Flashing FrSky modules with Linux or Mac?

Love the 9x? Use FRSky? Post your questions and answers here!
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18128
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Flashing FrSky modules with Linux or Mac?

Post by jhsa » Wed Aug 13, 2014 12:36 pm

and where are the connections on the pro? Module bay S-Port pin? or can serial also be used for receivers for example?
If possible maybe even 2 BT modules could be used? I do apologize if I'm sasking something stupid here, but better ask and know it was stupid than not knowing it was a good question.. :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15802
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Flashing FrSky modules with Linux or Mac?

Post by MikeB » Wed Aug 13, 2014 1:19 pm

On the Taranis, using the stock 6-cell NiMh battery, you use 3 pins in the exteranl module bay. From the bottom these are:
Pin 5 - SPort data
Pin 4 - Ground
Pin 3 - Switched power.
These are in the wrong order for a direct connection to the SPort bus, which is SPort data, Power, Ground.

On the 9XR-PRO, you can use these same pins in the module bay, if using the same 6-cell NiMh battery (as I do), otherwise you need to supply power separately, but still use pins 5 and 4 (SPort data and ground).

On the SKY board, you need to use COM1 (I may be able to add COM2 as an option later). I have my COM1 wired to pins 2 and 5 in the module bay for use with a modified DJT module. You then need to add a diode to the signal on pin 2, as done by FrSky, to make a SPort compatible signal. I tested using a SPC board (http://www.frsky-rc.com/product/pro.php?pro_id=132), which has the diode on it.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
KAL
Posts: 551
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:36 pm
Country: Germany
Location: somewhere near Rothenburg ob der Tauber

Re: Flashing FrSky modules with Linux or Mac?

Post by KAL » Wed Aug 13, 2014 1:43 pm

As the pin order does not match, we need in any case an adaptor cable.
In case of the PRO it would then be possible to integrate a VR with the mandatory chicken food (capacitors...) into this cable?
And a small place for a diode would also be beside the VR ...

Klaus
( TH9X / 9XTreme / FrSky DHT / Spektrum / Multi / RotEnc )
( 9XR PRO / erSKY9x  / FrSky DHT / Spektrum / Multi / RotEnc / P3 as Slider )

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18128
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Flashing FrSky modules with Linux or Mac?

Post by jhsa » Wed Aug 13, 2014 2:01 pm

Good idea.. And with a little low drop regulator you can still use the 6 nimh cells with the same cable..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15802
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Flashing FrSky modules with Linux or Mac?

Post by MikeB » Wed Aug 13, 2014 4:29 pm

Just writing up some instructions. I just double checked the SPort harware design. The driver device allows the SPort signal to be active even when it is powered off. This means you can connect up the SPort signal and ground, start the flashing operation, then switch power on to the target device. Since the SPort devices include two rows of pins, to allow daisy chaining, this makes it easy to plug in a 4 or 5-cell (NiMh) receiver battery as the power source.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!


User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15802
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Flashing FrSky modules with Linux or Mac?

Post by MikeB » Wed Aug 13, 2014 6:16 pm

I've just posted test versions of ersky9x and openTx(r2940+) on the test versions post (viewtopic.php?f=7&t=4676&p=65894#p65894).

Here is my first attempt at a set of instructions:
SportFlash.pdf
13-Aug-2014 19:20
(95.29 KiB) Downloaded 312 times
Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
KAL
Posts: 551
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:36 pm
Country: Germany
Location: somewhere near Rothenburg ob der Tauber

Re: Flashing FrSky modules with Linux or Mac?

Post by KAL » Wed Aug 13, 2014 8:54 pm

A couple of minutes ago my blood pressure went through the ceiling.
Flashed the newest FW to my PRO and tested the new flashing feature for SPort.
Because of not having a SPort device yet nothing was connected.
Also no FRK file was on my SD card. I was only curious ;) .

Went in maintenance mode and selected Update SPort.
The PRO got frozen. Switched off and unplugged USB. PRO went off.
But after switching on the PRO showed a backlighted blank screen.
Also no reaction while pushing the trims together or apart while power on.
Screen always blank.

Lucky me I had collected ev'rything for using SAM-BA some days ago.
After reseting the PRO (via push button near USB-port) and flashing
FW with eepskye all works well.

Klaus
( TH9X / 9XTreme / FrSky DHT / Spektrum / Multi / RotEnc )
( 9XR PRO / erSKY9x  / FrSky DHT / Spektrum / Multi / RotEnc / P3 as Slider )

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15802
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Flashing FrSky modules with Linux or Mac?

Post by MikeB » Wed Aug 13, 2014 9:15 pm

Did you flash the latest test version again?
I just tested maintenance mode, first with no firmware directory, then with a firmware directory with no .frk files in it (although there are some .bin files in it). All worked fine, EXIT went back to the main maintenance menu.

Mike.

Edit: Just tried with no files in the firmware directory, still worked OK, although there is a minor oddity where you can select a non-existent file and try to flash with it!
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
KAL
Posts: 551
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:36 pm
Country: Germany
Location: somewhere near Rothenburg ob der Tauber

Re: Flashing FrSky modules with Linux or Mac?

Post by KAL » Wed Aug 13, 2014 9:25 pm

Yes, I flashed it again and all works fine.
No freezing at the moment.

Ah, wait! Switched TX off and after switching on the screen is blank again.
Same procedure as ... last time.
Reset button and SAM-BA ist the only thing to revive the TX.

Klaus
( TH9X / 9XTreme / FrSky DHT / Spektrum / Multi / RotEnc )
( 9XR PRO / erSKY9x  / FrSky DHT / Spektrum / Multi / RotEnc / P3 as Slider )

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15802
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Flashing FrSky modules with Linux or Mac?

Post by MikeB » Wed Aug 13, 2014 9:40 pm

If it happens again please try (if you haven't already done so), power on in bootloader mode (both horizontal trims held inwards).

I can't make my 'PRO go wrong!

When it happend the second time, had you tried maintenance mode again? Where were you, in the firmware, when you switched off (maintenance mode, main firmware, bootloader)?

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
KAL
Posts: 551
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:36 pm
Country: Germany
Location: somewhere near Rothenburg ob der Tauber

Re: Flashing FrSky modules with Linux or Mac?

Post by KAL » Wed Aug 13, 2014 9:50 pm

I was in main menu of maintenance mode.
When this happened neither bootloader nor maintenance mode could be accessed!

At the moment I can't reproduce it.
I will report as soon as it happens again.

Klaus
( TH9X / 9XTreme / FrSky DHT / Spektrum / Multi / RotEnc )
( 9XR PRO / erSKY9x  / FrSky DHT / Spektrum / Multi / RotEnc / P3 as Slider )

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15802
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Flashing FrSky modules with Linux or Mac?

Post by MikeB » Thu Aug 14, 2014 7:52 am

If it happens again, please try using SAM-BA WITHOUT pressing the the reset (ERASE) button.
I have done a change that uses the ERASE signal as a logic signal to control a HC-05 Bluetooth module. I believed this is safe to do so, but maybe there is a problem with it.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
dl8aax
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 7:34 pm
Country: Germany
Contact:

Re: Flashing FrSky modules with Linux or Mac?

Post by dl8aax » Fri Jul 20, 2018 8:00 pm

Hello,
Sorry for my bad english, google is my translator :)

I bought the STK stick and realized that the software from FRSKY does not work with wine. :(
When searching the WWW I found this forum with the link to the software for Linux.
Unfortunately, I get an error message. Can you help me ?

[email protected]:~/Downloads/frsky_updatev2$ l
frsky_update_dft* libs/
[email protected]:~/Downloads/frsky_updatev2$ ./frsky_update_dft
./libs/frsky_update_dft: relocation error: ./libs/libc.so.6: symbol _dl_starting_up, version GLIBC_PRIVATE not defined in file ld-linux.so.2 with link time reference
[email protected]:~/Downloads/frsky_updatev2$

My system is Ubuntu 16.04.5 LTS Mate 32Bit


best wishes
Dirk
Mein anderes Hobby
https://www.modellbau-yodi.de/aax/

Post Reply

Return to “The FRSKY Forum”