Control TX via Smartphone over BT / USB

erskyTx runs on many radios and upgrade boards
ersky9x was a port of er9x for use on the sky9x board.
wilopaan

Control TX via Smartphone over BT / USB

Post by wilopaan »

Hi all,

because I'm new to ersky9x, I have some (dumb) questions. My goal is to control some functions of the TX via an app on Android over BT or USB. This may be of interest for someone who wants to control ships/trucks etc. I absolutely don't want to use an analog CPPM-trainer interface.

I was directed to eepskye, which can control the TX.

1) Is there a protocol specification for the protocol eepskye is using? Is this SBUS? Do I have to enable this in the config?

2) Is this possible with every HW ersky9x runs on? E.g. Jumper T12?

3) Are the any known other projects addressing this use case?

4) Are there ways to directly interface a BT/serial-module (like HC-05) the the TX? (Otherwise, I would use an own BT/USB converter) .

Thanks for an hints!
And please forgive me the crosspost from er9x-forum.

Wilhelm

MikeB
9x Developer

Re: Control TX via Smartphone over BT / USB

Post by MikeB »

1. Yes SBUS.
2. Yes, but in various ways. Some radios support adding a HC-05/HC-06 to get BT. You may use the trainer input socket, and pass a standard SBUS signal in to that (does work on the T12, I just tested it with a SBUS signal from a FrSky receiver). Some radios (e.g. Taranis/QX7), support receiving the SBUS signal on one of the external module bay pins (not the T12).
3. Only the "Linker" from Aloft that can pass SBUS from a receiver to the radio, as far as I know.
4. I have added a HC-05 to my QX7, and several other radios. The Jumper T12 doesn't have the internal connectivity available, so bluetooth support isn't available on that.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
wilopaan

Post by wilopaan »

Ok, that sounds very good!