Page 1 of 2

Upgrading from 9XR-Pro to X9D+ - a few questions

Posted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 7:57 pm
by Sterling101
After a few bits and bobs happening with my 9XR-Pro and me ending up having to take the soldering iron to it to get it to power back up I've sort of lost confidence in it so have bit the bullet and ordered myself a Taranis X9D plus (not SE).

Obviously I'm pretty well versed in ERSky9X so I want to stick with that rather than having to transfer all my models over to OpenTX and essentially go from scratch.

So, I suppose the big question will be... Can I just plug the X9D+ in boot loader mode into the laptop and run up eePeSKY, back up the existing rom and install the correct version of ER9x?

The other question I have is, can I just restore my model memory back up once I've done the firmware update to get it onto the X9D then re-pair the receivers as normal?

Sorry if these are dumb questions, but I can't seem to find anything obvious that gives me the right sort of pointers :)

Re: Upgrading from 9XR-Pro to X9D+ - a few questions

Posted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 8:19 pm
by bob195558
Hi Sterling101,
I have a Taranis X9d and running erSky9x on it, but I do not have the 9XR-Pro.
I think your 9XR-Pro has 2 position switches and the Taranis comes with 3 position switches,
which I believe you will need to make some programing adjustment for labeling switch positions.
There may be a few more programing adjustment needed.

I do like having erSky9x on my Taranis over the opentx firmware.
You will like erSky9x on your new Taranis. :)

Re: Upgrading from 9XR-Pro to X9D+ - a few questions

Posted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 8:25 pm
by Sterling101
Hopefully it'll be just a few tweaks to get everything set up right.

Just had another thought though - do I need to worry about the EU LBT stuff running erSky9x or is that just something that OpenTX has to deal with as it's the firmware that comes shipped with the radio?

Re: Upgrading from 9XR-Pro to X9D+ - a few questions

Posted: Sat Dec 29, 2018 10:10 am
by MikeB
The EU-LBT "stuff" is all in the internal XJT module, nothing needed to change on the radio firmware.
Yes, just plug the X9D in, in bootloader mode, backup the existing firmware and EEPROM, then flash ersky9x. When you run ersky9x, it will re-format the EEPROM. Then run the stick calibration.
You may copy your models over from the 'PRO. Backup the EEPROM from the 'PRO, and open this in eepskye. Connect the X9D in bootloader mode, and read the EEPROM into eepskye so you have both EEPROM images open. Now just drag and drop models from the 'PRO window to the X9D window. Finally, write the X9D EEPROM back to the radio.
Because of the switch differences, you will need to check any switch settings. The 'PRO THR-CUT switch should convert to SF, the Trn switch to SH and the ID0/1/2 to SC.

Mike

Re: Upgrading from 9XR-Pro to X9D+ - a few questions

Posted: Sat Dec 29, 2018 10:20 am
by Sterling101
Fantastic thanks Mike.

I did a spot of digging last night and I think I need to upgrade/crossgrade the internal module to support the D8 mode and remove the EU LBT restrictions.
Will do a bit more reading but there seems to be less information out there than I was expecting as far as getting around using D8 receivers on an LBT transmitter.
Will see when it arrives and what I can do with it once I've got erSky9x installed :)

Re: Upgrading from 9XR-Pro to X9D+ - a few questions

Posted: Sat Dec 29, 2018 9:00 pm
by MikeB
The XJT modules I have, even with EU-LBT firmware all support D8 mode. Ersky9x doesn't block selecting D8 mode.
Having said that, I wouldn't be surprised if FrSky stop supporting D8 mode at some point, I reckon it is over 7 years since D8 came out. Before that there was the V1 mode and that is no longer supported. I also believe the sensors for the D series receivers are no longer available.
What module(s) have you been using in the 'PRO? They should all be OK in the module bay of the X9D.

Mike

Re: Upgrading from 9XR-Pro to X9D+ - a few questions

Posted: Sat Dec 29, 2018 9:30 pm
by Sterling101
I've been using an internal DHT module on the 'PRO - hence I have quite a few D8 and clone receivers in use. So long as I can get them working with the internal XJT module I'll be happy at least although I have the MultiModule too, but since I transferred most of my stuff over to FrSky I've not used it at all.

With having the X9D+ though I'll start buying the X series receivers when I need them next although I've got a fair few D8 receivers here waiting for the planes to put them into!

Re: Upgrading from 9XR-Pro to X9D+ - a few questions

Posted: Sat Dec 29, 2018 9:42 pm
by jhsa
I use mainly D8 stuff. But I am good even if frsky stops producing it because I build my own receivers now :) Sensors are also not a problem because we have the DIY oXs project that is way better than the frsky hub ever was :)
You can probably build any sensor you want to use with the D8 protocol..
If the DJT and DHT modules go out of production, it is also not a problem as we have the multiprotocol modules.
So, it is possible to have a completely DIY RC system :) ;)

João

Sent from my BLN-L21 using Tapatalk


Re: Upgrading from 9XR-Pro to X9D+ - a few questions

Posted: Sat Dec 29, 2018 9:48 pm
by Sterling101
So I suppose the big question will be - do I upload the firmware via SD card or do I do it via eePeSky? I can't seem to find a definitive answer as I keep getting led down the hole of upgrading OpenTx rather than installing erSky9x.

Still a few days before the Taranis arrives though due to the new year getting in the way so got plenty of time to watch YouTube I suppose :)

Upgrading from 9XR-Pro to X9D+ -(erSky9x Directory List (layout) for Micro SD Card)

Posted: Sun Dec 30, 2018 12:59 pm
by bob195558
erSky9x Directory List (layout) for Micro SD Card
Here is where there is some more info, which maybe a little not up to date:
(https://openrcforums.com/forum/viewtopi ... 34#p116984).

Re: Upgrading from 9XR-Pro to X9D+ - a few questions

Posted: Sun Dec 30, 2018 4:32 pm
by MikeB
Either method works well, I usually just flash direct from eepskye. An advantage to putting the file on the SD card and flashing from the bootloader is you may keep, one or more, older versions of the firmware on the SD card and then quickly revert to one of them, if necessary, without needing to connect to a PC. You also need to to put the file on the SD card to be able to update the bootloader.

Mike

Re: Upgrading from 9XR-Pro to X9D+ - a few questions

Posted: Sun Dec 30, 2018 6:41 pm
by Sterling101
I'm guessing I'll be needing to update the bootloader to get everything loaded up?

I found a guide on uploading erSky9x onto a QX7 which I'm guessing is going to be rather similar. If it is the same or similar then it looks like it'll be very straight forward to do.

One other thing Mike, is it possible to do the firmware updates on the internal module with erSky9x installed? Think it may be part of the bootloader system that does it but, as it seems, the information is very vague...

Re: Upgrading from 9XR-Pro to X9D+ - a few questions

Posted: Sun Dec 30, 2018 7:43 pm
by MikeB
All much the same. The X9D+ should be shipped with a bootloader included, and eepskye should recognise this and let you access the SD card and update the firmware over the USB connection.
Updating the internal XJT module is included in "maintenance mode" on the X9D (power on with horizontal trims held APART).
If you put the ersky9x bootloader on, then you also get the option to run an "app". Currently available for the X9D+ are 2 apps, one for flashing a multiprotocol module and the other for changing the physical ID of a SPort sensor.

Mike

Re: Upgrading from 9XR-Pro to X9D+ - a few questions

Posted: Sun Dec 30, 2018 7:53 pm
by Sterling101
Might stick the erSky9x bootloader on then - will be handy for updating multi if I get that back up and running at some point...

Re: Upgrading from 9XR-Pro to X9D+ - a few questions

Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 8:03 pm
by Sterling101
OK, the X9D has arrived and I have duly upgraded it to erSky9x. However I seem to be completely at a loss as to why the voices aren't working on it?
I've copied my voice folder from the laptop to the X9D's SD card exactly how I did with the 9XR-Pro but still can't see any voice files to select.

Also, I was hoping I'd be able to back up and restore the model files from the 9XR and just make some switch changes but it seems I can't upload the models from eePskye as it just errors when it tries to do the upload.

So, anybody got any pointers as to how I can get both of these bits working?

Cheers!

Re: Upgrading from 9XR-Pro to X9D+ - a few questions

Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 10:24 pm
by Sterling101
Quick update. After grabbing a spare SD card I formatted it and built the directory structure back up from scratch and it now works and plays the audio fine. For some reason the other SD card was refusing to be read by erSky9x so I couldn't update the bootloader or access any of the audio files.

However, I still can't get the model upload to work. eepe says it's uploaded ok, but as soon as I power up it tells me there's an EEPROM error and has to reformat.

Could this be one of those strange things where a simple setting in each model is breaking it possibly?

Re: Upgrading from 9XR-Pro to X9D+ - a few questions

Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 11:22 pm
by MikeB
Try reading the EEPROM from the X9D+ into eepskye, then writing it back unchanged and see if the radio then starts OK without an EEPROM error.

Mike

Re: Upgrading from 9XR-Pro to X9D+ - a few questions

Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 11:28 pm
by Sterling101
Thanks Mike.

Will give that a try tomorrow. As it stands I imported the models from.the 9xr, saved each one as an individual model file. Selected the X9D in eepe then created a new model list. I the imported each model one by one and checked tpmmake sure the switch/slider assignments were ok.

Might be a case of building them all from new but it'll save me a lot of work if I don't have to :)

Re: Upgrading from 9XR-Pro to X9D+ - a few questions

Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 11:44 pm
by bob195558
Did you make eepSkye (not eepe) in the "Preferences" setting,
set for your new erSky9x-Taranis plus ? :?:

Mike can tell you better, but I think this is what you want to be trying to do.
1) (edit) In eepSkye, read the EEPROM from Taranis radio and name it. (Click on "NEW")
2) Then click on "open" and find your backup 9XR-Pro model folder and bring it into your eepSkye.
3) COPY and PASTE each of your 9XR-Pro model programs to your new Taranis eeprom folder .
4) Check and make edit corrections in each model program and Save a copy to your computer.
5) Then flash your new your new Taranis model eeprom to your Taranis.

Also here is some more info about erSky9x on Taranis:
(viewtopic.php?f=7&t=4582&p=99741#p99738).

Re: Upgrading from 9XR-Pro to X9D+ - a few questions

Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 11:47 pm
by Sterling101
Yes that's pretty much what I did, imported from the 9xr then set the preferences to the X9D+.
I didn't copy and paste though, instead I loaded each model in one but one, so that may be one to try too...

Sent from my COL-L29 using Tapatalk


Re: Upgrading from 9XR-Pro to X9D+ - a few questions

Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 12:10 am
by MikeB
The way to do this is to run the X9D+ and do the stick calibration, and set any radio settings you require.
Then restart in bootloader mode, run eepskye and read the EEPROM from the radio. This makes sure you keep the stick calibration and other radio settings.
Now load your models into the open window, I usually just do a drag and drop from a 'PRO window.
Then write the EEPROM back to the radio.

Mike

Re: Upgrading from 9XR-Pro to X9D+ - a few questions

Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 6:31 am
by Sterling101
That sorted it Mike - thank you!

Must have needed the import first to get the pointers right before having the models copied in. Will get some receivers bound tonight and see what it performs like now that's sorted :)

Re: Upgrading from 9XR-Pro to X9D+ - a few questions

Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2019 11:58 am
by Sterling101
Quick update - ran the X9D this morning on my little SBach that has a D4R-II receiver in and it's all good.

Model memory is spot on from the transfer and the receiver was a simple bind and failsafe setup as per normal.

Only thing I need to have a look at is the rx_num option. I'm assuming that works the same way as on Multi so I get a level of model matching using the internal module?

Re: Upgrading from 9XR-Pro to X9D+ - a few questions

Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2019 1:06 pm
by MikeB
RxNum, on the internal XJT module, doesn't work with 'D' receivers as the RF protocol doesn't support it.

Mike

Re: Upgrading from 9XR-Pro to X9D+ - a few questions

Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2019 1:56 pm
by Sterling101
Cheers Mike. Won't worry too much about that then :)

Re: RE: Re: Upgrading from 9XR-Pro to X9D+ - a few questions

Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2019 8:11 pm
by jhsa
MikeB wrote:RxNum, on the internal XJT module, doesn't work with 'D' receivers as the RF protocol doesn't support it.

Mike
One gotta love the MultiProtocol module ;) :mrgreen:

João

Sent from my BLN-L21 using Tapatalk


Re: RE: Re: Upgrading from 9XR-Pro to X9D+ - a few questions

Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2019 8:25 pm
by Sterling101
jhsa wrote:
Sat Jan 05, 2019 8:11 pm
MikeB wrote:RxNum, on the internal XJT module, doesn't work with 'D' receivers as the RF protocol doesn't support it.

Mike
One gotta love the MultiProtocol module ;) :mrgreen:

João

Sent from my BLN-L21 using Tapatalk
Still got mine here for if I need it on something :)
Got to start doing some more testing now with those clone receivers too and see what data I get now I have the new TX :)

Re: Upgrading from 9XR-Pro to X9D+ - a few questions

Posted: Sat Apr 20, 2019 10:22 pm
by rfcgt
I just got my pro data transferred to my new x9d+. I'm using a 4n1 multiprotocol with flysky and dsm2 receivers. I have to rebind all to the new radio. Is this to be expected? Shouldn't they bind up automatically? Also, my pro ersky9xr setup 64 model memories and the x9d+ only has 32. How do you setup the other 32?
Thanks in advanced for the help.

rfc

Re: Upgrading from 9XR-Pro to X9D+ - a few questions

Posted: Sun Apr 21, 2019 2:04 pm
by MikeB
I only have 32 on the X9D+. It's a question of the amount of EEPROM available. The 'PRO has 512K of EEPROM the X9D+ only has 32K.
In order to store models (each of which is around 3370 bytes) on the X9D+, the data is compressed, then stored in a file system.
The file system control, and file directory, use up some of the EEPROM (384 bytes for ersky9x, 1280 bytes in openTx I think).
While I could have allowed 60 models (losing a bit more EEPROM to the file system/directory), each one would have to use only around 500 bytes when compressed for them all to fit.
I chose to limit the number of models to 32 so you are less likely to run out EEPROM before you run out of model slots.
If you do need to have more than 32 models on the transmitter, you need to make use of the backup and restore options to save models from the EEPROM on the SD card.
I could, probably, increase the number of models in the EEPROM to 36 or 38 if it would help!

If you are using the same multiprotocol module in both radios, then I would not expect you to need to rebind models as long as the model settings (protocol and RxNum) are the same. Did you transfer the models using eepskye?

Mike

Re: Upgrading from 9XR-Pro to X9D+ - a few questions

Posted: Tue Apr 23, 2019 2:54 am
by rfcgt
That worked out great, thanks for recommendation. That will conveniently keep all my models in one radio.

I'm still having trouble binding to flysky receivers. It must be something I'm doing. I'll keep fiddling around with them till they work.

Thanks for your help.
rfc