug 30, 2018 6:59 pm

Balls. Just got home with my brand new SD card and it's the wrong size! I thought it was standard :'(... Waste of a tenner there.

What size is it supposed to be?

Edit - for anyone who needs to know it's micro SD.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18012
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by jhsa » Thu Aug 30, 2018 9:07 pm

Also, don't get smaller than 4Gb. You don't also need bigger than that. :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Derpdiherp
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 10:52 am
Country: -

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by Derpdiherp » Thu Aug 30, 2018 10:24 pm

Thanks for all the help jhsa. Upgraded the bootloader and firmware, managed to bind to a frsky EU LBT for the first time with the changes.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18012
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by jhsa » Thu Aug 30, 2018 11:38 pm

Great, well done :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Springer
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2018 1:36 pm
Country: -

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by Springer » Thu Sep 06, 2018 1:48 pm

Looking through the test versions I found this one: R222b5 including a fix for voice overrun problem on atmel radios. I have a Pro with r221 (I think, not at radio now) and on some models the timer and throttle position voices sometimes hit at same time and that shuts off voice until I select a new model or restart. Is this what this fix is for? Generally I have been perfectly happy with the version I have, don't do multis or telemetry (Flysky afhds2 protocol) so don't think I need a full update, but this one irritation would be nice to remove...

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18012
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by jhsa » Thu Sep 06, 2018 1:56 pm

No harm in updating, and you get new features and a few fixes.. Also, what size SD Card do you have installed in your radio?

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Springer
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2018 1:36 pm
Country: -

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by Springer » Thu Sep 06, 2018 2:29 pm

An, man, you had to ask that!🤔 now I'll have to go look!

Springer
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2018 1:36 pm
Country: -

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by Springer » Thu Sep 06, 2018 2:37 pm

Ok, the SD is 4gb and version is R220, mod: revB-X

So you are suggesting I just update to latest full version? Are there any screens dedicated to multis/helis that I will have to stumble over now? (Assuming the drone craze has extended to firmwares)

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18012
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by jhsa » Thu Sep 06, 2018 3:10 pm

Springer wrote:
Thu Sep 06, 2018 2:37 pm
Ok, the SD is 4gb and version is R220, mod: revB-X

So you are suggesting I just update to latest full version?
Yes I am :) You shouldn't have to change anything on your models, but give them a complete check before you fly. See if the correct switches are selected in the mixer for example.
Are there any screens dedicated to multis/helis that I will have to stumble over now? (Assuming the drone craze has extended to firmwares)
No, but the menus are a bit more organized. You also will have a cool music player :mrgreen: among other features. If you want to upgrade further, you can try the r222 test versions of course ;) You can find them at https://openrcforums.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=4676

They are test versions but are stable.. I use them all the time :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Springer
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2018 1:36 pm
Country: -

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by Springer » Thu Sep 06, 2018 3:36 pm

Cool, guess I should just try that one test version, considering how easy it is to load and reverse versions. Been a while since I updated, will be interesting to see what magic Mike has done!

I think I saw the music player in my version, must have been the initial one, but haven't tried it. Got some planes that could use "ride of the valkeries" while flying!

Springer
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2018 1:36 pm
Country: -

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by Springer » Sun Sep 09, 2018 1:16 pm

Well, I downloaded the r223b5 and loaded it. Got a screen ful of random pixels. Fortunately after I shut it off and re booted bootloader, I noticed I had sometime earlier loaded r221 to the SD card and loaded it. As you mentioned it looks very nice. Saw the volume level on model screen and browsed menus. Mike does an excellent job!

As to the r222b5, I don't know which cpu have. Is there a way to read that without opening the case? I wonder if I don't have an atmel cpu. That would be the logical reason to get the hash on screen, eh?

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15716
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by MikeB » Sun Sep 09, 2018 2:07 pm

If you have a 9XR-PRO, then you have 512K of flash. You need to flash ersky9xr_rom.bin (note the small "r").
To check what chip you have, go to the "BOOT REASON" screen (Up LONG then LEFT), the chip ID is shown on the bottom line as 8 characters, should be 28AB 0A60 on the 'PRO.

Mike
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Post Reply

Return to “ersky9x”