ER9x and multiprotocol problems

er9x is the best known firmware. It has a superb range of features and is well supported by the community. Well worth trying out.
Crashanium
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 7:37 pm
Country: -

ER9x and multiprotocol problems

Post by Crashanium » Sun Dec 11, 2016 9:49 pm

I'm running the latest version of ER9X (ER9X Pr820) - at least I downloaded it yesterday - and have just complied and updated the multiprotocol firmware - after a fight with windows 10 and USBASP - and I have some questions about the options available in the ER9X multiprotocol menu.

Initially the module was not working well for DSM2, but downloading the latest self compiled version seem to have fixed that. The module is working for my CX10 (so the NRF2401 is working) and now is OK in DSM2 mode (CYRF6936 seems to work), but I can't get it to bind with my flysky planes or my DSMX receivers. Looking at the options in the menu, for DSM2 the only sub protocol option I see is DSM2. I thought there was a DSMX option as well, like for the DIY spektrum module, but I can't find it. Similarly with flysky, I can only find a flysky/v9x9/V6x6 option and no AFHDS2A options. My 9X is not telemetry enabled. Has ER9x been updated to cover all the multiprotocol options or is that only ERsky9x? What am i missing?

Thanks


User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16521
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ER9x and multiprotocol problems

Post by MikeB » Sun Dec 11, 2016 11:35 pm

Did you download from www.er9x.com?
The date of the latest is 30.11.2016 and the SVN: should display er9x-r820 (no 'P').

Under Multi/DSM you should see DSM2-11, DSM2-22, DSMX-11 and DSMX-22, with AUTO as well if you have a '128 or '2561 processor.
AFHD2S should appear as the last option, before numbers, as the protocol under Multi.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Crashanium
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 7:37 pm
Country: -

Re: ER9x and multiprotocol problems

Post by Crashanium » Mon Dec 12, 2016 9:04 pm

Hi Mike,
Thanks for the quick reply and info. I didn't realise ER9X had moved.
I've downloaded it and am back where I was last night. DSM2 works and the CX10 works, but still having trouble with getting the Flysky option to bind. There are so many options that it takes a while to get through them all. I'll check out DSMX next.

Is the original Flysky/Turnigy protocol the option Flysky/Flysky and do you know if there are any adjustments I might need to get it to bind? I'm assuming AFHD2S is the latest protocol incorporating the telemetry options.

Ian

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16521
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ER9x and multiprotocol problems

Post by MikeB » Mon Dec 12, 2016 10:46 pm

Yes the original Flysky protocol is Flysky/Flysky. I think this should just work.
AFHD2S is the latest. At present, er9x (for the AVR processor), doesn't support telemetry on this. Ersky9x (for the ARM processors) does support telemetry on AFHD2S, although IO can't test it and I'm waiting for a report as to whether it is working from someone else.
Once I know it is working, I hope to be able to add it to er9x, although it may only fit if you have a '128 or '2561 processor.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Crashanium
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 7:37 pm
Country: -

ER9x and multiprotocol problems - solved

Post by Crashanium » Wed Dec 14, 2016 3:40 pm

It took a while and a few experiments, but I've cracked it now. I went back to a standalone flysky receiver with a few servos attached That showed that the flysky protocol was OK. It took some fiddling with other transmitters I have, but I tracked down the problem to my indoor model requiring the autobind setting. It simply wouldn't bind with the "normal" bind procedure. Something to bear in mind in the future if I have problems. I'm still not sure what the difference is between autobind and normal binding though. Thanks again Mike.


BaEng
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2017 4:41 pm
Country: -

Re: ER9x and multiprotocol problems

Post by BaEng » Sun Oct 07, 2018 12:25 pm

How actuallly to bind with these flysky receiver?
I need the multiprotocol module also?

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16521
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ER9x and multiprotocol problems

Post by MikeB » Sun Oct 07, 2018 3:30 pm

If it is the "old" type flysky receiver, then you may use the original flysky module with PPM (if you have one with the 9X).
For the AFHDS2A type receivers, then you do need a multiprotocol module.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

HTeixeira
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2018 9:51 am
Country: -

Re: ER9x and multiprotocol problems

Post by HTeixeira » Sun Oct 14, 2018 9:58 am

Hello,

I have the new turnigy 9x V2. In the original firmware, I can choose in PPM between IBUS and SBUS with original module.The receiver is Turnigy X6B.

How do I manage to choose SBUS and make them bind?

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16521
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ER9x and multiprotocol problems

Post by MikeB » Sun Oct 14, 2018 3:53 pm

If you are using a multiprotocol module and the original radio firmware, then you need to use PPM from the radio and select the required protocol using the rotary switch.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

HTeixeira
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2018 9:51 am
Country: -

Re: ER9x and multiprotocol problems

Post by HTeixeira » Sun Oct 14, 2018 4:44 pm

Hello,

I do not xplain correctly. If my module is the original that came with turnigy V2, and I want to use AFHDS2A with SBUS protocol, how do I choose in ER9X if there is only Flysky protocol option?

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16521
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ER9x and multiprotocol problems

Post by MikeB » Sun Oct 14, 2018 5:13 pm

You need to select the AFHD2SA protocol, number 28.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10043
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: ER9x and multiprotocol problems

Post by Kilrah » Sun Oct 14, 2018 5:43 pm

I think he posted in an inappropriate thread and doesn't have a multiprotocol module, but the FlySky AFHDS2A module that comes with new 9X batches.
Seems they might have modified the original 9X firmware for it and there's something that noone knows about yet that allows to select mode.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18849
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ER9x and multiprotocol problems

Post by jhsa » Sun Oct 14, 2018 8:34 pm

Yep, he is not running Er9x on his radio..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 2075
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: ER9x and multiprotocol problems

Post by bob195558 » Sun Oct 14, 2018 10:26 pm

Hi HTeixeira,
ER9x is a different 9x radio firmware, if we understand you correctly,
you have an unmodified 9x radio (original 9x radio).

This string is about 9x radios that have there firmware upgraded to ER9x (http://www.er9x.com/)
and then you would have purchased a Multiprotocol Module that you would plug into the back of your 9x radio.
(https://www.banggood.com/search/multipr ... html?sbc=1)

Is this correct ?
Er9x on 9x radio, with Smartieparts Programmer and TelemetrEZ Board.
ErSky9x on Taranis, Sky9x, 9Xtreme radios.

3D Printing upgrades with (CR10 3D Printer): (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=85).

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10043
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: ER9x and multiprotocol problems

Post by Kilrah » Mon Oct 15, 2018 5:48 am

My understanding:

- He has a new 9X
- That new 9X has an extra option in its original firmware for the new module
- He flashed an open firmware and asks where that option is, but there is no such option becasue nobody here even knew the new module had a new option nor how it works.

HTeixeira
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2018 9:51 am
Country: -

Re: ER9x and multiprotocol problems

Post by HTeixeira » Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:07 am

Sorry for this mess.

I do not post anything here if I not have installed the ER9X.

So, lets see:

I have the new Tunrnigy 9X (AFHDS2A). This radio by stock firmware and stock module have the two options between SBUS or IBUS.
I flashed it with the ER9X firmware.

My question:
When I try to choose the protocol, we have the option Flysky. And then, we have the option multiprotocol and here we have SBUS. But I cant bind by this way cause I thing it not work it the standard module.

What I am missing here?

Thanks all!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18849
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ER9x and multiprotocol problems

Post by jhsa » Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:30 am

well, on my Er9x radio, in he Protocol Menu, at the end I have a protocol called "SBUS". Did you try it? Perhaps that's the one?

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16521
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ER9x and multiprotocol problems

Post by MikeB » Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:45 am

OK, so trying to use er9x and the stock (AFHDS2A) module.
As I understand it, this module uses either PPM or a protocol based on Futaba PCM. Currently er9x doesn't support this PCM protocol, an I don't think there would be enough flash space in the M64 processor to add it (even if I had the information as to what it is).
I don't believe openTx supports this PCM protocol either.

I will, when I have time, see if I can find out some more information on this PCM protocol.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18849
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ER9x and multiprotocol problems

Post by jhsa » Mon Oct 15, 2018 9:01 am

Mike, what is the SBUS protocol at the end of the protocol menu? It has also a RX number selection.

Thanks

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

HTeixeira
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2018 9:51 am
Country: -

Re: ER9x and multiprotocol problems

Post by HTeixeira » Mon Oct 15, 2018 9:06 am

By night I will try to post some photos.

Thanks!

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10043
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: ER9x and multiprotocol problems

Post by Kilrah » Mon Oct 15, 2018 9:13 am

jhsa wrote:
Mon Oct 15, 2018 9:01 am
Mike, what is the SBUS protocol at the end of the protocol menu? It has also a RX number selection.
That just puts out an SBUS signal on the module slot. What he's after is something to configure the output of the receiver (on AFHDS2A systems you select that on the radio).

Need to check with a logic analyzer what the stock firmware sends to the module, maybe it doesn't even use PCM but misuses a PPM channel, who knows...

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18849
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: RE: Re: ER9x and multiprotocol problems

Post by jhsa » Mon Oct 15, 2018 9:17 am


Kilrah wrote:
That just puts out an SBUS signal on the module slot.
Ok, I would have thought that if there wasn't an option to change the receiver number.. :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10043
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: ER9x and multiprotocol problems

Post by Kilrah » Mon Oct 15, 2018 9:22 am

The receiver number selection showing up is probably a bug...

HTeixeira
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2018 9:51 am
Country: -

Re: ER9x and multiprotocol problems

Post by HTeixeira » Mon Oct 15, 2018 11:00 am

Check this picture. Is not a 9x but is the same menu in the original firmware.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1XBOf7k ... sp=sharing

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16521
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ER9x and multiprotocol problems

Post by MikeB » Mon Oct 15, 2018 11:49 am

Kilrah wrote:
Mon Oct 15, 2018 9:13 am
Need to check with a logic analyzer what the stock firmware sends to the module, maybe it doesn't even use PCM but misuses a PPM channel, who knows...
I did a while ago (I got a copy of the stock firmware from someone), and found a PCM signal. From a suggestion of yours Kilrah, I did see it looks like a Futaba PCM signal, but I've not investigated it further.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

HTeixeira
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2018 9:51 am
Country: -

Re: ER9x and multiprotocol problems

Post by HTeixeira » Mon Oct 15, 2018 9:20 pm

So, this is my module:

Image

I manage to bind it by the button on the back.

Unfortunatly it does not work. Just to remenber, I'm just tring to use SBUS with this module:

Image

Try this protocol:

Image

And this one too

Image

Nothing works...

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16521
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: ER9x and multiprotocol problems

Post by MikeB » Mon Oct 15, 2018 10:09 pm

That is NOT a multiprotocol module, so choosing MULTI doesn't work. As far as I know, that module only responds to either PPM or a PCM protocol that is not supported.

If you have managed to bind with the button, you could try setting the protocol to PPM and see if the Rx responds.

Mike
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

HTeixeira
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2018 9:51 am
Country: -

Re: ER9x and multiprotocol problems

Post by HTeixeira » Tue Oct 16, 2018 8:13 am

I try it too but it not respond.

I need to go back to the original firmware. Unfortunatly my backup is corrupted.

Someone has this firmware?

HTeixeira
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2018 9:51 am
Country: -

Re: ER9x and multiprotocol problems

Post by HTeixeira » Tue Oct 16, 2018 10:52 am

IS this the multiprotocol module? Image

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10043
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: ER9x and multiprotocol problems

Post by Kilrah » Tue Oct 16, 2018 11:08 am

No, search for 4-in-1 multiprotocol.

That's a single chip, low power module that works completely differently.


Post Reply

Return to “er9x”