Audio (voice) - Stock 9X PCB

er9x is the best known firmware. It has a superb range of features and is well supported by the community. Well worth trying out.
Romolo
9x Developer
Posts: 1109
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 12:11 am
Country: -
Location: Massa (MS), Tuscany, Italy

Re: Audio (voice)

Post by Romolo » Tue May 29, 2012 9:42 pm

What about moving telemetry stuff inside ATMEGA 88 ?
Receiving filtering and all the rest can be done there, then we just ask it for the data we need, or we get from it already processed data.
I think doing this way we can free a lot of flash inside er9x/open9x.


C.João
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 7:49 pm
Country: -

Re: Audio (voice)

Post by C.João » Tue May 29, 2012 9:58 pm

when should I turn on my soldering iron? I'm waiting on a "end solution" to start buying the parts... (I got the vero-board tough... )

C.João
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 7:49 pm
Country: -

Re: Audio (voice)

Post by C.João » Tue May 29, 2012 10:07 pm

oh and for deafness problem: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Rechargeable- ... 543wt_1039

2W of sound should be enough. (or simply headphones no ? )

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16544
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Audio (voice)

Post by MikeB » Tue May 29, 2012 10:07 pm

Kilrah wrote:These use a '328, operate on 5V, and have USB (OK, via an FT232, but still convenient)... they sound good for everything, including flashing of the main CPU, don't they?
Remember, the sound module runs from 3.3V only, signals to/from a 5V processor need level shifting, unless you can run the Arduino from 3.3V (crystal not too fast!).

I'm not quite sure these sound modules give enough volume, but will be OK via headphones.

Romolo: We need two serial ports, in some form, to do that. I've got a stripboard layout done for an AtTiny2313 to do the sound. I'll look into a larger board for a MEGA88/168/328, but obviously to handle the telemetry will need a lot of software in both the addon board and the M64. I think we do need to get this audio going, so I'll see how big an '88/168/328 board gets, and we#ll take it from there.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18880
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Audio (voice)

Post by jhsa » Tue May 29, 2012 10:17 pm

My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW


User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18880
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Audio (voice)

Post by jhsa » Tue May 29, 2012 10:19 pm

DC input 3.3V up to 12V

Low-voltage board needs no interfacing circuitry to popular 3.3V devices and modules (GPS, accelerometers, sensors, etc)
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

C.João
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 7:49 pm
Country: -

Re: Audio (voice)

Post by C.João » Tue May 29, 2012 10:34 pm

a mega328 board will not be very large... in fact the difference is marginally neglectible inside the radio, since we have a pretty good space to use...

I'ts just a pity that we cannot have the GPS logger on this (just yet)

Romolo
9x Developer
Posts: 1109
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 12:11 am
Country: -
Location: Massa (MS), Tuscany, Italy

Re: Audio (voice)

Post by Romolo » Tue May 29, 2012 10:55 pm

Mike using something like this one it will not get very large. and the board itself is rather cheap (15€)
http://arduino.cc/en/Main/ArduinoBoardMini

BTW it seem it can be run at 3.3V doing some hw mods (but we are used to it)

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18880
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Audio (voice)

Post by jhsa » Tue May 29, 2012 11:06 pm

Did you see the one I've posted above? it's the same price and already works at 3,3V and it has a regulator (max 12V) in it.. In theory could be connected to battery voltage without putting more load on the tx regulators.. and it is small..
Also, no mods needed as far as I can see ;)
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16544
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Audio (voice)

Post by MikeB » Tue May 29, 2012 11:28 pm

Probably still need to mount one of these Arduinos on a piece of stripboard in order to add the extra level shifting resistors.

I'll look into them more closely tomorrow, I have a stripboard layout for a dual in line MEGA88/168/328, it's 2.1" by 1.9" (53mm by 48mm).

Using an Arduino may make it easier for others to program it.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Romolo
9x Developer
Posts: 1109
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 12:11 am
Country: -
Location: Massa (MS), Tuscany, Italy

Re: Audio (voice)

Post by Romolo » Tue May 29, 2012 11:29 pm

The difference is the clock, but maybe at 3.3V is much more reliable to run at 8Mhz.
we need to understand if 8Mhx are sufficient to move telemetry in Arduino, but probably yes.
@MIKE: I also think using an Arduino is much more cheaper then designing/prototyping a board

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18880
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Audio (voice)

Post by jhsa » Tue May 29, 2012 11:34 pm

dimensions of the pro mini

Dimensions:

0.7x1.3" (18x33mm)

small enough?? :D ;)
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16544
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Audio (voice)

Post by MikeB » Wed May 30, 2012 12:21 pm

Still researching, but I also found http://www.mikroe.com/eng/products/view ... -at-board/. It appears to be cheaper than the Arduinos, but has the same functionality.

I think we need a board with a built in bootloader, it needs to be easy to program.

I'm going to concentrate on getting this voice working. While being able to, say, move telemetry code out of the M64 into a co-processor sounds useful, it is going to need a lot more thought on the hardware design and software. Just doing the voice is much easier. I'll try not to rule out other enhancements, but I'm going to keep this as simple as I can for now.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Romolo
9x Developer
Posts: 1109
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 12:11 am
Country: -
Location: Massa (MS), Tuscany, Italy

Re: Audio (voice)

Post by Romolo » Wed May 30, 2012 12:31 pm

Not so cheaper considering shipping cost at least from their shop, but yes is good.
I agree on bootloader
My idea of moving telemetry there was just to avoid pin sharing.
as well the idea of using 5V version (it will allow easily to make it work as ISP) moving level conversion on sound module part.

User avatar
mhotar
Posts: 198
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 9:57 pm
Country: -
Location: Jemnice, Vysocina

Re: Audio (voice)

Post by mhotar » Wed May 30, 2012 1:15 pm

Hi all,
I have looked throught schematics of t9x to see how to connect this sound module.
I like your idea to use serial pins. We can also use a mux to hook it to trims.
Not so effective, but can work without extra processor and can be attached directly to Header9.
One negative is that C130,C131,C134,C135 have to be removed from the board :(
t9xaudio.png
t9xaudio.png (9.03 KiB) Viewed 4364 times

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16544
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Audio (voice)

Post by MikeB » Wed May 30, 2012 4:15 pm

I've actually tried using a mux on pins before, it doesn't work very well. Part of the problem is the trim switches connect their capacitors to ground, and rely on the pullup resistors in the MEGA64 to pull them high. If the mux is switched to the other function, then there is no pullup resistor connected. This causes the 'ON' time of the trim switches to be extended, then you get more trim movement than you require.

I've been doing some more testing of the sound module. It appears that when the BUSY signal goes inactive at the end of a sound, you have to wait about 16 mS before it will accept a new command, otherwise it ignores the command. This may be similar to the 12mS initial low required on the clock Reinhard (Rest) reported.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18880
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Audio (voice)

Post by jhsa » Wed May 30, 2012 4:19 pm

so, and that translates on how many seconds till a new sound is heard?? ;) :D

time to have a beer in between?? :mrgreen:

I will order a module today.. the same as yours Mike
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

ReSt
Posts: 1512
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 pm
Country: -

Re: Audio (voice)

Post by ReSt » Wed May 30, 2012 5:18 pm

If you need some sound samples (numbers to tell you the altitude ;) ) here they are.
Needs to concatenate two or three sound files for the higher numbers.

Reinhard
Attachments
AD4 Numbers.zip
(358.81 KiB) Downloaded 129 times

User avatar
mhotar
Posts: 198
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 9:57 pm
Country: -
Location: Jemnice, Vysocina

Re: Audio (voice)

Post by mhotar » Wed May 30, 2012 5:18 pm

Thanks for reply Mike,
I see the problem,thanks. I think another controller on tx/rx is better anyway.
I dont know how Atmel TX/RX modules work, but there could be 9bit configuration where one bit signals address/data.
If you can communicate faster between controllers than telemetry requires, you can use addressing for both TX/RX to route data between sound module, some ports and another serial port. With proper oscillator frequency could be possible to emulate second serial port by software/interrupts.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16544
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Audio (voice)

Post by MikeB » Wed May 30, 2012 5:31 pm

Rest: Thanks for the .AD4 numbers, will save me recording them.

Mhotar: Good idea. However, data for the telemetry begins and ends with 0x7E, so as long as we don't send 0x7E to the addon processor any extra data will be ignored, and the addon can detect and ignore the telemetry data. Yes we can probably emulate a second serial port, particularly if we use the input capture on all edges.

I'm looking into all possible options to interface the sound module, my 'latest' idea is to use some of the LCD data lines, and latch them externally using PB7 to control them.
PB7 is, of course, normally used to control the backlight, but one of the latched LCD lines could do this instead to free off PB7. Two more of the latched outputs could then be used to drive the sound module, just need to be able to read the BUSY signal back now.
This method avoids the need to program an external processor, which should be easier for many to do. Still thinking on all this.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
mhotar
Posts: 198
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 9:57 pm
Country: -
Location: Jemnice, Vysocina

Re: Audio (voice)

Post by mhotar » Wed May 30, 2012 6:05 pm

Good idea with LCD lines, there are almost all signals you need for inputs and also for outputs: data, RD,WR. You need only CS to PB7 as you mentioned.
How difficult will be to connect this addon board to U103-connector and then to LCD?

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16544
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Audio (voice)

Post by MikeB » Wed May 30, 2012 7:12 pm

The idea is to power the latches from 3.3V, and use the 3.3V version of the LCD data signals to connect to it. There are via holes on the LCD lines to make soldering wires in easier.
PB7 has a nice pad to connect to, and there are pads for power and ground, all we need.

I'm not sure which connector is U103, I don't and circuit or board with U103 on!

Nearly there with the design. Just don't have the 4 bit latch, I'll test with a 2-bit latch, easy enough as I don't have a backlight to get in the way.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
man-bis
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 9:10 pm
Country: -
Location: Russia

Re: Audio (voice)

Post by man-bis » Wed May 30, 2012 7:26 pm

Hi guys! I am very pleased that this project started. Voice modification Turnigy (FlySky) transmitter that's my old dream. I think that the firmware ER9x-Frsky provides enough features for the most complex configuration of the model. So, probably, will be sufficient to use a simpler solution without the additional CPU. Of course, if such a solution is possible. Mike should not doubt the importance and popularity of voice modification. My friends on the Russian RC Forum support this idea. Unfortunately I do not have knowledge in the design of electronic devices and write the firmware, but I'm happy to want to become a beta tester of the new voice modification. Any additional hardware (sound module, processor, and an additional board) I will be able to purchase and install in your transmitter. Sorry for my English. Thank you.

User avatar
mhotar
Posts: 198
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 9:57 pm
Country: -
Location: Jemnice, Vysocina

Re: Audio (voice)

Post by mhotar » Wed May 30, 2012 9:50 pm

Mike,
U103 is LCD connector on the schematics i have found today somewhere. This is good there are vias where we can solder wires easily.
I am looking forward to see your design.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16544
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Audio (voice)

Post by MikeB » Wed May 30, 2012 11:02 pm

OK, here's my (first?) attempt at a logic only interface. In the end, I went for an 8 bit latch, the pinout is actually easier, and we may get some extra outputs, not sure what for though.
Audio1.png
The latch, stores the data input on a rising edge of the clock, so when idle, we hold PB7 high. To store new data, we set the required values on the LCD data lines, and toggle PB7 low, then high to clock the data into the latch. To sample the BUSY line, we again set the LCD data lines to the required output values (we always keep a copy in memory for this purpose), and change PB7 to be an input with a pullup. If BUSY is low, TR1 will be off, and the internal pullup should keep PB7 high. If BUSY is high, TR1 will be ON, and will pull PB7 down via the 2K2 resistor. Having sampled the BUSY signal, we change PB7 back to an output, set high. This may cause a clock edge to the latches, but we will only re-latch the same data that we want.

We power the circuit, and sound module, from 3.3V, so TR2 is present to level shift the clock signal down from 5V. Tr1 does this in reverse for the BUSY signal. The LCD data signals, taken from the vias between their resistors, are already at 3.3V levels.

The backlight control now appears as an output from the latch. We may be able to add a transistor switch on this to make it easier to use. I've used NPN transistors on this circuit so far, but we might be able to use FETs, and save a couple of resistors.

JP2 is at the edge of the board, and matches on of the rows of the pins on the sound module. We only need to connect to pins on this row, so the sound module connects straight in. JP1 is the speaker connection.

I still need to check the 3.3V regulator is good enough for the job, its 150mA output. I might need to tweak the odd resistor value, I haven't double check them for correct working yet.

This all fits on a piece of stripboard 1.6" by 1.4" (41mm by 36mm).

I also reckon I know how to get the software to drive this, without either the audio or the LCD getting confused by the other one, in spite of the shared data lines.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18880
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Audio (voice)

Post by jhsa » Wed May 30, 2012 11:27 pm

Mike I wouldn't power this from the tx 3,3V regulator.. I think I've read here that the sound module has a small amplifier in it (0,5W??) even if it is not very powerful I wouldn't risk brownouts.. I think we should add a regulator on the little strip board.. maybe gets a little bigger but it will fit in the tx..
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 16544
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Audio (voice)

Post by MikeB » Wed May 30, 2012 11:36 pm

Agreed, that's what IC1 is in the top left of the diagram!
I still need to check even this one is up to the job, particularly when powered from 12V. Although if it did shut down due to over heating, we should only lose the audio for a while.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18880
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Audio (voice)

Post by jhsa » Wed May 30, 2012 11:57 pm

we could use a regulator for 1A.. or maybe, use 2 regs the same as the 9x.. the first to 5V and the second from 5 to 3,3V.. do you think it would be too much? we could power other stuff later with the 5V.. .. sorry if I'm not making sense here..
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18880
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Audio (voice)

Post by jhsa » Thu May 31, 2012 12:09 am

Ok, I've been speaking with a friend of mine and he reminded me of the regulator that is on the switch board.. could a 3,3V regulator be connected to that one? I think that is the regulator that is used on the haptic mod? would it be strong enough? better to replace it with an 1A version? they're not so expensive..
Maybe people that use 2 cell lipo and 2 cell trustfires could just connect the 3,3V regulator to the battery without the risk of overheating??
In my case I'm thinking of using a pack wit 6 eneloops.. that's what I have.. ;)

EDIT: Just ordered the audio module :D
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 18880
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Audio (voice)

Post by jhsa » Thu May 31, 2012 3:32 pm

Well, ordered the 74HC574.. it was not so expensive.. 3,95€ for 5 pieces.. module is on it's way.. ordered the WTV020-SD-20S version with Two-line serial control mode from emartee2009 on ebay..

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... TQ:US:1123

If you order from here, make sure you let them know that you want that you want the " WTV020-SD-20S version with Two-line serial control mode" or they will send the default one that might not be good for what we want..

Now just have to do the other mods on the tx and I'll be ready for testing ;)
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW


Post Reply

Return to “er9x”