How to set up 16ch Tx with er9x!

er9x is the best known firmware. It has a superb range of features and is well supported by the community. Well worth trying out.
User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

How to set up 16ch Tx with er9x!

Post by kaos » Wed Mar 28, 2012 6:45 pm

This is a topic hopefully for everybody to pitch in to figure out how to set up the er9x/T9x to gain true 16ch control with 2 RF module and 2 8ch Rx which is readily available, in a convenient way.
Kilrah wrote:
likwidchz wrote:By the way since this Turnigy 9x transmitter is able to send 16 channels, do they make a receiver that's compatible with it that does that many channels?
Currently not. Should be possible in the future with FrSky RF gear.

At this point you could use 16 channels by using 2 RF modules, one in the normal slot, and one connected to the trainer port, each one would send 8 channels.

I don't think a dumbed down version would be of much use - it's currently really easy to just assign a switch to an output.
kaos wrote:wow, how do your program those 8ch connected to the trainer port? May be I should take a look at the trainer function now. Never use it. Always fly by myself === always the master. :mrgreen:
kaos wrote:so you add another RF module to the trainer port?
or you use a 2nd Tx to do that, if so, you still program all 16 ch in the master Tx?

This is getting interesting. once I get my Tx modded for modular RF unit. I would love to have 16 ch. (plenty of flysky 8ch rx, especially after Ghosthb donated 3 more. thx again Ghosthb). I can now realy program some fancy night light for my night rig, either heli/plane. I only have 2 extra cha for my night heli to control lights now. :)
gohsthb wrote:Yes you program all 16 in the master. I would figure out how to attach another module to the trainer port.
-Gohst
kaos wrote:or wire it inside the Tx and use a switch to turn it on /off. HAHA, This is super, imagine a 60.00 Tx has 16 ch. This will beat the c**p out of the name brand Tx.
I think this alone deserves a stand alone thread.
Are you regretting donate your Flysky module now? ;)
I will set up the topic in a little while. got to go.
gohsthb wrote:No I don't regret it at all. I still have one and one more should show up with a new 9x in a couple of days. I even have the older V1, A, Rev2 whatever it is we are calling it these days. And thinking about this, you can even use 2 different brands of modules!
-Gohst


User avatar
agusta600gt
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 5:45 pm
Country: -
Location: Hebertville,Quebec,Canada

Re: How to set up 16ch Tx with er9x!

Post by agusta600gt » Fri Mar 30, 2012 10:32 am

Well...it does not tell us how to programm the TX for 16 channel use....

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17341
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: How to set up 16ch Tx with er9x!

Post by MikeB » Fri Mar 30, 2012 10:45 am

Simple setup. Take 1 9x, with er9x, and set up a new model with 8 channels. Configure the 8 channels to be the trainer inputs, always on:
CH01 +100% PPM1
CH02 +100% PPM2
etc.
Take a second 9x, with er9x, set up a model with protocol PPM16, configure all 16 channels how you need them.
Turn BOTH 9x's ON, and connect using a trainer cable, both are transmitting, the one with PPM16 is your control Tx, the other is just transmitting the extra 8 channels.
You need 2 receivers, one bound to each Tx. The 16 channels come out, 8 on each receiver.
Done.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
agusta600gt
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 5:45 pm
Country: -
Location: Hebertville,Quebec,Canada

Re: How to set up 16ch Tx with er9x!

Post by agusta600gt » Fri Mar 30, 2012 10:52 am

Thanks Mike...

On my TX i have frsky DHT-U + 9X TX module...will it work as well?

User avatar
agusta600gt
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 5:45 pm
Country: -
Location: Hebertville,Quebec,Canada

Re: How to set up 16ch Tx with er9x!

Post by agusta600gt » Fri Mar 30, 2012 11:04 am

ohhh...after reading again,i missed the second tx with the cable.

i taught i could use 1 tx with er9x to control the 16 channels with 2 receivers.......


User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17341
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: How to set up 16ch Tx with er9x!

Post by MikeB » Fri Mar 30, 2012 11:57 am

You can, IF you use a second Tx module and pass the trainer output to it as the PPM input, and supply it with power from somewhere.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: How to set up 16ch Tx with er9x!

Post by kaos » Fri Mar 30, 2012 12:29 pm

that is what this topic is calling for. how to get the PPM input and power for the 2nd RF module. :) In a easy, simple way.

User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4542
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

Re: How to set up 16ch Tx with er9x!

Post by Rob Thomson » Fri Mar 30, 2012 2:09 pm

You could always hardwire in a 'hack module' into the trainer out ports to get the ppm feed?

Install it all internally.. job done.

Rob
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!

User avatar
gohsthb
Posts: 1412
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 2:32 pm
Country: -
Location: Naperville, IL

Re: How to set up 16ch Tx with er9x!

Post by gohsthb » Fri Mar 30, 2012 3:31 pm

Or you connect that hack module to a battery. A 2S lipo would work perfectly. Then wire a mono cable that plugs into the back of your 9x, to get the PPM. Some velcro to hold the extra module, and you are done. You don't even have to open the Tx again.
-Gohst

User avatar
agusta600gt
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 5:45 pm
Country: -
Location: Hebertville,Quebec,Canada

Re: How to set up 16ch Tx with er9x!

Post by agusta600gt » Fri Mar 30, 2012 3:42 pm

Can i use the original tx module power output to run 2 the 2 tx modules (original+frsky)

i mean same ground
same v+
but the 2 different tx signal...the original one and the one from trainer

thanks

User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4542
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

Re: How to set up 16ch Tx with er9x!

Post by Rob Thomson » Fri Mar 30, 2012 3:50 pm

Yes. You should be ok with connecting power and ground to the same source - just the ppm from the trainer.
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!

User avatar
agusta600gt
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 5:45 pm
Country: -
Location: Hebertville,Quebec,Canada

Re: How to set up 16ch Tx with er9x!

Post by agusta600gt » Fri Mar 30, 2012 3:54 pm

thanks...will try that :)

User avatar
agusta600gt
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 5:45 pm
Country: -
Location: Hebertville,Quebec,Canada

Re: How to set up 16ch Tx with er9x!

Post by agusta600gt » Fri Mar 30, 2012 4:10 pm

Just before i mess up my TX (blehhhh)...

How do i assign the other 8 channels to the trainer port ?

thanks again :)

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17341
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: How to set up 16ch Tx with er9x!

Post by MikeB » Fri Mar 30, 2012 4:25 pm

Select protocol PPM16 instead of PPM.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
agusta600gt
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 5:45 pm
Country: -
Location: Hebertville,Quebec,Canada

Re: How to set up 16ch Tx with er9x!

Post by agusta600gt » Fri Mar 30, 2012 4:27 pm

ok so the other 8 channels are gonna be on trainer automatically...is that right?

do i have to put trainer mode on ?

ohhh and...please tell me where to solder the tx signal exacly...on one wire on the trainer switch or on the pcb trainer jack...if so to wich pin do i solder it

pardon me for my numerous questions but i just wanne be shure...so i can translate the whole proceidure in french on my forum :mrgreen:

thanks

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17341
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: How to set up 16ch Tx with er9x!

Post by MikeB » Fri Mar 30, 2012 4:38 pm

When you select PPM16, the Tx generates 2, separate PPM signals, the 'normal' one that goes to the Tx module, and a second one that goes to the trainer port. Because you have selected PPM16, it overrides any trainer setting to send this second PPM signal to the trainer port, you do not need to set trainer mode on.
If you select PPM, you may choose whether to send 4, 6 or 8 channels out, this applies to PPM16, the first 4 or 6 or 8 channels will go to the Tx module, and the NEXT 8 channels will go to the trainer port. So if you select PPM16, 6 channels, channels 1 to 6 got to the Tx module, and 7 to 14 go to the trainer port.
With PPM16 the trainer port is just being used to provide a connection to the second PPM signal, it is not being used for the trainer function.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
agusta600gt
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 5:45 pm
Country: -
Location: Hebertville,Quebec,Canada

Re: How to set up 16ch Tx with er9x!

Post by agusta600gt » Fri Mar 30, 2012 4:41 pm

Thanks again...please read my last post,ive edited it while u were writing yours

User avatar
agusta600gt
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 5:45 pm
Country: -
Location: Hebertville,Quebec,Canada

Re: How to set up 16ch Tx with er9x!

Post by agusta600gt » Fri Mar 30, 2012 6:26 pm

heres what ive tried...

if i set my tx on ppm16,16 channels,the first 8 channels are on DHT-u module...it works but the channels are not the same on tx AND rx...throttle on tx is on 5 but on rx (d8r II) its on ch6

ishhh

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17341
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: How to set up 16ch Tx with er9x!

Post by MikeB » Fri Mar 30, 2012 6:38 pm

I'm not quite sure where to pick the extra 8 channels from, I'll need to take a TX apart and probe with a 'scope.
Odd if the channels are mapping in the wrong order, just tested my er9x with PPM16 and FrSky DJT and D8R II, channel 5 on the Tx (on P1 pot) drives channel 5 on the rx.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
agusta600gt
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 5:45 pm
Country: -
Location: Hebertville,Quebec,Canada

Re: How to set up 16ch Tx with er9x!

Post by agusta600gt » Fri Mar 30, 2012 6:46 pm

maybe a re-bind ??

tried it but no success :|

newmi
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 9:53 am
Country: -

Re: How to set up 16ch Tx with er9x!

Post by newmi » Sat Mar 31, 2012 2:42 pm

agusta600gt wrote:heres what ive tried...

if i set my tx on ppm16,16 channels,the first 8 channels are on DHT-u module...it works but the channels are not the same on tx AND rx...throttle on tx is on 5 but on rx (d8r II) its on ch6

ishhh
Hello,
I tested the 16ch with 2 transmitters and works fine. but i have the same doubt that your. I've DHT module in the transmitter and DJT/stock module outside.
I wonder if anyone has tried 16ch with only one transmitter.

thanks

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10809
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: How to set up 16ch Tx with er9x!

Post by Kilrah » Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:10 pm

newmi wrote:I wonder if anyone has tried 16ch with only one transmitter.
This will only come once FrSky supports it (planned, but no ETA).

wallaguest1
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:56 am
Country: -

Re: How to set up 16ch Tx with er9x!

Post by wallaguest1 » Sat Mar 31, 2012 7:49 pm

you can have up to 15 channels using all the switches, so you just need a modul/receiver that supports so many channels, like a dragonlink with 14 channels, thomas LRS, chainlink, and so on

User avatar
gohsthb
Posts: 1412
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 2:32 pm
Country: -
Location: Naperville, IL

Re: How to set up 16ch Tx with er9x!

Post by gohsthb » Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:30 am

Kilrah wrote:
newmi wrote:I wonder if anyone has tried 16ch with only one transmitter.
This will only come once FrSky supports it (planned, but no ETA).
I'm pretty sure he meant having 2 modules in one radio. I don't see why it would be a problem.
-Gohst

newmi
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 9:53 am
Country: -

Re: How to set up 16ch Tx with er9x!

Post by newmi » Sun Apr 01, 2012 10:25 pm

gohsthb wrote:
Kilrah wrote:
newmi wrote:I wonder if anyone has tried 16ch with only one transmitter.
This will only come once FrSky supports it (planned, but no ETA).
I'm pretty sure he meant having 2 modules in one radio. I don't see why it would be a problem.
-Gohst[/quote, i meant]

Is correct, i meant that. One external module, and frsky dht internal module , for this , i thought to take ppm signal from trainer port. But thats the problem. I dont know to take this signal.
Thanks

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10809
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: How to set up 16ch Tx with er9x!

Post by Kilrah » Mon Apr 02, 2012 5:19 am

OK. I had understood you meant "with only one transmitter module".

newmi
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 9:53 am
Country: -

Re: How to set up 16ch Tx with er9x!

Post by newmi » Mon Apr 02, 2012 9:09 am

One trasmitter, two modules.

wallaguest1
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:56 am
Country: -

Re: How to set up 16ch Tx with er9x!

Post by wallaguest1 » Mon Apr 02, 2012 11:10 pm

if we use a PPM--> PWM board
can we get more than 8 ch from the PPM out of a frsky receiver?

i mean; does the transmitter module output as many channels as you send to it?

my idea is use this board http://www.foxtechfpv.com/rmilec-ppmpwm ... p-403.html
connected to the PPM out of a frsky receiver

then send all 14 channels from a single radio, will it work?

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 10809
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: How to set up 16ch Tx with er9x!

Post by Kilrah » Tue Apr 03, 2012 7:01 am

That was easy to check as I already had my scope out anyway.

Tha answer is no. PPM out on a D4FR or D8RSP will indeed follow the setting on the 9X IF you choose 4,6 or 8 channels, but doesn't accept more.
Pretty much expected, as FrSky receivers enforce a too short 18ms frame rate in their receivers (PPM pretty much already can't hold 8 channels that are all at 100% at the same time).

wallaguest1
Posts: 121
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:56 am
Country: -

Re: How to set up 16ch Tx with er9x!

Post by wallaguest1 » Tue Apr 03, 2012 12:42 pm

thnks


Post Reply

Return to “er9x”