DSM2 work

Like DSM2/DSMX? Want to mod your radio to support it? Post your messages here!
User avatar
deadaim57
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:22 am
Country: -
Location: Winnfield.Louisiana

Re: DSM2 work

Post by deadaim57 » Sun Feb 19, 2012 1:14 am

Forgot to ask,is there a certain FW version that is need?
I have
version V1.5189
trunk-r646

Tom


pmackenzie
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:19 pm
Country: -
Location: Don Mills, Ontario

Re: DSM2 work

Post by pmackenzie » Sun Feb 19, 2012 1:59 am

You should upgrade to 655 or later. DSM2 was not added until ~626, and had problems till 655.

Pat MacKenzie

Jefte
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 10:26 pm
Country: -

Re: DSM2 work

Post by Jefte » Sun Feb 19, 2012 9:35 pm

I'm running er9x-708 firmware version: V1.5501-erez.

I have an X10EMTX module wired into my 9x. I cannot get it to bind with my OrangeRX knock-off Spektrum receiver. I have my model set to DSM2 and LP4/5. I followed the instructions that say to hold the Trainer switch, then turn on the TX but nothing happens. The RX light just keeps flashing (bind mode) and the TX module light is on continuously.

Any recommendations? Thanks!
Last edited by Jefte on Mon Feb 20, 2012 12:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

pmackenzie
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:19 pm
Country: -
Location: Don Mills, Ontario

Re: DSM2 work

Post by pmackenzie » Sun Feb 19, 2012 10:56 pm

Make sure you hold the trainer switch till after the splash screen or any stick/switch warnings have been cleared.

Pat MacKenzie

pmackenzie
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:19 pm
Country: -
Location: Don Mills, Ontario

Re: DSM2 work

Post by pmackenzie » Sun Feb 19, 2012 11:06 pm

Also, post a picture of your wiring if you can. You might have something simple wrong.


User avatar
cre8tiveleo
Posts: 1434
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:13 pm
Country: -
Location: Ontario,(GTA North)
Contact:

Re: DSM2 work

Post by cre8tiveleo » Sun Feb 19, 2012 11:11 pm

Turn off the splash screen if you wish too.

Posting a pic of your module hookup would be beneficial too.

Jefte
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 10:26 pm
Country: -

Re: DSM2 work

Post by Jefte » Sun Feb 19, 2012 11:56 pm

Splash screen is off. I wired in a switch and a deans plug inline with the 3.3v source. (Ugly I know, but I was out of small bullet connectors and I wanted to be able to separate the two halves of the chassis. The switch isn't mounted to the chassis yet.)

Here is the back half - module, diode, signal line, ground line to silver pad, power line to switch, then deans plug, then 3.3v pad.
IMG_20120219_181300.jpg
Here is the front half, deans plug on left leading to the 3.3v pad:
IMG_20120219_181328.jpg
Closeup of module - Signal line on left leading to diode (white), ground in middle (black), power on right (red)
IMG_20120219_181341.jpg
Closeup of PPM line, and ground line on silver pad:
IMG_20120219_181403.jpg
The power is ON in this photo, the module LED is on solid:
IMG_20120219_181704.jpg

Jefte
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 10:26 pm
Country: -

Re: DSM2 work

Post by Jefte » Mon Feb 20, 2012 12:00 am

Here are photos of a couple of the Model configuration screens.

Set to DSM and LP4/5:
IMG_20120219_182043.jpg
I set the channels to TAER based on knowledge further back in this thread. Is this correct?
IMG_20120219_182153.jpg
In this "TEMPLATE" screen, does the CHANNEL ORDER mean anything here?
IMG_20120219_182237.jpg

Jefte
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 10:26 pm
Country: -

Re: DSM2 work

Post by Jefte » Mon Feb 20, 2012 12:13 am

And to clarify the version numbers I see listed in my firmware are:

SVN: er9x-708
VERS: V1.5501-erez

It was mentioned in this thread that versions 655 and above are recommended for DSM. Which number do I look at when determining this? The firmware shows DSM protocol support, and lets me pick between LP4/5 and DSM, DSM2 etc.

Thanks

P.S. who do I talk to around these parts to get out of this probationary period where all my posts must be approved?

pmackenzie
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:19 pm
Country: -
Location: Don Mills, Ontario

Re: DSM2 work

Post by pmackenzie » Mon Feb 20, 2012 12:42 am

Do you have a pull-up resistor between the signal and the 3.3 volt line?
A bit hard to make out but it looks like you have the diode in the right way, white band away from the module.

Pat MacKenzie

User avatar
cre8tiveleo
Posts: 1434
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:13 pm
Country: -
Location: Ontario,(GTA North)
Contact:

Re: DSM2 work

Post by cre8tiveleo » Mon Feb 20, 2012 12:47 am

What diode is that?

In one of your pictures you have a glob of solder above the vcc (power) the three hols above the pads are different.

vcc gnd sig < Three holes
sig gnd vcc < Three pads


Image


Make sure non are shorted to each other.

And try it without the switches and deans plug,go minimal, everything adds a slight voltage drop - aka resistance, maybe that's just too much for the poor little 3.3 to pump through and you're not getting enough voltage,

Try it vanilla to make sure your module works, then add the switches. (bare minimum to see if it will bind)

Jefte
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 10:26 pm
Country: -

Re: DSM2 work

Post by Jefte » Mon Feb 20, 2012 12:52 am

Oh wow, you're right - that does look like a glob there. Let me open it back up and see if that glob was something I did. I don't remember spilling any solder...

The wiki guide didn't specify that the LP module needed anything else other than the diode. To quote:

"Lp4 is much more simple. Place a diode on the ppm signal (stripe away from the board), solder a wire to the diode to attach to the ppm on the tranmitter. solder a wire on the - and + (ground and vcc) and you're done with the lp4."

And I made sure to put the diode stripe away from the module, sorry the photo isn't very clear.

Thanks

pmackenzie
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:19 pm
Country: -
Location: Don Mills, Ontario

Re: DSM2 work

Post by pmackenzie » Mon Feb 20, 2012 12:57 am

I would disagree with the wiki on that. :)
Both my LP modules needed the pullup resistor to function.

Also check and make sure you are getting the 3.3 volts, I assume from the regulator on the main board.

User avatar
cre8tiveleo
Posts: 1434
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:13 pm
Country: -
Location: Ontario,(GTA North)
Contact:

Re: DSM2 work

Post by cre8tiveleo » Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:21 am

And in the wiki, it does mention to do he power for the lp4 the same as the hp modules , to make sure you don't have any issues... :D

Jefte
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 10:26 pm
Country: -

Re: DSM2 work

Post by Jefte » Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:50 am

I cleaned out that hole, I swear I didn't put solder there, but the pins and the holes look pretty well separated. That glob didn't look like it was connected to the power pin solder glob.
IMG_20120219_202643.jpg
So I need a 4k7 resistor between Sig and Power then? I removed the switch and connector and I'm not getting it to bind. Is there software settings I'm overlooking?

I would do the power the same as HP modules... but frankly I'm an extreme novice at electronic work and setting up a regulator looked out of my league. Equipped with just a soldering iron and some helping hands. I thought sourcing the power from 3.3v pad would be ok.

Edit: I used the diode indicated in the wiki, Diode 1n4001

User avatar
uphiearl
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:21 pm
Country: -
Location: Mountainair New Mexico

Re: DSM2 work

Post by uphiearl » Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:52 am

You need a separate 3.3v regulator. Run it from the 5v line in the TX. I have a bunch of 1.5A 3.3v regulators. That is what I used. Sens me a SASE and I'll send you one along with 2 10uf caps you will need.
Earl

Uphiearl
PO Box 864
Mountainair, NM 87036

Jefte
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 10:26 pm
Country: -

Re: DSM2 work

Post by Jefte » Tue Feb 21, 2012 1:33 am

Thanks Uphiearl!

I now have a 4k7 resistor between sig and vcc. I bought a multimeter and found that I soldered to the 5v pad. DOH! It's now using the on board 3.3v pad, and I confirmed 3.3v reaches the module with the voltmeter.

Still won't bind to this orangeRx.

Is my firmware version above correct?

Are there software settings I'm overlooking?

I'm not very good at desoldering, could excess heat have damaged the module?

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

pmackenzie
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:19 pm
Country: -
Location: Don Mills, Ontario

Re: DSM2 work

Post by pmackenzie » Tue Feb 21, 2012 2:03 am

My advice - put the module back in the original transmitter and confirm it works there.
You could waste a lot of time trying to debug the 9X/module connections if the module is bad.

Pat MacKenzie

ttabbal
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 8:53 pm
Country: -

Re: DSM2 work

Post by ttabbal » Tue Feb 21, 2012 5:54 am

From experience, if you connected vcc to 5v, it may well be fried....

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10241
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: DSM2 work

Post by Kilrah » Tue Feb 21, 2012 6:14 am

Same here, fried one by mistake...

User avatar
Kayle
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 8:13 am
Country: -
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: DSM2 work

Post by Kayle » Tue Feb 21, 2012 1:19 pm

Hello,

i would like to say THANKS to the er9x developer. With your development it was possible for me to build my little Femto X Quad:
femto_x_quad.jpg
Femto X
I use a Deltang RX35 Receiver, Multiwii, 1S Lipo and er9x :D

More Info: http://www.kay-pohl.de
___________________________________________________________
Job: Master craftsman in information technology
Hobby: 9X Burner, AVR, Quadrocopter, PCB Design
My Homepage: www.kay-pohl.de

sporez
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:36 pm
Country: -
Location: New York, USA

DSM2 work

Post by sporez » Tue Feb 21, 2012 9:17 pm

Whoa that thing looks cool, how much did it cost to build?

User avatar
Kayle
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 8:13 am
Country: -
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: DSM2 work

Post by Kayle » Tue Feb 21, 2012 10:46 pm

Mhh .... i think it costs about 60€. The receiver only costs 30€.

Kayle
___________________________________________________________
Job: Master craftsman in information technology
Hobby: 9X Burner, AVR, Quadrocopter, PCB Design
My Homepage: www.kay-pohl.de

User avatar
GrootWitbaas
Posts: 358
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:57 pm
Country: -
Location: Germany

Re: DSM2 work

Post by GrootWitbaas » Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:09 pm

What happened to the left back arm ?

I like it :D looks cool. I am just waiting my motors from HK for my micro quad, still considering what radio link to use.
General trouble maker and wannabee Dev

User avatar
Kayle
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 8:13 am
Country: -
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: DSM2 work

Post by Kayle » Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:18 pm

:-) during drilling the holes for the motors one arm is broken :-)

But epoxy glue helps and it works great.

Kayle
___________________________________________________________
Job: Master craftsman in information technology
Hobby: 9X Burner, AVR, Quadrocopter, PCB Design
My Homepage: www.kay-pohl.de

Jefte
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 10:26 pm
Country: -

Re: DSM2 work

Post by Jefte » Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:34 am

Thanks to all that provided advice to this humble novice. I successfully transplanted a DSM TX from another one of these "toy" mlp4dsm controllers and bound it to my orangeRx receiver. I suspect you guys were right, I burned it out when attaching 5v to it.

Really ticks me off too, I double and triple checked the location of the 3.3v pad but when it came time to solder to it I totally dumbed out.

Great community here, I'll make sure to pass on my limited knowledge to others in similar situations.
Kayle wrote:Hello,

i would like to say THANKS to the er9x developer. With your development it was possible for me to build my little Femto X Quad:

I use a Deltang RX35 Receiver, Multiwii, 1S Lipo and er9x :D

More Info: http://www.kay-pohl.de
Very cool! I haven't seen quads this small before. Does it require alot of soldering and electronics knowledge to assemble?

User avatar
erazz
9x Developer
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:25 pm
Country: -
Location: NJ-USA
Contact:

Re: DSM2 work

Post by erazz » Wed Feb 22, 2012 2:38 pm

Kayle wrote:Hello,

i would like to say THANKS to the er9x developer. With your development it was possible for me to build my little Femto X Quad:
femto_x_quad.jpg
I use a Deltang RX35 Receiver, Multiwii, 1S Lipo and er9x :D

More Info: http://www.kay-pohl.de

Whowh! Cool!
Could you do a description for us in the "Other Electronic projects" Forum? (viewforum.php?f=49)
I'd be really interested to learn more!
Z

BEWARE - WE ARE IN THE AIR!!!
What goes up... Should be controlled by a 9X!

User avatar
deadaim57
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:22 am
Country: -
Location: Winnfield.Louisiana

Re: DSM2 work

Post by deadaim57 » Wed Feb 22, 2012 10:40 pm

Hiya,could someone give me a site to where I can get the 4k7 resistor from ? I checked radio shack and fry's but can't find.
Thanks
Tom

User avatar
cre8tiveleo
Posts: 1434
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:13 pm
Country: -
Location: Ontario,(GTA North)
Contact:

Re: DSM2 work

Post by cre8tiveleo » Wed Feb 22, 2012 11:01 pm

4700ohm , 4.7k ohm... they should have it. 4k7 = 4.7k the k is where the decimal should be.

just an fyi, some people don't know that, I didn't... :oops: (until I googled it a few years ago)

pmackenzie
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:19 pm
Country: -
Location: Don Mills, Ontario

Re: DSM2 work

Post by pmackenzie » Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:05 am

If this is for the pull up, anything from 2K to 10K will probably work.

Pat MacKenzie


Post Reply

Return to “DSM2/DSMX Mods”