sky9x rev. B1 power issue

Support & Help for the sky9x upgrade board
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18128
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: sky9x rev. B1 power issue

Post by jhsa » Wed Nov 22, 2017 10:49 am

The RF module powers at the same time as the rest of the radio. There is no soft power switch..

João

Sent from my BLN-L21 using Tapatalk

My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 1901
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: sky9x rev. B1 power issue

Post by bob195558 » Wed Nov 22, 2017 11:26 am

Hi João,
Is it this way with all the 9x radios ? :?:
Because it seems like there is some sort of delay that I am seeing for the RF signal to be active when powering up the radio.

Bob B.
ErSky9x on Taranis, Sky9x, 9Xtreme, Er9x on 9x with Smartieparts Programmer with TelemetrEZ Board
3D Printing: (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=85)

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18128
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: sky9x rev. B1 power issue

Post by jhsa » Wed Nov 22, 2017 12:38 pm

Ae9x, 9XR-PRO, SkyBoard, Stock 9x, none has RF soft power switch.. Mine do because I have built a circuit for it. :)

Only frsky radios have that feature. If you see a delay it might be the RF module itself as power is applied as soon as you turn the switch ON.

I am still thinking about the original poster problem. I do find very strange the voltage regulator outputing a higher voltage..
Unless.... Hmm..

João


Sent from my BLN-L21 using Tapatalk

My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18128
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: RE: Re: sky9x rev. B1 power issue

Post by jhsa » Wed Nov 22, 2017 12:42 pm

capitaineflam25 wrote:
MikeB wrote:
Mon Nov 20, 2017 9:50 pm
I nearly asked about your meter!
It's my fault, i was confident about my meter and didn't realised my batteries where running out :(
Can you please solder a electrolytic capacitor (say 100uF) between the regulator's output pin (3.3V) and Ground? Watch the polarity, these capacitors are polarized. They will blow up if you connect them the wrong way. Also make sure it is rated at about 16V or more..

See if you now have 3.3V at the output..

João




My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 1901
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: sky9x rev. B1 power issue

Post by bob195558 » Wed Nov 22, 2017 12:59 pm

jhsa wrote:
Wed Nov 22, 2017 12:38 pm
Ar9x, 9XR-pro, Sky9x Board, Stock 9x, none has RF soft power switch..
Mine do because I have built a circuit for it. :)

Only frsky radios have that feature.
If you see a delay it might be the RF module itself as power is applied as soon as you turn the switch ON.
João
To follow up, I use my FrSky Taranis-x9d mostly, so this is were I am seeing the delay.
Thank you João for the info. :)

Bob B.
ErSky9x on Taranis, Sky9x, 9Xtreme, Er9x on 9x with Smartieparts Programmer with TelemetrEZ Board
3D Printing: (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=85)


User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15802
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: sky9x rev. B1 power issue

Post by MikeB » Wed Nov 22, 2017 1:01 pm

João, you must have missed his post where he said the batteries in his meter were flat and it was reading incorrectly. With a correct meter he does have 3.3V OK, so no need for the additional capacitor.

The RF module will be powered immediately, but the firmware does not start sending protocol data until the splash screen and all warnings have been cleared.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 1901
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: sky9x rev. B1 power issue

Post by bob195558 » Wed Nov 22, 2017 1:25 pm

MikeB wrote:
Wed Nov 22, 2017 1:01 pm
The RF module will be powered immediately, but the firmware does not start sending protocol data
until the splash screen and all warnings have been cleared.
Mike.
Thank you Mike, that's what I am seeing then. :)

There is something that is causing his Sky9x to hang-up when powering up on the first try.

Bob B.
ErSky9x on Taranis, Sky9x, 9Xtreme, Er9x on 9x with Smartieparts Programmer with TelemetrEZ Board
3D Printing: (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=85)

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18128
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: RE: Re: sky9x rev. B1 power issue

Post by jhsa » Wed Nov 22, 2017 2:02 pm

bob195558 wrote:Hi João,
Is it this way with all the 9x radios ? :?:
Because it seems like there is some sort of delay that I am seeing for the RF signal to be active when powering up the radio.

Bob B.
You asked if it was this way with all 9x radios as quoted above.
The taranis is not a 9x radio.
The 9XR-PRO can be considered on as it has a skyboard type board inside.

On the taranis and 9xtreme radios it is normal a little delay at power ON as the radio only powers the RF modules if all the warnings are cleared..

João

Sent from my BLN-L21 using Tapatalk

My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Post Reply

Return to “sky9x upgrade board”