Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

erskyTx runs on many radios and upgrade boards
ersky9x was a port of er9x for use on the sky9x board.
Buckmaster
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2012 4:53 pm
Country: -
Location: New Lenox, Il

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by Buckmaster » Thu Nov 22, 2012 5:00 pm

I'm thinking I would prefer to connect my encoder with the wires as kaos did. I would however, like to be able to unplug it if necessary. Does anyone know of a free hanging type plug and receptacle that would work well with Kynar wire, accommodate the required number of conductors, fit in the space available (even if I need to leave the wires extra long so the connector could be set somewhere that there is plenty of space), and not be prone to causing shorts? :o. I tried searching around on digikey for one, but don't really know enough about the terminology to come up with a winner. I'm fine with soldering all the terminals on if necessary.


User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by kaos » Sun Dec 02, 2012 8:25 am

hmm, direct soldering is 12 x 2 =24 solder joints. with connectors, that is double amount (another 24 for connectors). when replacing it, 12 desoldering point and 12 resoldering. with connector, 12 desoldering + 12 resoldering. I think I will stay with direct soldering. ;)

sokolum
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 8:52 am
Country: -

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by sokolum » Wed Dec 05, 2012 11:22 pm

Just ordered a board to too!
Meanwhile waiting for my erksy9x v3.0 to be delivered :D

SkyNorth
Posts: 958
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: -
Location: Mansfield , Ontario

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by SkyNorth » Thu Dec 06, 2012 10:58 am

If you are going to attach the Nav switch on the Rev 3 board , you can plug into the LCD expansion header.
You will need to solder in 5 - 2.2K resistors in series with the switch leads.
NavSwitch_1.JPG
-Brent

sokolum
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 8:52 am
Country: -

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by sokolum » Thu Dec 06, 2012 12:05 pm

SkyNorth wrote:If you are going to attach the Nav switch on the Rev 3 board , you can plug into the LCD expansion header.
You will need to solder in 5 - 2.2K resistors in series with the switch leads.

-Brent
You mean this: "LCD expansion header"?
(couldn't find a higher resolution on your site)
SKY9x_Rev_3_Doc.JPG


SkyNorth
Posts: 958
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: -
Location: Mansfield , Ontario

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by SkyNorth » Thu Dec 06, 2012 12:09 pm

Yes the upper 8 pins give you access to the data bus.
-Brent

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by kaos » Thu Dec 06, 2012 6:13 pm

Let me confirm this. with the V3 board, to put the I/H board and encoder in there, besides plug in the encoder connector to the "rotary encoder input", those 4 2.2K resistor to the data bus are also needed? which V. B board does not require that.

SkyNorth
Posts: 958
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: -
Location: Mansfield , Ontario

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by SkyNorth » Thu Dec 06, 2012 9:16 pm

IF you want to plug into the header , then you need the resistors , If you are wiring directly to the
switches then you would not need them.
-Brent

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by kaos » Fri Dec 07, 2012 12:33 am

erhh, I prefer not to add resistor. Can we have a diagram how the wheel encoder is wired to the 'switches' ? ;)
sounds like quite a bit circuit changes here. So, do we still need to 'short' those 4 pairs of pins for I/H boards as in V. B?

jbeebo
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 6:31 pm
Country: -
Location: Los Angeles burbs, CA

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by jbeebo » Fri Dec 21, 2012 12:51 am

Buckmaster wrote:Does anyone know of a free hanging type plug and receptacle that would work well with Kynar wire, accommodate the required number of conductors, fit in the space available (even if I need to leave the wires extra long so the connector could be set somewhere that there is plenty of space), and not be prone to causing shorts? :o.
@ Buckmaster, I believe there are many options which can be freely borrowed from consumer electronics. Some examples are:
Displayport: 20pin
HDMI: 19pin
micro-HDMI: 19pin
Esata-USB compo connector: 11pin (4 for USB, 7 for eSATA)
RJ11 (modem) or RJ45 (Ethernet): 12pin
Rather fancy - Hirose specializes in I/O connectors with very fine pitch. An example is the ribbon cable found in the 9x.

My personal recommendation and readily available: 10pin ribbon cable. This one has male and female side, cut in half, solder one side to encoder, solder other side to mainboard (including directly to ATmega64), plug them together! All your concerns alleviated.

wibble
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 7:13 pm
Country: -

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by wibble » Fri Dec 21, 2012 1:17 pm

Hippo, just to let you know I've ordered on of your PCBS via your ordering webpage, seems I can't pm you so doing this post, payed by paypal, ( R szabranski)

rabono
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 7:03 am
Country: -
Location: Los Angeles< USA

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by rabono » Fri Dec 21, 2012 5:37 pm

Deleted by myself!
Last edited by rabono on Fri Jan 04, 2013 1:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

Hippo
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 4:37 pm
Country: -

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by Hippo » Tue Dec 25, 2012 6:02 am

Hey guys, no worries. I've been reduced to doing these a few at a time after work. Cut the last batch today now that I have a little free time. All remaining orders will be shipped on Wednesday.

Thanks again guys. This isn't a business venture, just trying to do what I can for the community. Guess I fall a little short sometimes...

Dan

Image

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by kaos » Tue Dec 25, 2012 7:54 am

I see you already trimmed it off on the side for easier placement. Great job!

jbeebo
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 6:31 pm
Country: -
Location: Los Angeles burbs, CA

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by jbeebo » Wed Dec 26, 2012 9:25 am

@ Dan (Hippo),
I just put my order in too. Thanks for taking time to fab and mail out these PCBs for a crazy low price. Merry Christmas!

User avatar
mbanzi
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 5:53 am
Country: -
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by mbanzi » Sun Dec 30, 2012 11:17 pm

I accidentally ordered 3 boards based on IksBob's Eagle files, instead of my own layout using the 3 resistors for the stock board. I'm not trying to go into business against Hippo ;), just trying to get rid of these boards & help someone at the same time. PM me for details.

Image

Iksbob
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:06 pm
Country: -

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by Iksbob » Mon Dec 31, 2012 7:12 am

mbanzi wrote:Image
:O

wingrunr21
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 6:42 pm
Country: -

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by wingrunr21 » Thu Jan 03, 2013 8:07 pm

Nice. I'm going to try this with a TelemetrEZ.

Buckmaster
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2012 4:53 pm
Country: -
Location: New Lenox, Il

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by Buckmaster » Fri Jan 04, 2013 2:31 am

I'm wanting to try it with TelemetrEZ as well.... is there a procedure defined for this yet?

User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4542
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by Rob Thomson » Fri Jan 04, 2013 5:39 am

Just follow the guidelines Steve has on his site. (where you buy the board)

Very simple to install.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!

wingrunr21
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 6:42 pm
Country: -

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by wingrunr21 » Fri Jan 04, 2013 1:37 pm

mbanzi I'd be interested in one of those boards if you've still got one.

I didn't see instructions for the encoder on the smartieparts website but the telemetrEZ firmware site has the appropriate pinouts (https://code.google.com/p/9x-telemetrez ... etail?id=2).
Last edited by wingrunr21 on Wed Jan 09, 2013 9:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

wingrunr21
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 6:42 pm
Country: -

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by wingrunr21 » Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:24 am

Sweet, picked up one of mbanzi's boards. I'll take pics of my install and post them up here for others.

Iksbob
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:06 pm
Country: -

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by Iksbob » Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:31 am

mbanzi wrote:I accidentally ordered 3 boards based on IksBob's Eagle files
If I may ask, from where, and how much did it set you back? I'm curious in the event that I want to do a double-sided board for some future design.

User avatar
mbanzi
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 5:53 am
Country: -
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by mbanzi » Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:47 am

Iksbob wrote:If I may ask, from where, and how much did it set you back? I'm curious in the event that I want to do a double-sided board for some future design.
These boards were around $5 each to have made at OSH Park, a batching service. Downside is you have to order a minimum of 3 copies of each design. Their process is pretty simple: you upload an Eagle CAD .BRD file or a ZIP file containing the Gerber files, instantly get a preview of what the board will look like. It takes between 2-3 weeks to get the boards. The boards are cut out along the outline layer you provide - so except for a few tabs to clean up, you don't have to do any cutting! I've made some pretty elaborate board shapes, they did the cuts no problem.

Included in the price is double sided copper, silk screening, solder mask and free shipping! I support them quite a lot, as it's a great service for hobbyists, and cheap if you make small boards.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18982
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by jhsa » Sat Jan 05, 2013 5:22 pm

Only in the US I suppose?
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
mbanzi
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 5:53 am
Country: -
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by mbanzi » Sat Jan 05, 2013 5:29 pm

jhsa wrote:Only in the US I suppose?
Actually I believe they ship internationally from $5

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18982
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by jhsa » Sat Jan 05, 2013 5:41 pm

will have to check that better as I didn't find the shipping info, hence my question. thank you
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
fmelle
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 12:50 pm
Country: France
Contact:

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by fmelle » Sun Jan 06, 2013 10:40 pm

Hi all, I have now the PCB and I plan to mod a genuine 9x board with the encoder but I live in France and have troubles to get a hand on one here.

Does anyone knows where I could order to have it sent to France at a correct shipping price ?

Also if I plug to the original 9x board (not sky9x), I don't have to shorten wires ? Right ?

Thank-you all for the help :-)

Envoyé de mon iPad à l'aide de Tapatalk HD

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by kaos » Fri Jan 11, 2013 12:39 am

If you are asking the 7way encoder here is where most people get theirs from:
http://www.digikey.ca/scripts/dksearch/ ... words=TSWB

User avatar
fmelle
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 12:50 pm
Country: France
Contact:

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by fmelle » Sun Jan 13, 2013 10:59 pm

Thank-you for the tip.

So, I have to order it in Canada as it seems to be hard to find in France or in Europe.


Post Reply

Return to “erskyTx (was ersky9x)”