Ersky9x Bug Reporting

erskyTx runs on many radios and upgrade boards
ersky9x was a port of er9x for use on the sky9x board.
Rad
Posts: 267
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: -

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by Rad » Thu Jun 13, 2019 12:40 pm

Any idea here, Mike?


User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16556
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by MikeB » Thu Jun 13, 2019 5:38 pm

I suggest you try adding a resistor in the positive supply lead to the switch. Any value up to 5K should be OK, although I'd go for 1K to 2K if possible.
You will very likely need to re-calibrate the switch.
I have an idea for a firmware change that should, at least, restore the screen to your settings.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Arvycka
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 7:00 am
Country: -

Telemetry logging

Post by Arvycka » Sun Jun 16, 2019 12:01 pm

Just noticed some telemetry logging issues:
1. GPS altitude is displayed in meters on telemetry screen but is being logged in decimeters:
GPSAlt.JPG
GPSAlt.JPG (15.18 KiB) Viewed 933 times
2. GPS speed is way too low in the logs. I cannot compare it at the moment to what's being displayed on the telemetry screen in real time, but compared to OSD it's like half. Is there any chance that it's being logged in MPH? ;)

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16556
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by MikeB » Sun Jun 16, 2019 3:18 pm

OK, I can fix the GPS altitude display.
The FrSky GPS sends the GPS speed in knots and this is what I display and log. If you have a GPS speed in a different unit, or need to scale the value I suggest using a "SCALER" and displaying and logging that.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Arvycka
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 7:00 am
Country: -

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by Arvycka » Sun Jun 16, 2019 3:51 pm

I see, that's interesting. iNav Flight controller displays speed in Kph and sends it over Fport to the receiver. Where is the conversion to knots happening then? Inav or receiver? 🤔


User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16556
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by MikeB » Sun Jun 16, 2019 8:00 pm

My guess is the GPS speed is in knots, but is converted for the OSD display.
It seems the conversion factor from km/h to knots is 0.539957, 1.852 the other way (knots to km/h).
Looks like a SCALER with a multiplier of 463 and a divider of 250 would work to convert from knots to km/h.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Arvycka
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 7:00 am
Country: -

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by Arvycka » Mon Jun 17, 2019 7:12 am

Thanks Mike for the help, that should work nicely.

Rad
Posts: 267
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 3:43 pm
Country: -

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by Rad » Thu Jun 27, 2019 7:56 pm

MikeB wrote:
Thu Jun 13, 2019 5:38 pm
I suggest you try adding a resistor in the positive supply lead to the switch. Any value up to 5K should be OK, although I'd go for 1K to 2K if possible.
You will very likely need to re-calibrate the switch.
I have an idea for a firmware change that should, at least, restore the screen to your settings.

Mike
Hi Mike, resistor fitted, switch recalibrated...

...

And it works! The switch works as desired, and no longer resets the radio, so problem solved. Thanks for your help.

Brodziek
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 5:55 pm
Country: Poland

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by Brodziek » Sat Sep 07, 2019 7:39 pm

Taranis Qx7, problem with the external module power supply.
After turning the radio OFF and ON, there is no power supply at the external module connector, no matter what type of module is selected.
You have to enter the "Protocol", "External" menus, and turn OFF/ON "ENABLE" - voltage appears and works until the next turn OFF the radio.
I checked the signal on the processor pins, there is a problem with the control.
Checked on the latest test version of eRskyTx (on the official version I have the same).
Will anyone confirm?
Using Tapatalk

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16556
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by MikeB » Sat Sep 07, 2019 8:25 pm

Someone else reported that as a problem on a Taranis. It turned he had trainer enabled with the Tx set to "Slave". As a slave, by default, the modules are turned off as they shouldn't be needed.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Brodziek
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 5:55 pm
Country: Poland

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by Brodziek » Sun Sep 08, 2019 9:24 am

Mike, you're right.
That was it.
Thank you very much.
Using Tapatalk

planger
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:50 am
Country: France

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by planger » Mon Sep 09, 2019 6:28 pm

Hi,
A friend has a problem on his 9XR Pro. I haven't seen it myself but had a long discussion over the phone with him to troubleshoot.
I've updated it last July with R222 but not sure which exact version. It was working fine all summer until last WE.
His issue is that the throttle is only going from center to top for the full deflection of the throttle stick. Both the stick display and calibration screens shows the same behavior. In diagana, the pot values look good in hexa and decimal going from -100..0..+100. So it looks like a setting somewhere preventing the throttle to have a full span.
He might come tomorrow evening with the radio. I'm planning to try to update it first, then since I don't know how to wipe the EEPROM I was thinking to backup my eeprom and restore it on his radio to reset the "unknown" setting...
Any tip will be appreciated.
Pascal

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10182
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by Kilrah » Mon Sep 09, 2019 9:27 pm

That's typical of not centering the stick when told to at the first calibration step.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18910
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by jhsa » Mon Sep 09, 2019 10:26 pm

Yes, follow the "on screen" instructions when calibrating the sticks.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

planger
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:50 am
Country: France

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by planger » Tue Sep 10, 2019 8:03 am

Strange he has tried multiple times to redo the calibration. Over the phone I've even followed the calibration steps with him to make sure he was doing it properly.
I need to see the radio by myself to be sure of what's going on...
Before he comes, can I assume that there is no such setting to make the throttle only going forward (0..+100%)? And that you've never heard of this strange behavior apart from a bad calibration?
Pascal

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18910
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by jhsa » Tue Sep 10, 2019 8:18 am

One thing you can do is to create a new model. That you use default settings, so no mixes or other model settings.

The first thing we must do when calibrating is to set all inputs to their center positions.
If you keep the throttle stick down during this stage, I think the result will be the problem you describe..

João


My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10182
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by Kilrah » Tue Sep 10, 2019 8:32 am

Yeah best to see it in person - so common to have people tell you 30 times what they think they do when it's not that at all, omitting things they do, and them not making the connection that if things don't work it's probably cause one of their assumptions is incorrect...

planger
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:50 am
Country: France

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by planger » Tue Sep 10, 2019 8:47 am

Fully in agreement with what you just said Kilrah

planger
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 10:50 am
Country: France

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by planger » Tue Sep 10, 2019 4:10 pm

That was it... No Comment...
Thanks Guys!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18910
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by jhsa » Tue Sep 10, 2019 11:56 pm

Glad that.the problem is solved :)

João

Sent from my BLN-L21 using Tapatalk

My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW


Post Reply

Return to “erskyTx (was ersky9x)”